We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Kingfisher Lodge is one of eight fully-accessible lodges set in over 10 acres of Devon countryside.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kingfisher Lodge is one of eight fully-accessible lodges set in over 10 acres of Devon countryside.
Kingfisher living room has a sofabed and lake views from the large patio doors to the balcony. All beds are made with crisp white Egyptian-cotton linen.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Kingfisher Lodge is one of eight fully-accessible lodges set in over 10 acres of Devon countryside.
Kingfisher living room has a sofabed and lake views from the large patio doors to the balcony.
All beds are made with crisp white Egyptian-cotton linen.
The dining area has a table which can seat up to 6 people
The kitchen has an oven/hob, microwave, dishwasher, fridge/freezer and washer/dryer
The fully-accessbile wet room has grab rails and lever taps
There is a roll in shower area in the wet room which has a power shower
All lodges have South-facing private balconies with views across the fishing lake to the countryside
1.5 acre coarse fishing lake, with carp (common, mirror and ghost), rudd, roach, perch and bream.
Lodges have covered porches where you can store bikes, surfboards,fishing kit and mobility equipment
The indoor heated swimming pool (open April to October) has a South-facing sunbathing deck
There is plenty to do in the Games Room, including a book, DVD and games library.
Our Games Room offers a comfortable space to relax in inclement weather.
There is a snooker table and TV in the Games Room to enjoy in the evenings.
Each lodge has its own balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ashwater, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicky B
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent holiday”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We have just returned from a great weeks holiday in Kingfisher Lodge at Blagdon Farm. We had a lovely friendly welcome when we arrived and we were shown to our accommodation and shown where the facilities were. There was also a welcome pack of tea/coffee/hot chocolate, milk in the fridge and delicious scones with jam and clotted cream. We arrived on Good Friday and there were also 2 easter eggs, which was a lovely touch.
The lodge was well equipped and very spacious with fabulous views over the lake and surrounding countryside. The pool was bigger than we expected and nice and warm and the games room had enough to occupy 2 teenagers. It was a lovely spot for fishing and had it been a little warmer my daughter and I might have spent a little more time sitting at one of the picnic benches by the lake watching the men fish!
It is a well positioned to explore both inland and the coast and we managed walks along coastal paths and through Dartmoor. As we hadn't been to the area before we were out quite a lot exploring, but would have been more than happy to spend more time at the lodge.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl h
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

What a wonderful place, just got around to putting this on, but we had a cottage a wonderful place, clean and tidy.our host were fab and looked after us well, nothing was to much trouble. A great fishing lake, beautiful views, ideal location. Friendly chicken walking around, nice pool and bar. A great base to travel around from, you won't be disappointed, you can also take a caravan as it's a dual site. Great place very relaxing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott T
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best holiday ever”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Blagdon farm is one of the best holidays i have had with the kids.

we came as a big family group of 12, as 3 of the people had been here a few years ago they highly recomended it as it was purposly built for people with disabilitys and wheel chair access, so it was perfect for their daughter who is in a electric wheel chair.

the lodge was very nice, we opened the door to find a nice and clean open plan kitchen with complementy apple juice which is made from their own apple orchard, scones, jam which was home made and clotted cream.

The bedrooms and living room was also very nice with the master bedroom and living room having a fantastic view of the lake and country side beyond.

the facilitys on site are also very nice, there is a games room 2 lodges away and has table tennis, pool table,Xbox 360, board games and books inside.

the swimming pool i didnt get to use but the kids did and they loved it.

the lake however i did get to use which was lovely, especially when the sun was out, we didnt catch many fish in the morning but the owners said its best in the late afternoon which true to their word i caught a 10lb common carp within 15mins when i went back later in the day.

the lake is also an amazing place for a night walk or early morning stroll where we heard barn owls in the area aswell as watching the bats fly past getting all the insects flying by the lake at night, and by day we saw and heard over 8 species of bird singing in the trees all around.

There is a phasent but it quickly runs away before you even get within 150ft of it and there are 2 lovely chickens that roam free around site during the day which will happily eat from you hand if you want to feed them. also there is a beautiful white barn owl on site.

the bar in the evening is a perfect way for the adults and kids to relax, it is nice a cosey with very comfy seats, they have a nice range of drinks for kids and adults and when speaking to the owners they said they are hoping to make their own cider soon which i look forward to tasting on our next visit. the drinks prices are also very good, a round of 12 drinks was half the ammount that i would normaly pay at home in london.


overall the site was fantastic, its in a nice location with shops only a 5 mins drive away and lovely beaches and locations only a 20-30min drive away like bude and many more.

the owners are very lovely and approachable, i would recomend this place for everyone, especially people that need wheel chair access and want to bring the family dog/s.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: pretty much everything
Liked least: going home :'(
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark E
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent facilities - highly recommended.”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The lodge is clean and tidy and is fully-equipped with washer, cooker, fridge etc. Situated in a lovely area with amenities for the children including a swimming pool, games room, and an outside play area with football, badminton etc. There is a fishing lake, and also a small bar for the mums and dads.

The owners are very friendly and welcoming, and are happy to help with any queries you may have. The welcome of hot chocolate for the children and scones was a nice touch, but not too helpful in keeping my waistline down. In 30mins. you can be on the beach in Bude, in Cornwall, and it's easy to drive up and down the coast as you please.

This was our first stay at the lodge, but won't be our last.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The people, the lodge and it's surroundings.
Liked least: Wasn't there long enough!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane4397...
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A relaxing holiday in a beautiful setting.”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The lodge we stayed in was very comfortable and had everything we needed such as washing machine, cooker, dishwasher, etc. The Kingfisher Lodge has not yet been updated (I believe the owners are in the process of doing this) but was nevertheless a pleasant place to stay. The balcony stretches across the back of the lodge and has amazing views over the lake, it is a very beautiful place to stay in. Our children really enjoyed the small swimming pool and games room and there is a handy bar available on several nights of the week. The owners are very helpful and friendly and are very quick to answer any queries or help in any way they can (my daughter said she liked this holiday because everyone is so friendly!). My children also loved feeding the ducks and chickens who would come up to the balcony to see us. All in all a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: Lack of a shop nearby
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing