We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr & Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
Chaffinch Lodge is one of eight fully-accessible lodges set in over 10 acres of Devon countryside.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chaffinch Lodge is one of eight fully-accessible lodges set in over 10 acres of Devon countryside.
1.5 acre coarse fishing lake, with carp (common, mirror and ghost), rudd, roach, perch and bream. All lodges have South-facing private balconies with views across the fishing lake to the countryside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Chaffinch Lodge is one of eight fully-accessible lodges set in over 10 acres of Devon countryside.
1.5 acre coarse fishing lake, with carp (common, mirror and ghost), rudd, roach, perch and bream.
All lodges have South-facing private balconies with views across the fishing lake to the countryside
Lodges have covered porches where you can store bikes, surfboards,fishing kit & mobility equipme
The iindoor heated swimming pool is open from April-Sept and has a large sundeck for sunbathing
The kitchen has a cooker, microwave, dishwasher, washer/dryer and fridge/freezer
The spacious kitchen/dining area has plenty of space
There is a drop down grab rail beside the toilet and grab rails beside the basin and shower area
The fully-accessible wet room has a power shower, toilet and basin with lever handles and grab rails
Our Games Room offers a comfortable space to relax in inclement weather.
There is plenty to do in the Games Room, including a book, DVD and games library.
There is a snooker table and TV in the Games Room to enjoy in the evenings.
Chaffinch living room is comfortable and practical with lake views from patio doors to the balcony.
All beds are made with crisp white Egyptian-cotton linen.
Each lodge has its own balcony.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ashwater, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
goldfishw...
West Sussex, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mr & Mrs”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The Blagdon Farm complex is great. A nice pool, games room and bar area. The real attraction for most will likely be the Coarse Fishing lake, which is easily accessible from the lodge. It seems well stocked with fish, which are in great condition and vary is size, but put up a great fight, making it fun to fish. At the time of writing, venue policy is to use one of their landing nets, which is sensible, given the ease with which decease such as KHV can be introduced. You may want to attach the net to your own landing net handle though, as those provided do sometimes make landing harder, as the waterline can be quite some way below the bank on some pegs.

The Chaffinch lodge is one which (at the time of writing) accommodates dogs, so though the internal decor is in great order, it's also robust enough to live up to the natural wear and tear generated by a dog. As is fairly standard, policy is for dogs to be kept out of the bedrooms and off the furniture. That said, the sofa and chairs are leather, so should muddy paws get on there before you can stop them, it's easy enough to clean off.

The kitchen is well stocked with everything you could need to cook meals and also has a dishwasher and laundry washing machine.

Small downsides:
There is on site WiFi, which is free to access. However, (at the time of writing) the site is not covered by high speed broadband (fibre optic or cable), meaning the download speed is less than 2mb and often under 1mb. Since that's shared between everyone, it's often very slow to download basics like social media or email. YouTube or similar is completely non-viable. Not a lot they could do about that, though satellite broadband might be an option, as the expectation of decent internet access is only going to increase.

Bed wasn't the most comfortable I've slept on and was on the lumpy side, for my liking. Mattresses are a subjective thing, so others may be fine with it, but I would definitely like to see a large bed / mattress in the master bedroom. Anything listing as "luxury" needs to have a King Size bed, in my opinion. The room size can accommodate it comfortably and I think I'd had gotten much better sleep with that extra space.

Pool table in the games room was in excellent order with no tears in the baize, which was great. However, it was also £1 a play, which isn't entirely unreasonable, but with everything else in the games room (Table Tennis, Xbox 360) being free to access, it was mildly irritating to have to pay for the pool table. That said, it was in great condition, so perhaps worth the cost - but then, so was the Table Tennis table.

The site is well suited to those with Children too, with an area designated for outdoor games, such as Swingball, badminton and a football goal, as well as the games room. Care is obviously required around the lake and really shouldn't be approached by under 16's on their own.

Overall, Blagdon Farm and the Chaffinch Lodge are excellent and I will definitely consider visiting again, in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa H
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
“wonderful and a place to really relax and recharge”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The lodge was beautiful, warm and welcoming and one of the best equipped places I think I have ever stayed in. The owners were lovely and friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
We loved the lake to fish in and the pool and our son enjoyed the games room too. We took our 2 small dogs too and had a lovely time exploring the area and going for lovely walks.
Will definitely be booking again in the future - it has become one of our new favourite places to be.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOPLEAF
CHURCHDOWN,U.K.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A peaceful and relaxing get away.”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

My wife, son and our labrador spent a four night break in a Chaffinch lodge last week.
The lodges are extremely comfortable and set in a lovely lake side setting in beautiful Devon countryside.
We were well looked after by the owners and much appreciated the mince pies and cream and the choclate goodies that were awaiting us.
As we were staying over New Years Eve we were also delighted to discover a bottle of champagne had been put by in the fridge for us!
The location is ideal for touring North Devon and Cornwall and we had a great time visiting local beaches such as the glorious stretches of Widemouth Bay, just outside Bude.
The lodges are equipped to a high standard and we would have no hesitation in recommending Blagdon Farm for a perfect get away from it all break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Comfortable accommodation in a peaceful location.
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea l
1 review
“Beautiful Blagdon Farm”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Well, what can we say other than, "Can't wait till next time ". This was our second visit and we will be back as soon as we can! Lovely spot, peaceful location. Weather was good, Chaffinch very welcoming and well equipped, hosts couldn't have been better. We are 24/7 carers for a family member and needed a break, this certainly fits the bill. Totally relaxing. Bailey our dog loves it too, it was his second visit and the facilities for him are great, lovely walks and a safe field where he could have a good run. Lovely local walks too. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Grounds, views and the quiet.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devina C
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Already booked to return in 2016!”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Chaffinch Lodge ticked all the boxes! Comfortable, clean, very well equipped, peaceful, accessible, lovely views, sunny veranda, wildlife, walks, indoor swimming pool and relaxing bar for an evening drink also on site. Lovely welcome and finding scones, jam and cream waiting for us was a great start to our week's holiday. Ideally placed to visit Bude, Hartland Quay, Launceston, Padstow, Bodmin and many more places in both Devon and Cornwall. Great food at local pub too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole relaxing environment of Chaffinch Lodge and its surrounding area
Liked least: Can't think of anything!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing