We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
12
2
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
2
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2014 via mobile

Such a friendly welcoming atmosphere every minute of every day. It felt so much like a home, i guess because it is. You were so nice to us helping with everything from getting binoculars to see all the hippos across the street to giving us a ride into the city. Thanks for everything Panday and family!

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank hanne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2014

I had a fantastic stay at "Panday's Paradise" Guest House. Mr Panday (a honorable teacher, writer and a poet himself), his wife (a talented doll artist), Sadkchya (the "all in one" guest house manager and splendid advisor) and all their staff, are such a fantastic team of people willing to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible.
They give you that kind of special feeling of been at a relative's house not at a hotel. They have only two rooms available at their guest house, but, both of them are very large, clean and suitable for all your needs.
I've been staying at both and (personally) I did prefer the upstairs "deluxe room" - it is so nice, with a king size bed, and plus you can use the connected room, a small "smart" room, with a large balcony giving face to a beautiful garden surrounded by flowers, orange, guava and avocado trees.
I also reccomend "Panday's Paradise" for anyone who wants to experience a different area of Kathmandu. The guest house is located in Jawlakhel, Lalitpur district, which is about 15 min to Thamel area by car. The Guest House also provides a shuttle service which can take you to Thamel and pick you back at specific times of the day/evening.
I wish all the luck and success to Mr. Panday and all the good people I met at his guest house.
With all what I said, I can only highly reccomend it!

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Panday's Paradise is a small, guest house in an excellent location in Patan.

This was my third visit to Patan, staying in different accommodation and Panday's Paradise was the most homely and friendly and also from a practical point of view, the best accommodation and location.

The rooms are large and clean, free wifi available in the room and importantly, a reliable generator which coped with load shedding perfectly. The bathroom is also clean and well equipped. The hot water was a little slow to come through, but this would be the only criticism of the whole facilities and guest house. There is a nice reception area with many interesting books (a reflection of Ram Kumar Panday's colourful life) and a lovely, tranquil garden. The food was very good. Breakfasts were a mixture of omelette, toast, cheese and fruit with ample tea or coffee. They had just completed making a rooftop area for eating, and I was honoured to be the first guest to eat on the rooftop; a very tasty Nepali lunch.

The location was excellent for my purposes, being about 20 minutes walk to Patan hospital and the same to the main restaurants and Patan Durbar Square. Despite being fairly central, it was quiet and I was still able to feel safe when returning in the evenings in the dark.

The last word must be reserved for the Mr Panday's family and staff. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. There were many occasions when I had a specific requirement and on each occasion, the staff were more than happy to help. Mrs Panday made me an evening meal at short notice when the rain became too heavy to go out, they gave me a different breakfast when I was not feeling well and were happy to pick up my work colleague on our way back to the airport.

So to summarise, lovely accommodation, good location and friendly, helpful staff, all at very reasonable prices. I would certainly stay here is future and would recommend anyone staying in Patan to do the same.

Many thanks to everyone for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: There only are two rooms currently and although I stayed in the delux room, I am sure that both rooms would be satisfactory.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Malijedan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I booked my two-night stay the late evening before arriving at Patan. Even though it was very last minute, a pleasant welcome email arrived promptly the very next morning, offering pick-up service for me to get to the guesthouse stress-free. They picked me up at where I wanted (Thamel Chowk), and about half an hour later we arrived at Panday's Paradise.

The guesthouse is situated at a wonderful location - a nice walking distance away from the bustling Durbar Square so that you could both easily explore the city on foot and enjoy some peaceful and quiet time.

The moment I stepped into Panday's Paradise I knew I had made a wise choice. It's got a charming garden with chirping birds, blooming flowers, exotic herbs, and lots and lots of fruit trees, including guavas, plums, pears, pomegranates, oranges, etc.

After marveling at the garden, I was led to my room. It was spotless (from a neat freak's standard), spacious, relaxing, and elegantly decorated. There were lots of windows so that there was plenty of sunshine in the room, and that you wouldn't feel the need to turn on the fan. From browsing around the room, you could tell that the host is very detail-oriented and strives to ensure a comfortable stay for the guests. The room has a water boiler, tea bags, a portable heater, and even some board games. The ensuite bathroom is clean and well stocked with fresh towels and basic toiletry items. Most importantly, there was hot shower at any time of the day!!!!!!! (If you've been traveling around Nepal, you'd know how luxurious that is!) Moreover, even though there was on average a 12-hour electricity cut everyday, the room had lights and a working socket which you could charge your devices any time. The Wifi signal was fast and stable and accessible right in the comfort of your room. The breakfast is thoughtfully prepared - coffee/tea, toasts, cheese, eggs, sweets, and fresh fruits.

How can I talk about Panday's Paradise without mentioning the lovely people working there. It is a family-run guesthouse, and the host, Ram Kumar Panday is a very warm and knowledgeable gentleman. Not only is he a great gardener, he is also a poet and a painter, and has published many books and poetry. His wife is also a lovely lady, who kindly invited me to join the family for lunch and dinner on the day I arrived, since it was the day the driver of the guesthouse celebrated for his 6-month-old son the first time he ate rice. The Nepali dal bhat I had was extremely tasty, and some of the ingredients actually came directly from the garden!

During my stay here, Ram's son, Tethys, happened to be in town from Norway too, and he kindly offered to show me around different sights. He was indeed the best guide one could hope for. Not only did he explain to me stories of different Hindu Deities, he also showed me some great restaurants in town that not only offered delicious food but also a spectacular view. Strolling down the ancient streets of Bungamati and soaking up the serene local vibe was one of the fondest memories I had on the trip.

The staff working here are all extremely helpful and genuinely welcoming. You can tell that they really enjoy working here, which says a lot about the nature and the management of the guesthouse as well.

Overall, I feel blessed to have stayed at Panday's Paradise. Without them, my trip would not have been as unique and as memorable. I will sure come back to Panday's Paradise next time I'm visiting Nepal - it's truly a home away from home.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanderlust_cee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews