We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gem of a cottage in a fabulous location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Skiber An Hyli

Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Lounge Living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Lounge
Lounge
Living area
Living area
Living area
Well equipped kitchen
Kitchen lobby area
Kitchen
Kitchen
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin bedded room
Twin bedded room
Twin bedded room
Upstairs shot
Main bathroom
Main bathroom
Cloakroom
Landing
Skiber An Hyli, meaning Saltwater  Barn in Celtic
The terrace, with plenty of sun for relaxing, reading and BBQs
The dining area
The garden, with a rock-wall at the rear
Watergate Bay, fantastic surfing beach, very nearby
Porthcothan Bay, the nearest beach, 2 km away and lovely for families. Also has a shop & cafe
Diggory, the beach over the road, which you can see from the dramatic headland
Padstow, home of Rick Stein and charming fishing harbour village
Hiring bicycles for the scenic Camel Trail comes highly recommended
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Padstow, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jill H
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gem of a cottage in a fabulous location”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have just returned from a wonderful long weekend at Skiber An Hyli, the cottage is pristine and we were made so welcome.
The location is excellent for exploring the Cornish coastline and has plenty of opportunities not to distant to stock up or eat out. ( we mostly choose the latter)
A wonderful fully equipped kitchen with loads of dishes etc, a pet peeve of mine when only minimum supplied! So well done Lee another example of how much thought has gone into the cottage and what guests need to make it a home from home.
We loved the decor, well maintained and thought out.
Loads of parking and great directions to find the cottage.

We hope to return to the cottage later this year for another Cornish Boost!

Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Thank you Jill and Sharon, so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Skiber, thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEMFA
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A perfect holiday in Cornwall”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is such wonderful accommodation, decorated beautifully and so well equipped with everything you need for a holiday.

There are so many amazing beaches just minutes drive away and so many chances to sample fabulous Cornish seafood - the Cornish Arms was superb, as was Rick Stein's Fish and Chips!

We visited with 3 children, aged 5, 3 and 1 year old, and it was so child friendly and plenty of space for us to relax after a day of exploring. There is no mobile reception or wifi but I must say that was a bonus for us, as it meant we really could switch off and make the most of our holiday in this beautiful part of Cornwall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Many thanks for your kind comments. Very glad you liked the barn so much, l hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzysherw...
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cornish Treasure”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I've stayed at this lovely Barn twice now and will certainly come back. The location is perfect for Porthcothan beach and trips to Padstow for the foodies, camel trail cycling etc. The walk out to the headland is a high point with views down to the bay and access to the coastal path.
The owner has gone to great lengths to make this a home from home

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the actual property
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Thank you Suzy, lm delighted that since these comments you have returned for another visit, lovely comments in our visitor book as well. We love it when our guests keep coming back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing