We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (634)
Filter reviews
634 results
Traveller rating
297
165
86
57
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
297
165
86
57
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews doc martin the pub nespresso machine mussels short walk sunday lunch steep hill pudding lovely location cornish breakfast couple of nights breakfast was excellent st austell sea view cove cornwall dogs
Filter
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 634 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2016

just spent 4 nights at the port gaverne hotel brilliant from first walking through door to departing,staff were great nothing was to much trouble and the food was great,great choice for breakfast, and the meals in the bar and resturant were brilliant,so if your in cornwall give it a go you wont be dissapionted

Room tip: all rooms are good
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

We recently booked two nights at this hotel whilst doing a two week walk on the South West Coast Path and were looking forward to a rest day and comfy room. Certainly the description ticked the boxes but a great disappointment when we arrived. Our room was so small that there was not even a chair or the room for one to relax in and the bathroom only had a hand held shower . There was hardly room for our bags and the view was over a roof. Whilst advertised as a hotel it is really a pub with rooms as there was no lounge for residents to relax in. We had stayed in many styles of accommodation during our walk so feel I had an idea of prices. At £150 per night our expectations were not met. Fortunately a young manager from Russia dealt with our complaint very professionally and discounted the room to what I considered was the correct rate for what we received. We had dinner in the restaurant but again overpriced for average quality .

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

We stayed at the Port Gaverne hotel for 2 nights and enjoyed every bit of it but the price. Location and views were splendid. It is an easy walk up and over the hill of the coastal path to Port Isaac. Rooms are hard to find in such small fishing coves as Port Isaac and Port Gaverne. Consequently prices are steeper than the cliffs.

Our room was up a narrow flight of stairs. We were lucky that we travel with small carry - on luggage. The Chinese tour that came the next day were struggling with their huge cases! Little assisstance was offered by the staff, most of whom work in the restaurant and bar on the main level. In all other respects, the staff were friendly, courteous and helpful

The room was remarkably quiet even when the hotel was full. It was very clean and quite spacious. Breakfast was served in the main floor dining hall and was very good with generous offerings.

We did have an afternoon snack in the restaurant - terrific French fries!... and an extremely disappointing, almost inedible dinner there too.

Great location. Comfortable. Over-priced...but what is the choice. If you stay there, eat in Port Isaac!!!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank travel-till-I-drop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Stopped here for lunch, had the nicest beer battered fish ever, in this case it was Hake, the batter was dark and crispy and the triple cooked chips were crunchy with a light fluffy interior, couldn't understand why the mushy peas came in a seperate pot but the whole meal was complimented by a very tasted home made tartar sauce. Thankfully the weather was fine and warm and we were able to eat outside with a lovely view or the cove.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016

We have been regular visitors to port Isaac over the last six years but have never tried the port gaverne pub for eating, I decided to go for the half lobster and my partner went fir the ox cheeks, lobster was very small and was presented with leaves and fries, although nice I felt like I could have eaten fish and chips after! The ox cheeks were very tasty no complaints, we had a cheese board after which was very disappointing and expensive......will try again but be more choosy, lovely staff and nice atmosphere

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sharon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews