We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quay House - A Treasure”
other travellers have booked this property
View from across the water
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from across the water
View of front of house dinningroom/kitched
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
View from across the water
View of front of house
dinningroom/kitched
dinningroom/kitchen
Sittingroom
Bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Ensuite bathroom
Ensuite bathroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Main bathroom
Raised back garden overlooking water
Kayaking in Newport
Night view of Black Oak Rivew in Newport
Surfing in nearby Achill
Newport by night
Grainuaile Castle.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Newport, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amandaoat...
2 reviews
“Quay House - A Treasure”
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Had a brilliant holiday based in Newport Co Mayo. There were three generations of us in this lovely, comfortable, well-appointed house overlooking the Black Oak River. Great beaches within an easy distance, beautiful countryside, water sports, riding, cycling, walking - and going to the pub (we liked The Grainne Uaile just down the road best). It can be rainy in August but there's usually sunshine too and it's not cold. We found £20-£25 wetsuits to be an excellent investment, enabling hours and hours in the water. Keel Bay (30km drive to Achill Island) was the best we found for surfing/
body surfing (boards for hire, life-guarded from 12:30 in August, gorgeous crepes !). Malranny/Mallaranny beach is nearer, and lovely.

Older kids+ can have great fun in the river outside the door of Quay House. NB paddleboarding and kayaking aren't always available- best to check first. Good TIO at top of Newport High Street. There's a good kids' amusement park at Westport House (12km - lovely town) and a great-value leisure centre with pool and hot tubs in nearby Malranny. Our host at Quay House, Kathleen Walsh, was fantastically obliging. The youngest kids loved collecting the two warm eggs every morning. Overall -highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander...
Ballywalter, null, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tranquil comfortable cottage in a stunning location”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Visited Newport with our grandchildren and we were charmed with the house and gardens . Highlight for the kids was collecting their fresh eggs in the morning from the resident hens . Newport well situated for visits to Westport, Castlebar and nearby Achill island. Good range of eateries and shops in the village .House excellent with the exception of one bed which was a little hard We would hope to visit again in the future

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nan W
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love Newport”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Quey House fully met our expectations, in fact exceeded them! We arrived to freshly baked bread and scones from Kathleen and we were very well looked after for the whole of our stay. The house is very homely and comfortable, with everything you require. We loved Newport and the people, who were interested in taliking with you and knowing who was stayng in 'Mary Kelly's' house. We enjoyed the food and entertainment at the local pub. This was an ideal base for us to visit many areas of Co.Mayo and beyond. Two wonderful relaxing weeks and we can't wait to return. Thank you Kathleen and Chris for looking after us so well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely house with all modern convieniences
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goopleton
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent house in good location”
Reviewed 16 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This house was beautiful and spacious. The rooms, fixtures and fittings were all clean, tidy and in good repair. There were 2 TVs, with Irish and UK channels, a bookcase with an eclectic mix of books and magazines, including brochures for local sites of interest, a massive garden, nice views across the river and of the hills from the living room, bedroom and dining room windows. A few minutes walk into town one way, and to a park the other way, and set on a quiet road. The bathrooms were comfortable, as were all the other rooms. Mrs Walsh gave us a thorough run-down of everything and left us some freshly backed bread and scones, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Wifi signal was strongest in the dining room; the kitchen was modern and well equipped. Can't think of anything negative to say about this lovely well kept house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position of the house and its style
Liked least: The house was excellent, can't really fault it
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing