We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 820)
Filter reviews
2 820 results
Traveller rating
1 498
675
389
165
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 498
675
389
165
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviews linden tree restaurant old house coach house golf club kitchen bar beautiful hotel beautiful grounds relaxing break top class main restaurant leisure centre special occasion one night stay afternoon tea enjoyable stay reception area staff were excellent
Filter
Updating list...
1 269 - 1 274 of 2 820 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2015

Staff excellent...warm & friendly. My only disappointment was check in..The staff member had no enthusiasm...no intrest in us.. she just ticked the boxes...on checkout the girl was wonderful. So helpful with directions..told us about special offers in the new year which I have told plenty of friends already...hopefully we will b back.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 371rachaeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina S, Executive Secretary at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2015

Dear 371rachaeld,

Thank you for taking the time to post your TripAdvisor review.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent visit at Carton House.

I am truly sorry for your poor check in experience you have received. I will ensure to communicate your comments with our Front of House Manager with a view of improvement.

We appreciate your feedback as it is vital to our business as we strive to improve the level of service we offer our guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Christina Schoeman
Executive Secretary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2015

From the warm welcome to the beautiful surroundings; I loved my time at the Carton House Hotel. Great bedrooms, cosy lounges to relax in beside wonderful fireplaces. A truly relaxing experience. Would look forward to coming here again.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank carrollej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina S, Executive Secretary at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2015

Dear carrollej,

Thank you for taking the time to post your TripAdvisor review.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent visit to Carton House and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Best Wishes,
Christina Schoeman
Executive Secretary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2015

My company had our Christmas party with Carton House last weekend. The entire staff was exceptionally professional, kind and courteous. We had a pre-dinner reception in the Kitchen Bar, and Anna went above and beyond to make us comfortable. She is a star! Our dinner at the Linden Tree was absolutely gorgeous, and the wait staff was exceptional. The rooms were lovely and we slept extremely well. Breakfast was perfect, and offered a huge selection of hot and cold options. All of our employees said they were extremely pleased with the party and loved Carton House. I would highly recommend Carton House for any party or wedding, or just a weekend stay for that matter. Huge thank you to all the staff!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kbools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina S, Executive Secretary at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2015

Dear kbools,

Thank you for taking the time to post your 5 star TripAdvisor review.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay and Christmas Party at Carton House Hotel. I will ensure to share your kind comments to Anna and the rest of our team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Best Wishes,
Christina Schoeman
Executive Secretary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2015

The hotel itself was beautiful and the room was very big but the food in the hotel was very poor. The meal in the linden tree restaurant was average and so was the service.

The set up of the breakfast was not good and the quality of some of the food was poor. The Croissants were doughy, the sausages did not taste nice at all and the mushrooms and tomatoes were tasteless.

The fresh fruit, yoghurt and smoothies were delicious though.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina S, Executive Secretary at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2015

Dear claire_hoyne,

Thank you for taking the time to post your TripAdvisor review.

I am truly sorry we did not meet you expectations in relation to the quality of your meal and service in our Linden Tree Restaurant. I will ensure to communicate your feedback with our Food & Beverage Team with a view of improvement.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Carton House Hotel in the near future.

Please do keep my details on file and let me know if I can assist you in any way.

Yours sincerely,
Christina Schoeman

Executive Secretary
Carton House Hotel
Maynooth | Kildare | Ireland
Phone: +353 (0)1 651 7794
Email: cschoeman@cartonhouse.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2015

Beautiful hotel and spa. Food was at breakfast was good but get there early. Staff welcoming and friendly. The grounds are vast and kept very well with many different walks to take. The rooms are big.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marymX8426LE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina S, Executive Secretary at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2015

Dear marymX8426LE,

Thank you for taking the time to post your TripAdvisor review.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay at Carton House.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best Wishes,
Christina Schoeman
Executive Secretary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews