We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Seen from the gate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seen from the gate
Burfell mountain as the backdrop Cedar Log Cabin, in December 2013
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
90 reviews
Seen from the gate
Burfell mountain as the backdrop
Cedar Log Cabin, in December 2013
View from the hill
Northern lighs over Burfell mountain, December 2013
December 2012 - in the morning
Main entrance at the back
River and mountain view from the hotpot
Winter by lake Alftavatn.
Hot pot with massage
Mountain view from the kitchen window
Lake Alftavatn and mountains in the vicinity, 30 min. walk.
Living room
Kitchen fully equipped
Master bedroom with great view
Bathroom, with big shower, washing machine and dryer
Bedroom downstairs beside masterbedroom. Great view.
Sleeping upstairs.
Sleeping in the guesthouse with 1/2 bathroom with toilet and sink.
Washing (8kg), Dryer (9kg)
Play area upstairs.  Video,dvd, playstation.
On the way (3 min. from Selfoss town) Volcano Hekla in the background (45 min. drive)
Heading towards the Cedar log cabin (3 min. from Selfoss town).  Mountain Burfell in the background (2 min drive from...
Aurora thunderstorm at Thingvellir National Park,  10- 15 minutes drive
All shades of green
Thingvellir National Park autumn (15 min drive)
Blafjoll ski area, 35 minutes drive
Perfect location, near to Reykjavik (40 min. drive)
Beautiful northern lights
Boat trips at Ulfljotsvatn (Scouts) and Stokkseyri (15 minutes drive)
Unique Thingvellir National Park nearby 10 minutes drive.
Vestmanna Islands,  a great day tour with a ferry. ( 1hour drivce to the ferry plus 20 min sailing)
Thingvellir National Park, winter wonderland
Landmannalaugar for a day trip (2 hours 20 min. drive)
Dyrholaey close to Vík  (1 1/2 hour drive)
Þórsmörk (1 1/2 hour)
Icelandic coastline (20 minutes drive) Stokkseyri, Eyrarbakki, Thorlakshofn
Seljalandsfoss, 1 hour drive.
RiverJet on the River Hvita close to Geysir and Gullfoss waterfall (40 min. drive)
Reykjavik winter, 40 min. drive.
Nearby, Lake Alftavatn, 2km. Great walks and jogging options.
The cabins surrounding in winter time.
Freedom unspoilt!
After crossing the bridge from Selfoss, from this turn it is 4 km to the cabin.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Selfoss, South Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 90 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
charbar02
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 5 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Lovely Cabin. We had such a great stay here in November and we were really sad to leave! It was almost a shame we had such a packed itinerary as we would have been quite happy spending a day or so chilling out at the cabin. It was lovely coming back to the hot pool in the evening. We sat out most nights looking for the northern lights, although we didn’t see them at the cabin as it was so cloudy so we took a private tour (If you desperately want to see the northern lights like we did then I can’t recommend icelandoffroad.is highly enough! The private jeep tour was fantastic). The Cabin is in such a great location, we did get a bit lost on the journey from the airport but Robert was replying to my emails and was waiting for us at the cabin. Robert had been really helpful even before we arrived; replying to emails and recommending where to go. He had got us some milk and a few other bits which was really appreciated as it meant I could make a cup of tea! The town Selfoss is a 10-15minute drive and has supermarkets, restaurants, KFC! etc. I would recommended that you take paracetamol, ibuprofen etc with you - we learnt this the hard way! You can only buy cold medication over the counter in pharmacies and not in petrol stations and supermarkets like in the UK, and we kept missing the opening hours as we were busy on excursions. Also, if you are planning on doing a lot of driving like we did, keep filling up your tank as once you drive out of the towns there isn’t much around. The only minor niggle we had at the cabin were the pillow cases and sheets, they looked a bit worn and were not the most comfortable but definitely not a deal breaker. We took our own dressing gowns which came in really handy, not so much for the cabins hot pool but we visited a few natural hot pools and it is freezing when you get out! I think the previous review is slightly unfair as despite the cleaning dispute, a 1 out of 5 rating does not reflect the standard of the cabin. Robert leaves instructions on cleaning before you leave and it’s really not that difficult, we had no problems. We can’t wait to go back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot Pool and Location
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jhbh2014
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A lovely, clean and spacious cabin in a good area close to Selfoss (for groceries and places to eat) and the wonderful national park just a few minutes away. The cabin was set back from the road and away from other cabins so it was very quiet and very private. It was very well stocked with essentials such as oil and paper towels and pots and pans, even a teapot! Robert had provided very detailed maps and directions and instructions on everything we needed and it was very easy to book and pay online.
We would recommend this cabin to anyone looking for a quiet location yet central for many sights and attractions.
Julie and Brian. Washington, UK

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicolaJJ1...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful log cabin. Perfect location. Would highly recommend.”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a fantastic week in Iceland. Cedar log cabin was the perfect place to setup base camp.The cabin is beautiful, spacious and has all the necessary amenities. The hot tub was a great way to relax after a day of sight seeing and walking. The location was excellent - far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet but close enough to the local town. Northern lights overhead were fantastic.

The owners were very friendly and helpful.

We would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious living area.
Liked least: Drop off of linen at separate location.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph L
lurgan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is a really great place”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The Cedar Lodge is an ideal place to base your holiday, it is set in the most idyllic
setting you could wish for, its warm comfortable interior is what you need after a long
day visiting the natural wonders of Iceland.
highly recommended, with host Robert happy to help you if you should you need him.
GO THERE NOW!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Iceland
Liked least: leaving Iceland
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eforsslin...
Leighton Buzzard
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect holiday!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Great location for visiting all the attractions in the South, the Golden Circle and Reykjavik. The cabin is warm and cosy, with everything you could wish for in a holiday rental, super comfy beds, a good shower, and a really well equipped kitchen. It was perfect for our family of five, peaceful and quiet, and spacious enough for us all. The only slight inconvenience was the strength of wi-fi signal, which whilst being able to accommodate multiple iPods and iPads, was limited to the living room due to the location of the router (in the guest-house).
The views are superb and the cabin is conveniently situated for shopping in Selfoss. The owners are friendly and helpful, and seem to have considered every requirement for a successful holiday. We would totally recommend this cabin for a holiday in this area!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful design and location of house
Liked least: wi-fi
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing