We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable accommodation in lovely location.”
other traveller has booked this property
Stunning countryside views enjoyed from a decked suntrap
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning countryside views enjoyed from a decked suntrap
Front of Poppy Cottage, adjacent to The George Inn perfect for Cask Marque accredited takeaway pints
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Stunning countryside views enjoyed from a decked suntrap
Front of Poppy Cottage, adjacent to The George Inn perfect for Cask Marque accredited takeaway pints
Fully equipped open plan kitchen. Nespresso coffee pod machine for coffee lovers
Open plan dining (seating for 6 & highchair available), living with enviable countryside views
Fully open plan ground floor
Living area with seating for 4
Double bedroom with countryside views, TV, hairdryer & alarm clock radio for that wake up call
Twin or Superking bedroom with street view
Family bathroom with shower over bath & electric heated towel rail
Selection of herbs for those wanting that home cooking taste
Mans best friend is welcome too but please follow the points
Blackawton is home to the International Festival of Wormcharming, a fun day for everyone
Woodlands Leisure Theme Park, just a mile up the road and a great day out
Blackpool Sands - a short drive away
Dartmouths English Heritage castle, one of the pair either side of the River Dart just 8 miles away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Blackawton, Dartmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KeithandC...
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very comfortable accommodation in lovely location.”
Reviewed 18 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

I can confirm all the positive comments made by previous reviewers. Cottage has been tastefully renovated with lots of nice touches. Ground floor is completely open plan and provides plenty of room. We stayed as a couple with small dog and found it met all of our needs. Everything you would need for self catering. The pub next door is a typical village pub and provides meals, but check on evening meal times as rural pubs sometimes stop serving food early if business is quiet. We only used the back bedroom so unable to comment on potential noise from pub for front bedroom. But would think that this would be minimal as some nights the pub was closed early. Wonderful views from the rear of the cottage which is in an elevated position.
The village shop was on the move during our weeks stay and now provides everything you need for regular shopping, this is now just the other side of the pub so is local to cottage and very convenient. We found the volunteer shop workers very friendly and welcoming as indeed were all of the villagers we met.

If you are sightseeing around Devon then you need a car to travel from Blackawton as virtually no public transport. Near to Dartmouth, Salcombe, Totness and Slapton Sands, as well as lots of lovely beaches a little further at Hope Cove and Bigbury on Sea (Burgh Island). All in all highly recommended as a comfortable base to see this part of South Devon.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2018
Thank you so much for taking time to write such a detailed review that I’m sure future guests will find useful. I’m so pleased that you enjoyed Poppy Cottage and the surrounding area. Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timbonick
Beckenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage and location”
Reviewed 30 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Cottage is very nice. Open plan downstairs with well stocked modern kitchen. Bedrooms slightly small, but we're fine for us. There have been reviews concerning noise from the pub next door but we had no problems, and we were staying in peak holiday time. Look at it as a big plus point. No need to designate a car driver!
Blackawton is quiet down narrow country lands but is near to many places to visit.
We would have no problem recommending the cottage to others.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review Poppy Cottage and to instill confidence to future guests. I’m glad you had a lovely week exploring the local area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonathanp...
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accomodation”
Reviewed 9 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Accomodation was situated in a quiet, rural location - clean with a lot of thoughtful touches (scones, cream & jam left)
We all loved it (including our dog) - we will definitely stay again

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Poppy Cottage Jonathan, glad you all enjoyed the cottage and the surrounding area.
We will look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs_H_Mor...
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 7 June 2018 for a stay in April 2018

02.04.18 - 26.05.18 - Thank you Fern for supplying such a well equipped and spotless cottage. When we arrived the trees were still bare of leaf, what a difference now! The cottage has a stunning view, in a lovely setting. The lanes are full of Pink Campion, Cow Parsley Violets and Speedwell and still a few Bluebells, just gorgeous! Though we haven't done the usual touristy things, as we were in the process of purchasing a property, the village is a great base for exploring this area of Devon and I certainly recommend "Poppy Cottage" as a great place to stay. Thank you for answering all our queries and for being so accessible to talk to during our stay. My only regret is that being so near, living in Dartmouth now, we are unlikely to repeat our stay with you, but what a fantastic venue for our friends and family when visiting. Thanks again for everything, best wishes and kindest regards H & D (Stratford upon Avon)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2018
Thank you for taking the time to write a review to help prospective guests. I’m so pleased you enjoyed Poppy Cottage. Thank you for looking after the cottage so beautifully!
I really am pleased for you that the house purchase eventually went well! I wish you all the best and hope to see you around the town! Enjoy Dartmouth life, thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W
1 review
“Magnificent cottage with everything”
Reviewed 30 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

The cottage was very homely and cosy. Lots of things were there to help make Christmas special. We will return in the summer no doubt. Couldn't fault anything.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your Christmas stay at Poppy Cottage John. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the summer hopefully with some sunshine!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing