We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful traditional farmhouse”
other travellers have booked this property
Front Aspect
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front Aspect
Front Aspect of House Entrance Porch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Front Aspect
Front Aspect of House
Entrance Porch
Kitchen with dining area
Downstairs Main Bathroom With Power Shower Over Bath
Living Room with Multi-fuel Stove with back boiler
Landing area with access to small viewing balcony
Master Bedroom with Ensuite and King Size Bed
Twin Bedroom with Antique French Beds
Single bedroom
Barns in Front Garden
The Farmhouse in Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Killybegs, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Patricia...
2 reviews
“Beautiful traditional farmhouse”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We enjoyed a great stay in The Old Farmhouse. We felt very much at home there. It was beautifully renovated. A great base for exploring the gorgeous county of Donegal

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review. Although the farmhouse is pretty much set in a rural part of Donegal, the house is perfect for touring the Atlantic Way for sightseeing and with Sligo or Letterkenny just an hours drive away you're not stuck for plenty of retail therapy too! Hope to see you again.
Kiera
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pumpherst...
1 review
“Holiday home”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The Old Farmhouse is in a beautiful location perfect for family's and people like me that have dogs. The farmhouse has everything you need & very homely I loved it . Safe to let the dogs out because it's secure was especially good . All in all a great house & location .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Dear Jacqueline
Thank you for your great review. I'm glad The Old Farmhouse was suitable for all your needs. We would love to welcome you back again.
Kind regards
Kiera Busby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Roger E
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little place.”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Seems quite remote but actually towns and villages a short drive away. So quiet and peaceful. This was our first experience of renting a cottage instead of all B& Bs and we were not disappointed. The house is comfortable to be in and has all appliances as well as a turf burning stove. An initial supply of breakfast needs was in place - bread, milk cereal etc. There is excellent music each night in Ardara and for fishing consult the tackle shop in Dunkineely.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a positive review. You obviously had a great time in Donegal and we are glad that you were delighted with our farmhouse. So much TLC has gone into the house since we bought her 11 years ago and have tried to make it a "Home from Home". I will also pass on your kind comments to the housekeeper. Hopefully we will hear from you again.
Kind regards
Kiera
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carina R
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My mum, my dog and I stayed at the old farmhouse for a few days in late August 2016. We fell in love with the house so easily and instantaneously that we've already made a booking for Halloween. This is a gorgeous place - even better than the photos suggest. An awful lot of love, care, research and attention to detail has been devoted to the property. That said, the house is in no way precious, and it simply oozes warmth and homeliness, but with all the benefits of discreet mod cons.
A huge plus for me was the safety and security that it afforded my cocker spaniel Darcy. Back and front gardens are completely enclosed, so Darcy had as good a time dandering around outside as the humans had relaxing by the fire inside.
Kiera was fantastic: extremely efficient but also very friendlly, approachable and helpful. She put up with a string of emails from me with admirable patience. We also met the neighbours, Nadine and Roland, who are delightful.
All in all: perfection. Although I would love to keep the old farmhouse as my secret, I couldn't recommend it highly enough and hope to make many future visits.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked everything about the old farmhouse
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2016
Thank you for staying at The Old Farmhouse and thanks for this wonderful review.
It has been our pleasure dealing with you and so delighted that you enjoyed your visit.
We love the house and Donegal ourselves and it is our privilege to share this with you.
Thank you also for your new booking.
Kiera
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing