We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Large Log Cabin in a good position to explore the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Seen from the gate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seen from the gate
Burfell mountain as the backdrop Cedar Log Cabin, in December 2013
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
93 reviews
Seen from the gate
Burfell mountain as the backdrop
Cedar Log Cabin, in December 2013
View from the hill
Northern lighs over Burfell mountain, December 2013
December 2012 - in the morning
Main entrance at the back
River and mountain view from the hotpot
Winter by lake Alftavatn.
Hot pot with massage
Mountain view from the kitchen window
Lake Alftavatn and mountains in the vicinity, 30 min. walk.
Living room
Kitchen fully equipped
Master bedroom with great view
Bathroom, with big shower, washing machine and dryer
Bedroom downstairs beside masterbedroom. Great view.
Sleeping upstairs.
Sleeping in the guesthouse with 1/2 bathroom with toilet and sink.
Washing (8kg), Dryer (9kg)
Play area upstairs.  Video,dvd, playstation.
On the way (3 min. from Selfoss town) Volcano Hekla in the background (45 min. drive)
Heading towards the Cedar log cabin (3 min. from Selfoss town).  Mountain Burfell in the background (2 min drive from...
Aurora thunderstorm at Thingvellir National Park,  10- 15 minutes drive
All shades of green
Thingvellir National Park autumn (15 min drive)
Blafjoll ski area, 35 minutes drive
Perfect location, near to Reykjavik (40 min. drive)
Beautiful northern lights
Boat trips at Ulfljotsvatn (Scouts) and Stokkseyri (15 minutes drive)
Unique Thingvellir National Park nearby 10 minutes drive.
Vestmanna Islands,  a great day tour with a ferry. ( 1hour drivce to the ferry plus 20 min sailing)
Thingvellir National Park, winter wonderland
Landmannalaugar for a day trip (2 hours 20 min. drive)
Dyrholaey close to Vík  (1 1/2 hour drive)
Þórsmörk (1 1/2 hour)
Icelandic coastline (20 minutes drive) Stokkseyri, Eyrarbakki, Thorlakshofn
Seljalandsfoss, 1 hour drive.
RiverJet on the River Hvita close to Geysir and Gullfoss waterfall (40 min. drive)
Reykjavik winter, 40 min. drive.
Nearby, Lake Alftavatn, 2km. Great walks and jogging options.
The cabins surrounding in winter time.
Freedom unspoilt!
After crossing the bridge from Selfoss, from this turn it is 4 km to the cabin.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Selfoss, South Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 93 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
VanessaMH...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Large Log Cabin in a good position to explore the Golden Circle”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Very spacious log cabin with comfortable sofas and large bathroom with washing machine and tumble dryer. There are other properties nearby and the view is ok. (We have probably been spoilt as rented a property in the middle of nowhere with stunning views 7 months before) It is very convenient for touring and the kitchen is supplied with everything you need to cook dinner. The jacuzzi is private and the main bedroom is enormous. The separate ensuite bedroom across the deck would be ideal for a family with married children so they can eat as a family but have their own privacy. The upstairs bedroom is also ideal for teenagers to have their own space.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the property
Liked least: The living room furnishings
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara F
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful location - beautiful views”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a wonderful experience overall. Great communication with the owner, easy check in-check out process and a clean spacious home. I wish we would have stayed a few more nights. This was hands down our favorite stop on our road trip around the island. We spent 2 nights enjoying the hot pot while watching the northern lights. Great views, quiet and secluded and easy to get to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and hot tub
Liked least: Shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris K
1 review
“Loved staying at this cabin. Definitely will return to this beautiful place.”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in May 2015

Beautiful Cabin with a beautiful view. My family loved staying here. Couldn't of been happier. Had a small guest house with a bedroom and bathroom besides the cabin. The area was amazing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fit my large family. Had a little guest house.
Liked least: The cold wind!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMG1142
Middlebury, Connecticut
3 reviews
“Would stay here again!”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at Robert's cabin for 5 nights with two young children (ages 5 and7). It was an ideal location to explore the Golden Circle. After long days of traveling and sight seeing, the cabin was a welcoming place to call home each night. We cook frequently and so we can be tough to please in a kitchen, BUT we used the kitchen every day/night and found it to be more than fully equipped to cook a variety of meals (big money saver!). Robert left detailed instructions for everything needed during our stay at the cabin and he was easily reachable for any questions (providing a great recommendation for a day trip). The kids loved the house and we all slept easily there. The beds are comfortable and the shades block any pesty midnight sun. The house is clean and inviting. Selfoss was close by and had all the necessities. The actual property is beautiful, with gorgeous views, and we enjoyed a nice running route right outside our front door in the mornings. Although we travelled with young children, the cabin is suitable for any situation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William G...
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spacious and comfortable , everything you need provided.”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

From first enquiry to our last day we were well cared for by Robert.
We stayed in July 2016 for 2 sets of 3 days with a short break between
(while we went east to Vik to visit Jokelsarlon)
The cabin is perfectly placed and easy to find.
We had just one car but there is easily parking for 2 and it is only 50 metres from the quiet side road that is itself only 300 metres from the main road so access is nice and easy.
It is set among open countryside that has some other cabins nearby but none too close , and it is very private. The hot pot is totally private but with open views across the landscape.
The cabin is very comfortable and spacious and everything is in very good condition with a well thought out kitchen that has everything you need.
The bedrooms are comfortable and have good blackout blinds.
Wifi works fine in the main area.
Collecting towels and linen is just a short drive out of the airport , we would recommend the road via Grindavik as a good way to get round to Selfoss and the cabin. The road is excellent (mostly new) and quiet with little traffic on it.
It is a short drive to Selfoss that has 3 good supermarkets.
The cabin gives easy access to the main tourist spots, and Robert sends you a very good list of places to visit with details of how to get there.
Geysir is about 1 hr away and Gulfoss 15 mins further on.
Don't miss the crater Kerid (only 15 min drive).
Robert is a most helpful host and responds quickly if you contact him both before and during your visit.
We had a brilliant stay at the cabin and hope to be able to visit again someday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The level of comfort the cabin provides and its location
Liked least: I cannot think of any bad points about this cabin
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing