We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
251
42
17
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
42
17
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake atitlan risotto master suite large shower large terrace steep driveway star service watching the sunset gorgeous views the hotel's restaurant the main hotel local textiles infinity pool guatemala city breakfast was delicious spa services charming hotel
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 324 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

This has been one of the most beautiful hotels I ever visited in Centro America, the Staff is nice and kind, you must booked a tour on a boat to visit at least 2 of the towns around the lake, Santiago and San Juan.
Do kayak in early morning!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaPalopo6_8, Manager at Casa Palopo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Guest:

We really appreciate your kind comments and are happy to know you enjoyed your stay and the tour boat across our beautiful lake Atitlan.

Have a nice day!

Cordially yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Where to begin?!?? This hotel was highly recommended to us by Saguzo Eventos, who coordinated a friend’s April wedding in Antigua. We decided to piggyback our own separate vacation on the backend of their Guatemalan destination wedding and we’re so glad we did!

We ate, we lounged, we swam, we read, we had in-room massages; we enjoyed ourselves so much that we did not leave the premise during our stay. Although that is a huge compliment to the property and its staff, failing to spend any time in the beautiful Santa Catarina Palopó was quite a mistake on our parts. Despite our disappointment in discovering the beauty of the town only as we exited for the airport, we have no regrets because we cannot say enough wonderful things about Casa Palopó.

We stayed in the more private Villa Palopó just above the main building. First of all, five stars alone just for the Dyson Super Sonic Hair Dryer (retail: $399 USD) in the bathroom of the Atitlán Suite. With a bulky cord, they are a pain to pack, so I never travel with mine, but its presence in the suite will speak to many women about the quality of Casa Palopó’s amenities. I have encountered some of the worst hairdryers in some of the most highly-rated hotels, so this was quite an unexpected bonus. The other amenities and details throughout the villa are well thought-out, from ample closets and drawers to luxurious yet cozy decor.

The boutique hotel downhill from the villa (both of which tout exceptional views of Lake Atitlán) is so adorable and — like the villa — has seemingly spared no expense down to the smallest touches. We dined in the beautiful onsite restaurant on our first night, with its gorgeously quaint indoor and outdoor seating, and then ordered food and drinks up to the villa for the remainder of our stay.

If only their were direct flights from NYC to Guatemala City and the helicopter airport transfer were more affordable (otherwise, prepare for a 3-4 hour drive to GUA, depending on traffic); we might return frequently. Regardless, we will return again. The private villa and the guest rooms in the main building of the boutique property would make for a beautiful milestone birthday party destination with family and close friends [just thinking out loud (smile)].

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaPalopo6_8, Manager at Casa Palopo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Katie

Thank you very much for your kind and specific comments about your house, Casa Palopó. We are delighted you enjoy everything during your say.

We will be waiting you and your friends in the near future so you can share this wonderful and magical experience at Lake ATitlan.

Again thank you !

Cordially yours,


Carmen Ochoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

The location up the hill above the lake is amazing - great views from your room and from the dining area. A nice pool - smallish but perfect for cooling off. Breakfast was delicious. Dinners were fancy - the cuisine is a little heavy for me. The lunch menu was actually our favorite because you could order small plates. If I stayed next time I might walk down to try dinner in Santa Catarina. The hotel arranged a boat ride to a few of the towns along the lake which was a lot of fun. We also tried kayaking (they own the kayaks) on the lake. Can you do a lot, or just relax!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaPalopo6_8, Manager at Casa Palopo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Dear Maria.

We are very happy to learn that you enyoy your stay at Casa Palopó and the beautiful views of Lake Atitlan and its majestic volcanoes.

Hope you can come back in the near future so you can visit Santa
Catarina Palopo , it is just 15 minute walk.

Cordially yours,


Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Incredible views...very nice hotel and restaurant....Incredible food.

Get the mussels and paste with a cream sauce, bacon and peas!

One of the best meals on the lake...and not cheap, but they do take credit cards.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaPalopo6_8, Manager at Casa Palopo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Dear Tony,

We are happy to know that you enjoyed mussels and pasta at our Resurante 6.8

Cordially yours,


Carmen Ochoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

Loved my stay. The staff went above and beyond - they have thought of everything for exploring the area including tuk tuks, boat guides and more. The food was excellent, the hotel was clean and the pools were beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Niki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaPalopo6_8, Manager at Casa Palopo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Dear Niki,

We glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Casa Palopo and we thank you very much for your kind and positive comments.

Cordially yours,


Carmen Ochoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews