We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Thanksgiving in Iceland - Turkeyless. Beautiful.”
other travellers have booked this property
Seen from the gate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seen from the gate
Burfell mountain as the backdrop Cedar Log Cabin, in December 2013
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
89 reviews
Seen from the gate
Burfell mountain as the backdrop
Cedar Log Cabin, in December 2013
View from the hill
Northern lighs over Burfell mountain, December 2013
December 2012 - in the morning
Main entrance at the back
River and mountain view from the hotpot
Winter by lake Alftavatn.
Hot pot with massage
Mountain view from the kitchen window
Lake Alftavatn and mountains in the vicinity, 30 min. walk.
Living room
Kitchen fully equipped
Master bedroom with great view
Bathroom, with big shower, washing machine and dryer
Bedroom downstairs beside masterbedroom. Great view.
Sleeping upstairs.
Sleeping in the guesthouse with 1/2 bathroom with toilet and sink.
Washing (8kg), Dryer (9kg)
Play area upstairs.  Video,dvd, playstation.
On the way (3 min. from Selfoss town) Volcano Hekla in the background (45 min. drive)
Heading towards the Cedar log cabin (3 min. from Selfoss town).  Mountain Burfell in the background (2 min drive from...
Aurora thunderstorm at Thingvellir National Park,  10- 15 minutes drive
All shades of green
Thingvellir National Park autumn (15 min drive)
Blafjoll ski area, 35 minutes drive
Perfect location, near to Reykjavik (40 min. drive)
Beautiful northern lights
Boat trips at Ulfljotsvatn (Scouts) and Stokkseyri (15 minutes drive)
Unique Thingvellir National Park nearby 10 minutes drive.
Vestmanna Islands,  a great day tour with a ferry. ( 1hour drivce to the ferry plus 20 min sailing)
Thingvellir National Park, winter wonderland
Landmannalaugar for a day trip (2 hours 20 min. drive)
Dyrholaey close to Vík  (1 1/2 hour drive)
Þórsmörk (1 1/2 hour)
Icelandic coastline (20 minutes drive) Stokkseyri, Eyrarbakki, Thorlakshofn
Seljalandsfoss, 1 hour drive.
RiverJet on the River Hvita close to Geysir and Gullfoss waterfall (40 min. drive)
Reykjavik winter, 40 min. drive.
Nearby, Lake Alftavatn, 2km. Great walks and jogging options.
The cabins surrounding in winter time.
Freedom unspoilt!
After crossing the bridge from Selfoss, from this turn it is 4 km to the cabin.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Selfoss, South Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 89 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Miaodotwa...
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving in Iceland - Turkeyless. Beautiful.”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The cabin is perfectly located to explore the golden circle area and going to and from downtown Selfoss. We got in after dark so it was a tad hard to find first time around -- but once found, felt - just - like - home. Plus the owner Robert was so kind and welcoming -- from preheating up the house to calling on my international number to make sure I finally found my way in, always so available and responsive whenever I have a question. Couldn't ask for a nicer host.

The house was super well maintained and fully furnished. We cooked our Thanksgiving meal here and imagine how lovely an impromptu Thanksgiving dinner in the middle of Iceland was, followed by some breathtaking sunrise next morning that lit up the entire sky in 10 shades of creamy pink. The cabin would sit in the vast, majestic foreground, with nothing but rocks, snow, the field that'll eventually turn green, composing the richest of Nordic grace and fortitude.

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon-mj...
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect base”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Really good location right in the golden circle area. Very well kept cabin with plenty of space for us as a group of friends staying there. Nice and warm inside despite the cold weather.

There was lots of snowfall during our stay, so much so that even the 4x4 we had hired couldn't make it up the drive the one day. Luckily it's easy enough to leave the car at the bottom and walk the short distance up to the house from there.

The hot tub is great and is well sheltered from the wind, really warm too!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickcw501
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful cabin with amazing scenery in a great location”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
4
people found this review helpful

My Husband,13 year old son and I stayed here for 4 nights. We were met at the Northern Lights Inn (15 mins from airport) by Robert where we collected the keys and linen for the log cabin. He was very welcoming and made sure we knew the exact directions to the log cabin and where to stop to stock up on some food and essentials before arriving. We arrived at night and drove through a blizzard so we didn't see much scenery on the journey but when we woke up at 6am all I could say was WOW! The sky was clear, there was a foot of snow on the balcony and the view was totally amazing. We then decided to fill the hot-tub ready for an afternoon dip, it was 0 degrees outside but didn't really feel like it. The hot-tub at 38-41 degrees was like a hot bath, and sitting in there looking out at the views was so relaxing.
We hired a Toyota RAV4 (automatic 4x4 with studded tyres) from Blue Car Rental (outside the airport) which you definitely need in the snowy conditions. The main roads are numbered and there aren't that many so it's easy to look at a map and know where you are going, even though the car we hired had a sat-nav. The log cabin already had plenty of tea bags (most important) and other things that had obviously been left behind by other travellers like coffee, jam, herbs & spices and weetabix. It was like returning home after a holiday, you just need some milk! We even left some stuff there like deodorant, pasta, more tea and cereal.
Selfoss town is only a short 10 min drive south and has a netto supermarket (like our co-op), also a subway and KFC if you like to feel at home. The geysers at Geysir were about a 30 minute drive east with the waterfalls at Gullfoss a further 10 minutes. The National Park was 10 minutes north of us, the Burfell mountain was right behind us and plenty of other things to do and see. The Blue Lagoon was amazing and is 2 minutes from the Northern Lights Inn where you pick up the cabin keys.
We had been checking the Aurora (Northern Lights) activity out every day, but out of our 4 night stay 3 nights were very cloudy so didn't see anything, although we weren't really sure what we were looking out for. But on our final night the sky was totally clear and I could see a strange streak in the sky right above us, which was like a cloud but looked too long. My Husband took a picture of it on a long exposure and THERE IT WAS! The Northern Lights! The show then went on most of the night and we took far too many pictures but was totally amazed by the show that was happening right above us and around us. This just topped off our perfect 4 day break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: under floor heating
Liked least: wifi was weak in cabin as router was in guest house
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briella30
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing views”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I with another couple hired a car and drove to this cabin for a couple of nights stay. The directions were very easy to follow, and the maps provided by the owner directed us to a shop in Selfoss to stock up on food before we arrived. The views when we got there were absolutely stunning, as are those on the drive there. The cabin is stocked with everything needed in the kitchen, as well as plenty of herbs and spices. There are also lots of games for children (& adults) stocked there. There was plenty of space as there were only 4 of us, and the cabin was very clean and warm on our arrival. The hot tub is a lovely addition to watch the views and wait for the northern lights (although it was cloudy whilst we were there so did not see them). We actually went on to stay in a small apartment in Reykjavik after our stay here, but wished we could have returned to the cabin. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, with lots of sites in easy reach of the cabin, I would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to see the sites in Iceland, especially the Kerid crater just round the corner. You definitely need a car to get around & would advise a 4x4. The cabin is then a peaceful stop over after action packed days.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophielou...
Chorley, Lancs
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 11 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here at the end of January, 6 adults. It was absolutely fantastic, beautiful, toasty warm and everything you may need. From condoments, oil, tea & coffee etc in the kitchen, to bathroom essentials. Fresh bedding and towels, the beds were really comfy and the hot tub wa a great way to relax afetr a busy day exploring the local attractions. Its in the ideal location to see local attractions and we went to see the magnificent Gulfoss waterwall, the active geysir and the blue lagoon this an an absolute must do!! Loved every minute and would definitely stay here again x

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing