We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (536)
Filter reviews
536 results
Traveller rating
187
236
91
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
236
91
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern hotel northern lights happy hour grass roof wake up call wet room minimalist design breakfast buffet corner room lake myvatn area waffles hotel sits waffle maker large windows arctic char tour group two nights
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 536 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

I’m sure Hotel Laxa broke new ground when it opened in 2014. It’s minimalist design did not compete with the surrounding beauty, and no other hotel in the area offered such a nice experience. Fast forward to 2018, however, and the competition has increased. When we booked our stay, Laxa was still rated #1 in the Myvatn area. By the time we arrived, the new Fosshotel had overtaken it, and rightfully so.

We spent 2 nights at Laxa, but ate dinner the second night at Fosshotel Myvatn. Not only was the service at Fosshotel far superior, but the menu was much broader and the food superior. (When a family of five consistently spends over $200 every night for dinner, it becomes an important part of the hotel experience.)

The common areas of the Fosshotel are much nicer also. They even have amenities like an air station for your vehicle. The rooms, however, are just as small as those at Laxa.

The staff at Hotel Laxa just felt amateurish compared to those at Fosshotel. I had emailed in advance regarding laundry service and was told they would inform us of a local service upon check-in. At check-in, however, they said there was nothing nearby. After checking my email again to ensure I wasn’t crazy, we found someone else who helped us. (It’s at the campground by Daddi’s Pizza.)

While we normally prefer to avoid chain hotels, the best choice in the area is definitely Fosshotel Myvatn.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank CrazyBoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

We stayed two nights at Hotel Laxá. On arrival, we were really impressed when we saw the minimalist all-black structure on a hilltop surrounded by a grassy meadow. It was beautiful, intriguing and inviting. The hotel is very spare in design terms, but has just a touch of luxury to it, due to the fine materials used throughout. I couldn't stop taking photos form every vantage point.

Our room was fairly large and the view from the window onto the meadow was like staring at a painting. The bed was comfortable and the “wet room” bathroom was rather large. Everything was spotlessly clean and quiet in the room. We spent a lot of our down time lounging around the bar because there are several nooks with comfy sofas in that area, and of course local beer on tap at the bar! Wifi was solid and reliable throughout.

On our first night we ate dinner at the hotel. Despite making a reservation, the dining room was full to overflowing (with a bus group I think) and we had to eat in a separate area adjacent to the bar. At first I was a little put off thinking we would be ignored, but in fact the service was attentive and much, much quieter than the crowded dining room. The food was very good, and there was a vegetarian option for each course. As for prices... even by Icelandic standards I found the restaurant to be expensive. The included breakfast was buffet style with a good selection.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jameskul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. It's situated away from the crowed and gives you a lot of privacy along with magnificent views. It's suitable for children and have all you need even for the youngest travelers. The hotel is a bit away from the lake if you want to walk around but if you have a car it's not a problem at all.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

We stayed at the Laxa for four nights and ate there twice.
The hotel prides itself of 'sustainability'. Well, I guess that depends on how you define sustainability and how much importance that has for you. Yes, it has a grass roof. Yes, lots of timber (imported) in the construction (in addition to concrete etc.).
The first disappointment was the room which was small and rather poorly appointed. Difficult to store the stuff you need when touring round for a fortnight. Or even somewhere to put a bottle of shampoo when you showered. UK readers will get the point if I compare it (very unfavourably) with a Premier Inn.
And Laxa certainly isn't a budget hotel!
We enquired about an upgrade and was shown a 'lake view' room, which seemed to be exactly the same as the 'mountain' view but with a slightly better view of the lake but a fine view of three huge black plastic septic tanks, apparently waiting to be installed. (One wonders how 'sustainable' is, what they are doing at present?). The upgrade alone would have cost more than a night in a Premier Inn anywhere outside London!
In fact the charming receptionist seemed a little surprised we had booked four nights (although there is plently to see and do round Lake Myvatn). But it became clearer that the lion's share of their business was accomodating people for one or occasionally two nights. In fact, when we arrived, there was a cruise ship in harbour in Akureyri and the dining room (which anyway had all the charm of a noisy airport departure lounge) was chock full of coaches full of people having lunch as part of one trip from the ship, then another load of coaches bringing people for afternoon tea for an alternative trip. Then, ship having sailed, there were coaches and mini-vans bringing people in for overnight.
None of that's a big problem, but I do think it tends to affect the quality of the stay of other guests. We ate there twice, not because we were thrilled by our first meal (OK, but we could have done without the loud 'background' music) but because it was quite a distance to drive to Vogafjos, where we had much nicer food in nicer surroundings for about the same (expensive!) cost.
As for breakfast? Well, the muesli was OK. Bread and so forth unexciting but acceptable. But the cooked bacon and scrambled egg etc. were awful. We found out why, when on the day we left to drive to Akureyri airport so went for breakfast at 07:00 when they opened, it was clear that both bacon and scrambled eggs seem to have been re-heated from the day before. The coffee provided in flasks tasted as if it had been stewed for a week! Yuk!
The staff were pleasant (if not always experienced) and the room was fairly quiet. But I can't imagine that there aren't better places to stay!

Room Tip: Choose one somewhere else.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 99Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Stayed for two nights in well-equipped modern room with very good facilities. The staff were excellent and it's a great place to explore the fantastic area - you need at least a day for that. Food was very good too.

Room Tip: All the rroms have large windows looking over the region. Don't open them because of the midges!
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank clive1813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews