We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect location for us overlooking Lake...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Merrell

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
San Pedro La Laguna, Lake Atitlan, Solola Department, Western Highlands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Mitch S
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The perfect location for us overlooking Lake Atitlan, San Pedro La Laguna”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were more than pleased with our stay at Casa Merrell, and recommend it for anyone that plans on spending some time in San Pedro la Laguna, particularly if you will be there a week or longer. We stayed three weeks.

GETTING THERE

Unfortunately we took the hard way, when it was so easy (don't drive all the way unless you are with a tour operator). If you are coming in from Guatemala City, take a shuttle or bus to Antigua. From there take a shuttle/bus to Panachel and pick up a water taxi to San Pedro la Laguna. As you get off the ferry grab a Tuk Tuk and they will take you there.

LOCATION

The home is at the top of the hill overlooking town and the lake. Walking into town is about ten minutes downhill. If you walk back the steep hill will take you twenty mins, but you will lose weight. A tuk tuk gets you there in five mins for $10 Q, which is about $1.50. We preferred this to being right on the water, as it gets you away from the crowds and noise at the foot of the hill.

THE CASA

The building is of solid concrete block construction, tastefully painted and decorated, with quality furniture and an immaculately kept garden out front. There are two hammock chairs right on the front porch. There are three levels: the bottom with the main kitchen and an adjoining bedroom that sleeps four, with a bathroom and shower with hot water.

The second floor has a separate apartment that sleeps at least four, so if you have a large group of people they can easily fit in the home. You can check with Cliff to see if one or the other will be rented while you are there.

The top level is a rooftop terrace that the owner has taken special care with. There is a large hand crafted bar, tablets and chairs, and a built in counter out front for sitting and admiring the view over dinner or drinks. And the view will blow you away.

There are two TVs (99 channels) on the lower level, though we just used our iPads. WIFI is fastest in the morning, but you can access it all day, and I watched Netflix or Youtube at night.

The kitchen has a modern ceramic stove top that heats up fast as lightning. All of the plates and pans and pots you need are there. There is a cistern for the blue large containers of water, though we preferred to use gallon jugs kept cold in the fridge for drinking. We washed our dishes (heated on stove) and rinsed our tooth brushes using the tap water, and had no issues you often find in Central America.There is a tub for washing clothes at the side of the house, and a clothesline on the rooftop for quick drying.

OTHER INFO

We ate 90 % of our meals at home, shopping daily at the market in town, and ate for less than five dollars a day. When we did go out, every restaurant we tried was excellent, and for the most part inexpensive, walking away with dinner for two, and two or three drinks for 100-140 Q. Lots of coffee shops and ALL of it is superb.

The action is right down at the water from running pretty much the full length of town.You can get anywhere on the lake cheaply by water taxi.

From our review of other facilities, Casa Merrell is one of the better facilities in town, with many of the comforts you often have to do without when travelling the backroads of Central America.

We will stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of Lake Atitlan from the roof top terrace was simply spectacular.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2016
Mitch,
Thank you guys so much for such a great review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Casa Merrell. It is always a plus when your guests love your house as much as you do, and treat the home as well as you guys did. Our goal is to have our guests experience the local culture, but still have the comforts of home during their stay. We are always working on making our home better. We will be back in San Pedro in a couple weeks (for the whole summer) and plan on doing many more improvements for our guest’s enjoyment. For example we are installing a fire pit, a propane grill, sitting area on the other side of the home, and much more! Thanks again for treating our home with such great respect, and we can’t wait to have you stay again. Happy travels!

Cliff & Susie Merrell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Micah C
Gulfport, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big, gorgeous home, very safe and incredible view”
Reviewed 19 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This gorgeous home in San Pedro overlooks the city and provides quick access to shops/restaurants/boats via a short 5-10 minute walk. The walk up to the home can be a workout (the road is steep) so if you aren't up for it you can always get a tuk-tuk on the way back up. The keeper of the home and landscaper were both extremely friendly and helpful. The view of Indian Nose Mountain, el lago, and the volcanoes is absolutely spectacular on the deck above the home and as far as amenities, we never felt like we were missing anything! I look forward to coming back, thanks again and cheers!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen was very spacious and we had plenty of room for everyone to sit and eat
Liked least: No complaints!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
Micah,
Thank you very much. You are welcome back anytime! They just finished both the bars on the terrace, so you will love it even more on your next visit. We cant wait to have you again!
-Cliff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex T
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely most beautiful and reasonable casa in San Pedro”
Reviewed 7 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I spend a lot of time in lago de atitlan San Pedro and I have never had a better value in this area this this place. As soon as you walk in you will be blown away by all of the wonderful colors popping out at you. The landscaping is spectacular and extremely well manicured. The home itself was very comfortable and tastefully decorated with everything that we needed during our stay, even TV in every room. Also, the wifi connection was great, this was important for us to stay in touch. But, my favorite part about the whole place was the top floor roof deck. Goodness!!! The view is absolutely incredible. waking up and laying out in my hammock upstairs with a cup of coffee was like no other sunset I have ever seen over looking the whole town and volcanos. You couldn't ask for a better person to rent from. Cliff was always extremely fast with his responses and treated all of us guys great. He also has a great heart for the community and gives back which was a huge plus for all of us. I will definitely be staying here every time I return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Roof top lounge area.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for all your kind words. We couldnt have asked for better guests, and it is always a plus when the guest loves your house as much as you do!! You are all welcome back anytime, we cant wait to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert R
Yukon, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful House, View, and Garden”
Reviewed 7 March 2016 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My Spanish teacher Ruth Reyes, her husband, her kids and I spent 3 days in San Pedro and used Casa Merrell as our base. The house decor is beautiful. The front yard landscaping is beautiful, and the view of the lake from the 3rd floor terrace was awesome. One evening we ate dinner on the terrace. Afterward, we sat and watched the sunset while we drank mescal.

The kitchen has everything one needs to prepare meals there or one can walk downhill and eat at one of the many restaurants in San Pedro.

One tip: The place is very secure. It is surrounded by high walls. BE SURE you don't lock the keys to the front gate in the house. If you do you will need to call the local caretaker to let you out :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of the lake and the decor of the house.
Liked least: I can't think of anything I didn't like
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2016
Thank you so much Robert and we would love to have you guys back anytime!! You guys were great!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eloraguy
Elora, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed 5 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

House is as described. Beautifuls views from the roof. Good kitchen with utensils, beds and blankets are good. Tv with 2 english channels(all we found) quite adequate. Very secure property. Short walk to downtown.We took tuk tuks back up the hills for 75 cent for both. San Pedro I think is the best town for long term. Lots of good bars and restaurants.Would and already have recommended this house to others.The owner will take care of any problems that arise very quickly. Don't hesitate to book this house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: was great value and well equiped
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2016
Thank you and it was a pleasure to have you as guests! Please come back anytime. We are constantly trying to improve and will do our best to make your next stay even better!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing