We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Brownber Hall(Newbiggin-on-Lune)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tranna Hill(Newbiggin-on-Lune)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fletcher House(Kirkby Stephen)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nateby Inn(Nateby)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Black Bull Hotel(Kirkby Stephen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kings Arms Hotel(Kirkby Stephen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirkby Stephen Hostel(Kirkby Stephen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
The Pennine Hotel(Kirkby Stephen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
168
14
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
168
14
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoast to coast walkstayed heretea and cakefoot spaon arrivalpacked lunchgreat hostsaching feethomemade lemonadegreat decorlovely young couplesmoked salmonbreakfast was deliciousbrownieup to dateindian restaurantpubs and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were treated to a warm welcome and a cold lemonade after a hot day’s walk on the C2C. Our hosts made us feel very comfortable, suggested a place for dinner and booked a reservation. Lovely large room and posh modern bath. Foot spa for sore feet! Breakfast had everything you could want. Fruit compote especially nice - with rhubarb! Highly recommend.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelandNick1, Owner at The Old Croft House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Karen,

Thank you for such as lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed staying with us, our aim is to make sure everyone is refreshed and relaxed ready for either another day walking or exploring the Eden Valley. The rhubarb compote has been very popular this year, luckily I can pick it from my mum and dads garden when they are not looking!


Hope your rest day in sunny Keld was enjoyable and that you enjoy the rest of the walk.

Kind Regards,


Rachel & Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A hotel of individual character thanks to good taste and innovative ideas of the youngish owners. Room and en suite immaculately clean and stylish. Very helpful information about the coast to coast footpath and advice on routes. My only disappointment was the smoked salmon and scrambled egg orderedfor breakfast was overlooked and the toast burned .

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Mala1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelandNick1, Owner at The Old Croft House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mala1952

Thank you for your review and we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the décor. We are disappointed that you didn't enjoy your breakfast, it is the first complaint we have had about our breakfasts in 7 years. Please accept our apologies if you felt that your breakfast was over cooked however we can not recall any complaints and would have been happy to replace your breakfast immediately if we had been made aware it was not to your liking.


We hope you enjoyed the rest of your Coast to Coast adventure.


Kind regards


Rachel & Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

Fantastic guest house, immaculate with all mod cons. Stayed for one night whilst attending a wedding at Augill Castle. Owners really welcoming and made you feel at ease. The breakfast was lovely and really welcome after a long day the previous day!!
Would definitely recommend this guest house. Well done and the decor is lovely and homely. Good value for money too.
Thank you

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelandNick1, Owner at The Old Croft House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sue

Thank you for the lovely comments and we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the wedding in a castle! We source as much of our produce locally, especially sausage, bacon and eggs so it's good to know it's appreciated. It's always nice when people enjoy the house and the décor as we have put a lot of our personality in to balance the age and original features.


We hope to see you again in the future.


Kind regards


Rachel, Nick & Dylan the dog


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

Lovely comfortable rooms, thoughtful touches like a foot spa. Met with tea and cake on arrival. Lovely breakfast and super packed lunch ( I chose salmon & cream cheese sarnies) to take away. Owners have good local knowledge. Managed to get a massage in the town too! The pub landlord let us down as he said he had no trace of the booking made on our behalf for dinner. Fortunately we were able to find another place to eat, just along the road. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ilovemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelandNick1, Owner at The Old Croft House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ilovemax

Thanks for the lovely review, we put a lot of thought into the rooms and the little extras so it's always nice to know it's been appreciated.
We walk a lot ourselves so we know the area well but also how important it is to have a good lunch if you're out for the day.


We look forward to welcoming you another time and we can recommend plenty of local walks to work up an appetite.


Kind regards,


Rachel, Nick & Dylan the dog

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

This is a fabulous hotel in the heart of Kirkby Stephen. Nick welcomed us with cold drinks and brownies and also made sure we had a booking at a local pub for evening dinner (fortunately as the place was chocker and people were being turned away). He also gave us a great tip about going via Ewbank Scar rather than the normal route up to Nine Standards which we have to say was absolutely brilliant.

Room Tip: Only stayed in the one at the front but it was huge
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sliva R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelandNick1, Owner at The Old Croft House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sliva R

We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we're sure you earned the cold drinks and Rachels home made brownies on a sunny afternoon! It's a lovely walk via Ewbank Scar so we're pleased that you enjoyed it.
We hope to see you before your 20th Anniversary and we'll be sure to think of some other lovely walks for you.

Kind regards

Rachel, Nick & Dylan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews