We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
A beautifully renovated Newari House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A beautifully renovated Newari House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
A beautifully renovated Newari House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Patan (Lalitpur), Kathmandu Valley, Bagmati Zone, Central Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Japanese first
Any
English first
dempsey46
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 24 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Yamba Traditional Home encapsulates all the very best attributes of Kathmandu - the history, mystery, style, warmth and friendliness. It is set in a restored and renovated 100 year old plus traditional Newari multi-story home. The style, warmth and friendliness are supplied in abundance by the wonderful, host family who take you in and wrap you up in the sincere generosity of their welcome. The history comes from Yamba’s restoration and setting down a warren of mystical, magical, red-bricked and be-shrined streets where life exists in all its states and the mystery lies in where exactly will Yamba’s stairs end!!!?? The sky? The stairs snake up through the historic, interior of the building with a reward at the summit in the terrace breakfast (yummy, traditional, Newari food is proffered and I loved the cumin infused fried eggs ) room with profound views over Patan. Initially, we stayed in Yamba Traditional Home for two nights before heading off for three days to explore other parts of Nepal. After which, and on our return to Yamba the night before our flight, my friend commented that she was “home.” Yamba felt very much our “home" in Nepal. The facts are that the showers were powerful with constant hot water, the rooms, in traditional style were secure and comfy and the beds, sleep inducing. However, the attributes that set Yamba apart from other hotels such as homeliness are derived from the interaction with the host family: from Pradeep’s stories and how the Dad disappears every evening to feed a dog across the city, to beautiful, jocular Mamou and her warm, contagious laugh. I loved every minute of my stay there.

We must give special thanks and mention to Pradeep. He is quite simply “the host with the most.” From the moment, he collected us at the airport to our departure, he couldn’t do enough, he always went the extra mile, nothing was too difficult, and everything was there on demand. He provided every service, from securing taxi services, laundry, take-away food and a river of tea! Everything was done quietly and efficiently and was done from the heart. I loved our chats as he is so erudite and knowledgeable on a myriad of subjects, history, politics, economics and “the As to Zs” of Kathmandu life. His recommendations are to be heeded! The guy is a genius! It took me a few days to write this as I was and remain scared that my paltry words wouldn’t honor Pradeep and all at Yamba Traditional Home enough. My friend and I, left them and Kathmandu to return to our normalish lives, addicted to “namaste,” warm, sincere smiles and copious amounts of Nepali tea, refreshed, invigorated and imbued with the knowledge that we will never, ever stay in a “Chain Hotel” ever again. And when we return to Nepal, which we will inevitably do, we will stay at Yamba Traditional Home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2017
Thanks a lot.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bbaum1
Broomfield, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Guesthouse and Family”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Wow! We had an absolutely amazing experience at Yamba Traditional Home. Pradeep and his family are incredibly hospitable and go out of their way to ensure your comfort and that all your needs are met. The Guesthouse is new, clean, and beautiful with modern touches (i.e. great mattress, hot shower, and the best WiFi in our 30 days in nepal by far) mixed with stunning traditional architecture. Breakfast was homemade, substantial in size, and absolutely delicious, plus they had real coffee! The location is within a short walk to the Patan Durbar Square but you feel like you're in a truly local area away from the tourist crowds. After staying here, we now understand why the reviews have been so extraordinary. If we could give 6 stars we would. Thank you Pradeep and your family for the great conversations and an absolutely memorable stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2017
Thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanh P
2 reviews
“Our best stay in Nepal, period”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The traditional home BnB was stunning and well-kept with pride. The owner Pradeep was just about the best host you can ask for. Breakfast on the rooftop was really nice. Stay here and take a break from the craziness of Thamel, or just stay here for your whole trip period. It is a great deal for the price as, have I mentioned? The place is stunning!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2017
Thanks a lot
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snaishida
1 review
“泊まってよかった!”
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

​ちょっと見つけにくい場所だけど宿泊してきたホテルの中で一番キレイで、居心地が良くて、日本語(再)勉強中の主人がとても優しかったです。奥さんの手料理も頂けました。日本人も是非。

A little bit difficult location to find, but the cleanest and the most comfortable hotel ever among I have visited in Nepal. The owner is full of kindness and I could even taste a plate of Nepali homemade dish cooked by his wife. He is (re-)studying Japanese and I recommend here for all visitors including Japanese.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2017
Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al3xamsa
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, elegant home in Patan”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We spent two days in Yamba Traditional Home at the end of our trek in Nepal. The house is beautiful, decorated with style and perfectly furnished. It was a great choice and we fully recommend it to anyone who wants to see a typical house from this region while enjoying a well deserved rest in a comfortable bed. However, what really made the difference was the warmth of the owner and of his family. They were always there for us with a smile and we spent a lovely time chatting on the small, lovely, rooftop terrace . They did their best to make our stay a perfect one and even surprised us with breakfast in the room, after having noticed our very sore feet from the trek. Definitely recommend Yamba!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2017
Thanks a lot. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing