We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
147
30
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
30
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews patan durbar square traditional house guest house is unesco courtyard architecture charm nepal home culture support
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2015

This is with great pleasure that I would recommend to stay in Newa Chen guesthouse, after the amazing few days I spent there last week. Location is perfect in the fantastic old town of Patan, rooms are really beautifully decorated, and hosts are very friendly. Breakfast is perfect... I hope i'll be able to come back soon !!

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank adeline268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2015

Staff were great. Room was very cosy, bed on floor but comfortable. Bring earplugs for street noise (think that is the entire Kathmandu suggestion). Breakfast was very good. Nice sitting/eating/reading area. Walking distance to everything in Patan. House is 350 years old! Would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Quinn1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2015

We loved Newa Chen. The staff were helpful and the hotel itself was beautiful. Our room was peaceful and comfortable. The nights were cold and it was lovely to have a hot water bottle brought up to warm us. Breakfast was unusual and good. The hotel was near to the Patan Durbar square. I would warmly recommend it.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Peckhampam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2015

Located in the historic Patan area, this historic building (400 years old) has been converted into a boutique hotel. It is a quiet oasis in the midst of the chaos of Kathmandu, with a courtyard garden. Fantastic breakfast and welcoming hosts. There is no lift but it is only 2 floors. Free (and good) WIFI......and cheap! Recommended!

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank hornyhombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2015

Just 3 minutes walk from Durbar Square, this charming little boutiquei hotel has been carefully an lovingly restored with the help of UNESCO. Lots of charm ands authenticity, pleasant and friendly staff, clean rooms, courtesy fruit and water.. The downside: no restaurant and inevitably very noisy. The good makes up for the bad.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Felicity L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews