We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Hall House

The Hall House front view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Hall House front view
The drive with flowering cherry The Hall House rear view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
The Hall House front view
The drive with flowering cherry
The Hall House rear view
Kitchen patio with rose
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining room
Dining room fireplace
Snug
Sitting room
Sun room
Stairs to guest bedrooms
Guest bedroom 1
guest bedroom 2
Guest bathroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
laundry room
garage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Horringer, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cynthia H
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

From the moment we confirmed our booking for Hall House, things went smoothly. Eric responded to all our queries, and 8 of us enjoyed a two night break to celebrate a wedding in a nearby village. Hall House is beautiful, and the furniture and equipment is of high quality. Everything you could possibly need, and more, were supplied. The cottage is in a beautiful quiet village with a pub just a few steps away. As our family were all coming from different areas of the country, the parking area was great. The garden is well maintained, and we enjoyed cocktails outside on our first evening, before the wedding. I cannot fault anything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High quality of furniture and equipment and typical
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2015
We are very glad that your party enjoyed the House and its environs so thoroughly. We do hope you will come back and visit us again. Regards, Eric Warner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunnyB...
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice house but issue with refunding deposit ”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015

A group of friends stayed at Hall house over a weekend and had a lovely weekend. I would recommend the pub over the road for dinner as the food is great. The house is lovely, but an odd layout, no big lounge area to accommodate a group of 8 together. Also most bedrooms (apart from the master) are small). I did also have an issue when I asked for the deposit to be returned to me. I had let the owner know that unfortunately two glasses had been accidentally broken whilst washing up and that I was very sorry. The house was left spotless so I didn't think this would be a problem. However the owner was very shirty in his email and stated that he would be deducting money from the deposit and that the remaining deposit would not be returned to me for 7 days?? I was not happy with this as they were clearly cheap glasses and didn't warrant deducting money from the deposit. I was puzzled also as to why it would take 7 days to refund. The owner deducted more money than he had agreed with me from the deposit and although it wasn't a lot (£10) it was more than agreed and much more than the glasses were worth. It also took longer than 7 days to refund the remaining amount. The owner was quite rude in his email communication. This was a shame as when we were booking he had been very helpful to deal with. This issue just left a bad feeling about the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2015
Of course I am sorry the guest was left feeling aggrieved by the operation of the damage deposit -- where repayment is controlled by the website not by us. But I think the reason for taking the damage deposit in advance was made clear at the outset and should not have come as a surprise. My response below is one which I struggle to find rude:

"Well I’m sorry you feel that way. The damage deposit is there just for what it is – in case of damage, which there has been, accidental or not. The glassware is an expensive variety and we have to go now and find the replacements. I think the charge is fairly reasonable under the circumstances..."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonroncol
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic Property For Family Christmas”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

As has been stated in other reviews this is a superbly presented residence and provided a memorable family Christmas for us. The ground floor comprises a spacious kitchen with island , a table with four chairs and a pantry in addition to the electric hob and oven, dishwasher and larder fridge. Adjacent is the dining room, the first of three ground floor rooms with open (decorative) fireplace, a particularly lovely room for its purpose, through which via one direction is the garden room ( with another open decorative fireplace) with its high level (freeview) TV and its rocking chair, and 3 seater sofa (which coverts to a most comfortable double bed). Off the dining room through the other direction (and mind your head on the beautiful beams) is the sitting room with two chairs and 3 seater settee and the third and working open fireplace. Beyond this through an adjoining lobby is the sun room with 2 seater sofa and chair and stool, a feature of which is the view back to the sitting room through "beamed" bars. A lobby situated downstairs wc completes the ground floor accommodation which throughout bears elegant touches and a wonderful homley feel.
The first floor is reached via two staircases, one from the sitting room to the master bedoroom (ensuite with dressing area) and its beauifulhigh beamed ceiling. Off the dining room the second staircase lead to the other bedrooms, one with two adjoining single beds (and the propertys second freeview TV) the single bedrooms and the family bathroom. Excellent bedding, toiletries and towels are provided. And the central heating makes the whole property snug, warm and all of it is just a fantastic property for a large family Christmas
There is a separatelt located laundry room with washing machine and large fridge freezer. The driveway allows more than adequate parking for 8 vehicles
Wifi throughout the property was excellent (but mobile phone reception/signal was very intermittent if not unobtainable, but a short walk to e.g the village bus stop brings most providers signals back to life!!)
The village itself is very small, no public transport, no local shop at all but the nearby public house The Plough is fabulous and is commented upon separately.
The nearest town is Bury St Edmunds, a 15 minute driveaway
All told a magnificent abode. Highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The wonderful homely feel throughout
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2014
Many thanks for these warm words, John, and we are very glad that you had an excellent family Christmas celebration in the House. We hope to welcome you back soon. Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky K
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely weekend away with friends”
Reviewed 27 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Hall House is an absolutely beautiful property, kept to the highest standards of cleanliness and repair. To be honest, I don't feel like the descriptions on this site do it justice - it was much more spacious and welcoming than we had even hoped for. As a group of 8 people we thought that we might find it a tight squeeze but there were no issues with space. The facilities were all lovely and we had a wonderful weekend away. I would not hesitate to recommend this property as the ideal base for a country getaway.
Definitely book the local pub before you travel as this was booked up for our stay though...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2014
Thank you for the kind words Rebecca. We are so glad that your party enjoyed the House. Do come again and book into The Plough for a meal -- well worth it. Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B
Gutersloh, Germany
2 reviews
“Simply delightful!”
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

From the minute we booked our stay Eric ensured we were accommodated. Absolutely everything was catered for and nothing was too much trouble.
We would absolutely book and stay again. The local pub is barely a heartbeat away and the food and ambience was first class.
A truly memorable stay, thank you Eric!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, seriously it was fabulous!
Liked least: Nothing at all...
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2014
Very glad to have helped to make your special trip a success. Look forward to welcoming you back again. Cheers, Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing