We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lakeview House

Lakeview House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lakeview House
master bedroom the river beside lakeview house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Lakeview House
master bedroom
the river beside lakeview house
our new dining room cum sunroom
reading ,chatting or tv room
heading for the mountains
en suite cosy room
you have arrived
get your fresh eggs in the morning
kayaking on our private river
all new equipment for guests use free of charge
feed our saddlebacks
ice cream break out cycling in the sliabh aughties
our donkeys , contemplating life
time out
see the white tailed eagles here in mountshannon
lough derg, a short walk from the house
mother and son, out for a walk
derrygoolin scenic views and walks
wait for me, on the mountain roads
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Portumna, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
mike w
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great house”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

a lovely house set in tranquil surroundings we had a great time chilling out and enjoying the facilitys, we used the bikes a lot and also tried the canoe down the river
garry the owner was a great bloke and we enjoyed the sing alongs and the crack
at his pub up the road also thanks to his mate for the fresh eggs all week
do try the half barrel pub at whitegate best steaks ever and lovely rachel and staff great hosts

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vetpod
South Bend, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect home base for visiting Loch Doerg area and foxhunting”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed with my spouse, a friend and and my brother and his wife. The house was clean and well appointed with a very cozy sitting room, perfect for conversation. Beds were comfortable. Grounds were extensive with a brook right outside our window and lots of places to walk and explore, including the Loch which abutted the property. The local pub, owned by our host, Garry, was only 1.5 miles down the road and offered the opportunity to take part in the Irish community.Garry and his mother were very helpful with local spots of interest. Three of us were foxhunters and were able to hunt at 5 different foxhunts, all within 30 miles and very welcoming to guests-one even left from Garry's pub! There were also many local sights, including Holy Island and Mount Shannon and the opportunity for 'day trips" to places such as the Cliffs of Moher and Galway City. We hope to return to Ireland someday and will certainly try to stay at the Lakeview House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the structure and cleanliness of the house
Liked least: no wi-fi-was available at Garry's pub 1.5 miles away
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Anne
Reviewed 24 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sean c
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Characterful house, great activities and a stunning area”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Lakeview House is a lovely property. Think Father Ted's house on Craggy Island but with a tasteful extension and a beautiful inland setting. Furthermore, the owner has rennovated an outbuilding to store fantastic equipment all in great condition ; bikes, kayaks, fishing rods. Our sons are 16 and 14 but never got bored. The scenery is amazing and this area of East Clare is very unspoilt, fairly unknown even to the Irish traveller. Garry and his Ma Brída are super people, really helpful and always at hand for advice or a chat in their quaint pub just up the road. We had a great two weeks, even on the showery days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Activity equipment and scenery
Liked least: kitchen is perfectly adequate but will need an upgrade at some stage
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c m
Alderney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“our ideal house in ireland”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

garry the owner was very helpful nothing was too much trouble,
house was lovely, plenty of room everything you could need for your stay, really homely place, very peaceful setting,boys enjoyed kayaks and bikes even used fishing rods but sadly not many fish were caught,not that far from big cities for shopping and activities like karting and sports centres and food places to eat in or take out, people very friendly there, would definately stay there again ,could even live there. thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: friendliness of the people and very clean
Liked least: bed a bit firm
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$124
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing