We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dog, Wife and Husband friendly!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Piggery - Horringer - Living & Dining Area, under floor heated
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Old Piggery - Horringer - Living & Dining Area, under floor heated
Old Piggery - Horringer - Living & Dining Area
Old Piggery - fully equipped kitchen
Old Piggery - bathroom with deep bath and quality fittings
Old Piggery Bedroom - Egyptian cotton bedlinen
Old Piggery - Horringer - view of courtyard setting
Old Piggery - Horringer
Old Piggery - Horringer - Cottage Garden Courtyard
Old Piggery - Horringer - Backing on to Ickworth House, Park & Gardens
Old Piggery - Horringer - Backing on to Ickworth House, Park & Gardens
Old Piggery - Horringer - Backing on to Ickworth House, Park & Gardens
Old Piggery - Horringer - Backing on to Ickworth House, Park & Gardens - Canal Walk
Old Piggery - Horringer - Backing on to Ickworth House, Park & Gardens
Old Piggery - Horringer - Backing on to Ickworth House, Park & Gardens
Old Piggery - Horringer - just 2 miles from Historic Town of Bury St Edmunds
Old Piggery - Horringer - just 2 miles from Historic Town of Bury St Edmunds
Old Piggery - Horringer - Backing on to Ickworth House, Park & Gardens - Open Air Theatre & Concerts
Old Piggery - Horringer - Backing on to Ickworth House, Park & Gardens
Old Piggery - Horringer - Backing on to Ickworth House, Park & Gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Horringer, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emma P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dog, Wife and Husband friendly!!”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Last minute booking for our 10th wedding anniversary we had never been or even considered going to Suffolk area before, but we are more than happy we came across the cottage in 'dog friendly holidays.
The directions were very easy to follow only minor problem we had was finding the drive to go and park down (just needs a bigger signpost), yeah parking is a 2min walk from cottage but you can pull on the wide path to unload your car .
First impressions of cottage was lovely and inside was so clean, airy and modern.
Having Ickworth house on the doorstep was fantastic, we walked in the gate and through the wooded path to the left and followed the blue route it takes you all through the woods and into the back of the gardens definitely worth a walk, we also went to Nowton park that was spacious and pretty the dog loved it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauney
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Property... You won't be disappointed!!”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Review for 5 Star Holiday Cottage The Old Piggery.

We have just had a lovely 3 night stay at The Old Piggery in Horringer.

We met Caroline in the car parking space which is a two minute walk from the cottage as we had arrived considerably early and just wanted to make sure that we knew where to head back too, Caroline was happy for us to check in early and we got to meet her 3 lovely horses.

Caroline has thought of pretty much everything with her cottage and it is so well equipped that you could be easily comfortable for a two week stay. We managed to cook several lovely meals in the well equipped kitchen and did not need for anything.

We took George our 9 month old boxer dog with us as the cottage is pet friendly although you would never know that another dog has been in there as it was immaculate on our arrival. The welcome bottle of wine and chocs went down a treat too.

The property has WiFi which works well enough throughout the property although the signal could be sparse in places on our devices.

We was closely located to Ickworth House, Bury St Edmund's, Cambridge and Thetford. Nearby there is one dog friendly pub in walking distance the Six Bells, we did not eat here as it had a minimalist lunch menu that did not look appetising. The cottage has a stack of menus and Caroline recommended a few local places for food.

Overall we had a lovely stay, would highly recommend it and you can take your dog :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susan l
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Visit friends with our dogs”
Reviewed 17 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

lovely cottage well placed for visiting Suffolk , easy to find lovely modern interior , beautiful kitchen and bath room , cosy bedroom
.Lots of space for our two dogs.
Good dog walking in the woods next to Ickleworth Hall just a couple of mins walk away
Altogether a fab place to stay..

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charliebo...
Funchal, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I was running three marathons in
three days I needed somewhere to stay that was self catering and close by. The old Piggery was wonderful I could not of asked for more it was warm beautifully decorated high spec and everything you could possibly need the bath was gorgeous and lovely bed , nice and quiet to . I cannot recommend enough I will definitely be staying again next year thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Cottage & Perfect Location”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I were fortunate enough to spend a weekend at The Old Piggery, and were extremely impressed with its cosy feel and beautifully rustic interior. The furniture and appliances are in general of very high quality, making the cottage easy and convenient to live in. We were particularly impressed with the kitchen, which is equipped with everything you could need possibly to prepare and cook just about anything. The owners were friendly but unobtrusive, leaving us to live in the cottage as if it were our own, yet we also felt able to contact them if we needed anything. We had a wonderful weekend and didn't want to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: That we had to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing