We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely flat in a wonderful setting, supported...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Padstow, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Valerie W
Huddersfield
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old fashioned, tired, dated, mismatched and grubby”
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We have recently returned from a one week stay in Apartment 3, The Old Vicarage, Padstow. It is set in beautifully cared for gardens at the top of the hill just a 10 minute walk from the harbour (15 minutes if going uphill). Tesco, Padstow Brewery and Prideaux Place and the beach are all within easy walking distance.

The photographs on the website make the property seem spacious, clean, light and airy with a private patio area. This is not the case.

The owner's accommodation is directly adjacent to the patio for Apartment 3 which we found to be an invasion of our privacy as he was always around and working in his garage/workshop or gardening.

On arrival we noticed a distinct damp and dusty smell in the apartment which remained throughout our stay, even after having the windows open. 
The décor and furnishings are described as being traditional; the description I would give use is old fashioned, tired, dated, mismatched and grubby. I have thrown better quality furniture in a skip.
The crockery, cooking utensils and equipment are inadequate. There are no roasting tins or baking trays for the oven meaning that the oven only has a limited use; I had to use the grill pan tray leant on its side to cook oven chips! The crockery and glasses are a mismatched limited selection, there are several small glass bowls which are of little or no use - the entire contents of the kitchen cupboards look as though they have been collected during several trips to the charity shop.

There are several bowls, bags, baskets, etc dotted around the apartment, all filled with old and dusty pot pourri.
The ornaments, and I use that term loosely, are yet again just dust collecting bric-a- brac.
The curtains in the kitchen didn't meet when drawn and the curtain tie back in the hall was held together with wire.
My husband repaired the door knob in the living room when it fell off and also the cover on the handrail near the bath in the bathroom.
The apartment was dirty and dusty. It looked as though it hadn't had a thorough clean for months. Skirting boards were filthy as was the curtain pole. 
There were cobwebs and spiders everywhere; I do appreciate that in such an old property there are bound to be some spiders around but not in the numbers we experienced.
The glasses in the kitchen cupboards were dirty as was the cutlery in the drawer. The bath and the bathroom sink taps were also dirty. I spent at least an hour washing the contents of the kitchen cupboards we were likely to use, cleaning the bath, cleaning round the taps, and wiping down the surfaces of all furniture in order to get rid of as much dust as I could. 

During our stay there was a problem with the bath water flooding the kitchen. This was eventually diagnosed as the overflow pipe not having been fitted correctly when the new bath was installed. However it was only after this flooding had happened twice that the owner employed the services of a plumber to rectify the situation.

My husband and I chose not to complain at the time as we didn't want to create an uncomfortable atmosphere with the owner and his wife during our holiday, bearing in mind they live next door and we saw them every day. So on our return home we contacted the letting agent (Harbour Holidays in Padstow) to complain about the standard of accommodation on offer. Our complaint was met with indifference and we were told that as the terms and conditions of booking state that we should have informed them of any problems while we were on holiday there was nothing they could do, although the owner did offer a 10% refund as a gesture of goodwill.

I would not recommend this accommodation or Harbour Holidays to anyone looking for a holiday rental in Padstow or Cornwall.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2017
In response to the review left by Valerie W from Huddersfield we would like to respond and respectfully ask readers to consider other reviews left by previous guests . We have had over 70 guests in The Old Vicarage apartments and have never had any negative feedback.

I should start with by saying the original complaint was emailed to us once their holiday was finished, requesting a full refund.

Neither my company Harbour Holidays nor the owners of The Old Vicarage Apartments were aware of any disappointment from this guest at any time throughout their stay and the owners were most upset to receive the email subsequently. Had we been aware of any issues, we would have had a chance to rectify these or move them into an alternative property if they were this unhappy. We do have a 24 hour out of office phone so would have (at any time) come out to go through any issues this guest had or they could have visited our office which is in nearby Padstow.

Perhaps a little further confirmation prior to booking may have been beneficial owning to Valerie W’s unfortunate phobia of cats and fear of dogs plus the need for complete privacy and no gardening activity. This could have been easily clarified prior to Valerie W’s choice of holiday.

We did offer this guest 10 % compensation as a gesture of goodwill which they declined. The owners take great care of their properties and have felt most saddened of this review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Miche...
1 review
“A lovely flat in a wonderful setting, supported by very friendly owners.”
Reviewed 2 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The flat is delightful, in a quiet old vicarage setting with a charming garden. It is ideal for accessing the coast path as well as Padstow itself, without taking the car.

The owners are very helpful and friendly - it was lovely to find milk, biscuits and a cream tea waiting in the flat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charming and quiet setting and the friendly owners.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No Wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
VisitorRo...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Comfortable, great views, and good location”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A comfortable, spacious one-bedroom apartment with traditional décor and only a short walk down to Padstow itself (about 15 minutes) but as with most small seaside towns in Cornwall there is inevitably a short walk up again. Not strenuous though unless you have particular mobility problems.. Easy parking in the driveway (this is a bonus as parking in Padstow itself can be a challenge at holiday times). Hosts were very helpful and, as other reviewers have said, there are attractive grounds in which to sit out and enjoy the views. The kitchen is down a short flight of stairs and was well equipped. There is a small table and two chairs if you prefer to eat there than in the lounge. There is no washing machine but this was not an issue for us. We would certainly stay here again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail B
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful scenery”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week at this lovely apartment. It is situated at the top of Padstow which is a wonderful walk down the hill but quite a walk back up. The views are just fantastic and the hospitality unbelievable. David and his wife were so kind and generous. They were there if you needed them but unobtrusive and lovely people. The apartment had lots of space. A very pretty sitting room, bedroom with a double bed and lots if drawer space; a huge bathroom with lots of hot water and lovely fluffy towels; downstairs to a pretty kitchen which was well equipped and led out onto a pretty patio area where we had breakfast everyday. It is well situated for anyone who wishes to take up some walking or cycling and we would love to come back. We really appreciated the scones and Clotted Cream on our arrival.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing