We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a place”
other travellers have booked this property
A nice relaxing sunny day at the cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A nice relaxing sunny day at the cottage.
The stunning views from the cottage!! The Kitchen on the main floor, with some great view lake & mountain views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
A nice relaxing sunny day at the cottage.
The stunning views from the cottage!!
The Kitchen on the main floor, with some great view lake & mountain views.
The Kitchen on the main floor, with some great view lake & mountain views.
The Kitchen on the main floor, with some great view lake & mountain views.
The Kitchen on the main floor, with some great view lake & mountain views.
Basement
Tv and entertainment room in the basement.
Bedroom 1 : Bright and cozy bedroom loft 1 ( king size bed / 2 single beds)
20/29: Bedroom 2 : Bright and cozy bedroom loft 2 (queen size bed)
Bedroom 3 : In the lowest floor (queen size bed)
Sunset from the deck
View from the deck
View from the deck over the lake
Winter wonderland
View from the deck on the mainfloor
The house and the 100 square meters deck overlooking the lake and the mountains.
The house and the 100 square meters deck overlooking the lake and the mountains.
Winter Wonderland
A quiet winter night full of stars and snow
Lovely cottage close to Thingvellir
The cottage and the amazing northern lights.
The cottage and the beautiful autumn colors
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Thingvellir, South Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrea C
Baden, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a place”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Hrafns house is a real treat. Perfect to get away and forget the rest of the world. It is on top of a hill overlooking a beautiful lake.We never tired of the view, the perfect calmness and the pureair.
The house delievers everything that is promised, the hot tub is great. The location is simply perfect for day trips like the golden circle. Easy to get provisions from nearby Selfoss.

Criticism?None. Just an idea: A sofa on ground floor...to sit there and enjoy the view.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim714
Hutton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, fantastic location!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We traveled from the UK for a quick four-night stay in Iceland. Hrafn met us at a 24-hour grocery store near the airport to provide instructions and give us the key. We had a bit of problem finding it as it was very late at night, but a quick phone call fixed us up. It was truly a treat to wake up in the morning and discover our surroundings - beauty in every direction.

We cooked most of the meals at the cottage and found the items provided were more than sufficient to meet our needs. Enjoyed using the grill outside very much.

We were delighted to discover the sleds in the lower level storage room. There wasn't much snow left on the hill in late March, but we made great use of it. We also enjoyed the hot tub and made use of it each evening.

I would have no worries about making this your Iceland holiday destination.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne J
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic position”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Situated in wonderful position. Wonderfu lplaces to visit.
Very difficult to find as car's sat nav did not recognise position. Hrafn very kindly came to find us.
Description of house accommodation not entirely accurate.
States car not necessary, would think from the position of house a car is vital.
No washing machine as described, shame as we did not pack enough clothes.
Not enough kitchen dishes for cooking in oven and microwave.
Could not find any instructions for cooker/microwave these would have been invaluable.
Shame beds were not made up ready and bed linen left had not been ironed.
States linen/towels provided but you have to pay for this.
Description stated 3 double beds and further down states 2 doubles and 2 singles the later is true.
Despite this there are some fantastic places to visit, scenery is stunning.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the views
Liked least: property not as advertised
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2014
Hi Anna and thank you for your review.

I want to respond to this reveiw and correct these few things.

1.I sent you directions to the cottage from the airport with a link from google maps like i send to all of our guests before they arrive. No one has ever complained about that the cottage has been hard to find.
When you drive route 36 like mentioned in the directions from google maps it is very easy to see the house as it is on top of the hill 3 storey high only way to drive by it without seeing it is possibly if it is dark.
The gps system offers you 3 different directions to drive, I mentioned that it was best for you to drive route 1 if you would have driven that route this would not have been any problem for you.
2.We once had washing machine and had a bit of problems with it and we have our cottage listed on many different vacation rental sites and this site was the only one I had not removed the washing machine from. My mistake it has been updated. Sorry about that.
3. We are renting out our cottage not our home we have 1 items to heat in microwave and few others for the oven. This has worked for us when we stay there and as far as we know this has worked for our guests as well. Our microwave and oven are so basic to use that i guess it would be insulting to our guests to have instructions for that so that is not necessary. In fact the dishwasher is probably more difficult to use then the oven and the microwave and i don't have any instructions for that since its not necessary as well.
4. As for the linen and towels they are always 100% fresh and clean straight from the washing machine. We havent found a reason to iron them. Just so you know we charge 45GBP for final cleaning and included in that is linen and towels for everyone during their stay and final cleaning on 3 storey high house and 115 square meters. And i guess everyone find that price very fair for linen and towels and for final cleaning on the cottage. The reason why why dont make up the beds is that we like to let our guests choose which room they want to to stay in. We never know if people 3 together are going to stay in 2 or 3 rooms.
5. The reason for that car is not necessary is that i have offered 1 of my guests to pick them up and drive them to the cottage cause they wanted to go the from Reykjavík to the country and catch the northern lights and were scared to drive on icy roads during winter they did not rent a car their whole trip so in fact car is not necessary to reach the cottage.

But after all we are glad you enjoyed staying with us and how much you liked the veiws.

Thanks.
Hrafn & Þórunn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbirdinpi...
Pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in a great location!”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Hrafn's home near Selfoss is a GREAT place to stay! My husband, our three children (ages 9, 8, and 5), and I stayed here for four nights in late November, and it was perfect! We loved being within an easy drive of Reykjavik, the Blue Lagoon (and the airport), the Golden Circle and other places like Vik that are farther southeast. The home itself is beautiful and offers stunning views! We loved waking up to see a lake with mountains behind! The memory foam beds in the basement and the master bedroom are soooo comfortable, and we all greatly enjoyed the hot tub on the deck! Everything was clean, all essentials (like hand soap, dish soap, paper towels, dishwasher tabs) were provided, and the kitchen cabinets were also full of other great additions like spices, cooking oil, pasta, coffee, tea, etc. This proved to be tremendously helpful as we arrived very late (or I should say very early in the morning) and weren't able to shop for the first day or so. Be forewarned that grocery stores open late (10 am) and close early (6 or 7 pm).

Hrafn is very hospitable. He even offered to let us rent his car, which proved to be invaluable! 4 wheel drive, new snow tires, and a GPS with his cottage's address already uploaded. He met us at the airport upon arrival with the car and the keys to the cottage, and met us back at the airport on the day of our departure. He was easy to reach when we had questions during our stay and was helpful in any way he could be.

I would highly recommend taking a day to drive from the cottage down to Vik, stopping at Seljalandsfoss (the waterfall you can walk behind), Skogafoss, and Dyrholaey along the way. Once in Vik, take the Katlatrack (http://katlatrack.is/) super jeep tour of Katla volcano and Myrdalsjokull glacier. Guojon owns and leads this super jeep tour, and he's fantastic! Definitely the best day of our stay in Iceland!

If you make it into Reykjavik (only 45 minutes from the cottage), hit the National Museum of Iceland and The Volcano House. And definitely stop for a meal at Steikhusid (a steak house)! The food is fabulous and the ambiance is great!

Of course, you can't stay in this cottage and not make the easy trip over to Geysir and Gullfoss! It snowed the entire day we went to these beautiful spots, adding a magical, enchanted feel to each of these natural wonders. Oh, and do stop by Kerid Crater. It's the one spot where you have to pay a fee ($3 per person), but it's only 15 minutes from the house and pretty cool. We had it entirely to ourselves when we went.

We hope to get back to Iceland in the near future, and we'll definitely look to stay at Hrafn's home again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views and the hot tub
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalky33
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Ideal base”
Reviewed 11 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This is a fantastic base for holidays in Iceland. We stayed here for the last five nights of just over two weeks touring around Iceland and was just great. The hosts Hrfan and Porunn are extremely friendly and helpful, a delight to rent from. The house itself is all it is promised to be and more.

Delightfully secluded on a hill overlooking beautiful views, absolute peace and quiet unless you choose to use the great CD player and blow your mind speakers! With a hot tub, privacy, a deck area, three good size bed rooms, a great kitchen come dining room with views to die for, there is nothing not to love about this. It's very clean, well presented, and has a real homely feel, it could easily equally be an ideal party house or that magic get away from it all home.

We stay in a lot of cabins and self catering accomodation across USA, Canada, and the UK (and now Iceland) and this is one of the very best. There is nothing not to recommend about this. Stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole cabin is fantastic
Liked least: Nothing to complain about at all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing