We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch”

The Golden Lion Hotel
Ranked #15 of 91 Restaurants in Padstow
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Popped in for Sunday lunch following a recommendation. Food was delicious and plentiful. Relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Friendly and helpful staff.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank daybreak630dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2018

We enjoyed a superbly tasty and plentiful Sunday roast today. The beef and pork meats were cooked very well and supported with lovely seasonal vegetables and a dish of cauliflower cheese. Sunday lunch is often over complicated but this place knows how to serve it best. We would highly recommend you try it.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Abigail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

We booked for dinner and were not disappointed.
Friendly service in a local free house that has a good Cornish feel to it.
Prices are fair for good local produce.
My wife had the small portion of fish and chips which she said was perfect. I had Sara's fish pie which was delicious. Followed by sticky toffee pudding which we shared really lovely. Local ales great well kept.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

This is an above average pub for Padstow and delivered good pub grub. Service was friendly and efficient and all food was well presented and of good quality.
I can highly recommend this pub for an evening meal but remember to book as it is busy,quite small with limited number of tables.

ps - the Sticky toffee was outstanding

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank trevor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

Visited The Golden Lion in Padstow and had a good sized meal, which was cooked to perfection and served by friendly, attentive staff.
Don't expect to walk in to this establishment and get a table, because of popularity you must book, ideally two days before you wish to dine, especially in holiday season.
If I had to comment on one concern, it's that they allow dogs into the one dining area within the bar area.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank keithwilliams1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Golden Lion Hotel also viewed

 

Been to The Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing