We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 840)
Filter reviews
2 840 results
Traveller rating
1 508
680
390
168
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 508
680
390
168
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviews linden tree restaurant old house coach house kitchen bar golf club beautiful hotel beautiful grounds spa treatments relaxing break main restaurant top class leisure centre special occasion afternoon tea one night stay enjoyable stay staff were excellent
Filter
Updating list...
932 - 937 of 2 840 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Great place to share time with family friends , delightful surroundings & facilities for a very relaxing time. The walks to university town & access to shops as well as alternative local restaurants lifted the experience for our stay.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 396gayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina S, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2016

Dear 396gayer,

Thank you for such a lovely feedback. I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Carton House in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Christina Schoeman
Executive Secretary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016

Lovely location but in a hotel of this quality one would expect water to be provided in the bedrooms.We were also at a loss to understand why we and our companions had to pay 88 euros extra between us for dinner when we had booked a package including dinner.We failed to understand the explanation given at reception.Quality of food in restaurant was surpassed by that we enjoyed in a local restaurant on our second evening.Overall, not what we were expecting in some respects,given the expense involved

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank travellers069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina S, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2016

Dear travellers069,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Carton House.

I am naturally disappointed to read that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations. Your review is highly valued and we welcome constructive feedback from all our guests in order to ensure we deliver the highest standard of service.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Carton House Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Lucius Farrell
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016

lovely weekender getaway!! lots of grounds for walkers and golfers!!spa lovely!! evening meal fine dining!!water was expensive 4euro per bottle ask for tap maybe we didn't expect to pay 8 for 2 which were average size was only 5euro supplement for fillet steak!! breakfast amazing!!! everything you want!!well recommended!!enjoy

Room tip: new side of hotel nearer spa lifts n breakfast and dinner old side of house fab but a bit of a walk worth it!! carry the heels ladies!!
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirabeldublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina S, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2016

Dear mirabeldublin,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay at Carton House, in particular our beautiful grounds and your dining experience.
Thank you for your comments with regards to the price of water and the supplement charge. I will ensure to share them with our food & beverage team.

Thank you for choosing Carton House and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Christina Schoeman
Executive Secretary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Nice hotel but lacking a personal touch. Food options are not great but ok, check in was quite poor as we were not offered a map. Overall nice stay but would not like to have been paying weekend prices.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank brendand18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina S, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2016

Dear brendand18,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your time at Carton House.

I am naturally disappointed to read that your experience at our hotel did not live up to your expectations.

Your review is highly valued and we welcome constructive feedback from all our guests in order to ensure we deliver the highest standard of service.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Carton House in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Lucius Farrell
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Great night service and welcome were excellent. Golf and banqueting facilities were well presented and competively priced. Everybody enjoyed a great night food choices for dinner were extensive and all were severed on time

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 728cathalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina S, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2016

Dear 728cathalc,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review of Carton House.

I am delighted to read that you and your guests enjoyed a memorable anniversary celebration and that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Christina Schoeman
Executive Secretary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews