We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveller rating
361
15
2
3
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
361
15
2
3
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 389 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2019 via mobile

The resort is amazing, among beautiful nature, on top of the mountain, super views and big and comfortable suites, like small houses.
Service is beyond good and people very kind.
Food was excellent in all of the restaurants, pool area very relaxing . Highly recommend

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Fannygus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex B, Area Director of Sales & Marketing at Hacienda AltaGracia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2019

Hello Fannygus,

Thank you so much for the five-star rating and the great comments regarding your stay at Hacienda AltaGracia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2019

Incredibly disappointed with this property and the operator, Auberge Resorts. They cancelled our reservation 3-weeks before we were supposed to arrive and gave us no consideration. The cancellation was a business decision on their part due to a change in ownership, and because it was entirely within their control they should have compensated guests for ruined plans, plane tickets, etc. We had time off work scheduled, a babysitter scheduled to watch the kids for 5 days, and non-refundable international flights booked. They did not care it was a personal and financial burden on us, and only offered to refund the hotel stay (which took several weeks) or change the dates. They refused to do anything to compensate us for financial losses on flights etc due to their business decision.

The worst was that I only found out about this cancellation when I called them. A luxury resort operator that won't even bother to contact guests they are cancelling the reservation 3 weeks out? I can only assume this is indicative of the way Auberge Resorts treats their guests in all respects. Never again for me. They've lost a customer for life.

On a positive note, if you're in the area, check out Nayara Springs, Four Seasons or any of the other wonderful resorts in Costa Rica that actually seem to care.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Service
4  Thank acobble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex B, Area Director of Sales & Marketing at Hacienda AltaGracia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2019

Hello Acobble,

We are very sorry about the temporary closure as the hotel goes through an ownership transition. This happens from time to time in our industry and our biggest hope is to return to welcoming our guests as soon as possible.
I realize this does not make your experience any better, but hope for your understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2019

My advice - stay away from this resort until well after the ownership change and then see what reviews it gets. We have a reservation scheduled in September 2019 and have been unable to get a response to multiple emails and phone calls. We have some basic questions about activities and NO ONE has answered these very simple requests. They may be closed for the moment but should have people there is respond to future guests questions. We are VERY frustrated and are seriously considering cancelling our stay. It is ridiculous!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Kimwebb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex B, Area Director of Sales & Marketing at Hacienda AltaGracia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2019

Hello Kimwebb123,

We are very sorry about the temporary closure of the hotel due to an ownership transition. This happens from time to time in our industry and our biggest hope is to return to welcoming our guests as soon as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2019

Same situation as previously stated. Our family vacation was cancelled within two weeks of planned arrival. Had to find another place last minute as we already had our plane tickets. So disappointed in how the situation was handled. Refund request has been impossible.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank 4bys1grl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex B, Area Director of Sales & Marketing at Hacienda AltaGracia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2019

Hello 4bys1grl,

We are very sorry about the temporary closure as the hotel goes through an ownership transition. This happens from time to time in our industry and our biggest hope is to return to welcoming our guests as soon as possible.
All refunds have been finalized now but feel free to contact us via email at alg.reservations@aubergeresorts.com should you need anything else. I realize this does not make your experience any better, but hope for your understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2019 via mobile

We had planned our vacation around this place and were really excited based on the reviews, but alas, two weeks before we were about to leave (and too late to effectively change plans), they cancelled our reservations due to “ownership change”. How was this “ownership change” not anticipated months in advance? Of course, it almost certainly was anticipated but they decided to ride the cash flow from the deposits instead; customer service is apparently not a priority. For this tier/price point, it’s utterly unacceptable. To add, there has been no response from Auberge to try to compensate for the situation and refund is nowhere in sight.

This, unfortunately, should tell you everything you need to know about this resort and Auberge resorts in general. Beware.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Swissmister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex B, Area Director of Sales & Marketing at Hacienda AltaGracia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2019

Hello Swissmister,

We are very sorry about the temporary closure as the hotel goes through an ownership transition. This happens from time to time in our industry and our biggest hope is to return to welcoming our guests as soon as possible. All refunds have been finalized now but feel free to contact us via email at alg.reservations@aubergeresorts.com should you need anything else. I realize it does not make your experience any better, but hope for your understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews