We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An absolutely incredible week in paradise.”
Terrace in front of living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Terrace in front of living room
Exterior View of La Casa Colibri Heated plunge Pool with Sauna, Fireplace and Waterfall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Terrace in front of living room
Exterior View of La Casa Colibri
Heated plunge Pool with Sauna, Fireplace and Waterfall
Swimming pool at sunset..
Living Room
Dining Room at Sunset
Rooftop Hammock Deck
Rooftop Hammock Deck
Terrace in front of dining room
Bedroom #2
Bedroom #2 ensuite bathroom
View from bedroom #2 balcony
Bedroom #3 with ensuite bathroom
Bedroom #3 with double-sized sleeping loft
Bedroom #4 balcony
Bedroom #5 with ensuite bathroom
Outdoor living room/ Games Room
Outdoor living room/ Games Room
Outdoor living room/ Games Room
Entry area with Fountain
Entry
View from gardens
Poolside
As seen from gardens...
View outdoor living room/ Games Room
Hallway leading to bedrooms  #3 & 4
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Santa Catarina Palopo, Lake Atitlan, Solola Department, Western Highlands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
775laurie
Leawood, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An absolutely incredible week in paradise.”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The house and the views were absolutely stunning and very comfortable, but it was the staff who we were most impressed with. They took care of all of our needs, even more than expected, and the food was absolutely amazing. They made our stay very comfortable. I will definitely return to Casa Colibri, if at all possible. It truly was a week in paradise for myself and my grown kids and their spouses.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views and the beautiful rooms in the house!
Liked least: We really did need a driver most of the time to get anywhere but that certainly wasn't a problem as it was always arranged for us!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry G
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What I expected but offset by amazing views and excellent staff.”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The pros: Excellent location with amazing views. The staff members were wonderful in terms of their courtesy, their work (especially the meals so opt for the cook), attention to detail, and the overall maintenance and cleanliness of the home. David, the owner, was a delight and he was very responsive to our needs.
The cons: I have been traveling to Guatemala for over forty years and have extended family there since my wife is Guatemalan. That said, I knew what to expect. Guatemala has a tropical climate with its share of flies, mosquitos, and just bugs in general. The houses are of block construction so they can be humid and musty as was the case with a couple of rooms. That's just the way it is. Santa Catarina Polopo and Panajachel do not have a lot of charm as well as the cities on the lake. Big changes over forty years. One place to go is the restaurant, Ven Aca, which has a pool with swim up bar (take your swimming suit), and a nice view of the lake but to get there you should go by boat. Back to the house, be extremely careful with the driveway since it is very steep, slippery and somewhat treacherous with its sharp turns (about fifty yards from the street to the house.. Do not attempt it in a large vehicle or one with an extended wheel base Also be aware that three of the five rooms only have outside access so to get to the bottom two you have to descend over thirty steps. Finally, be careful with the water. There's some nasty stuff in it so take anti-diarrheal tablets with you preferably those with antibiotics..

Bottom line: Great vacation but be prepared and remember that Guatemala is a third-world nation so accept that and you'll be fine.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn C
1 review
“A piece of paradise”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The staff is reliable so you can relax and enjoy your private swimming pool, Ping-Pong or just read a book. I loved everything about my stay.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyla W
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
“Breath-taking lake-home with Guatemalan culture throughout”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This home was simply amazing. From the rooms, quality, cleanliness, views, food and staff. It was a very special place. Can't say enough good things about it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie C
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning, Safe and Delicious”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We brought a small group of women to Guatemala for an amazing trip, and Casa Colibri and it's staff greatly added to the 'amazing!' I felt safe, well-cared for, well fed (the food we arranged to have with our stay was delicious) and utterly enjoyed the gorgeous home and the stunning views of Lake Atitlan. This is a special place!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing