We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
195
17
5
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
195
17
5
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vegan food couples massage balinese style tofu yoga retreat jade spa our honeymoon dragonfly suite raw chocolate costa rica daily yoga fresh fruit drinks juice cleanse recommend renting a car healthy lifestyle delicious vegan body and soul
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2018

My stay was Waterfall Villas was one of the most unique experiences I’ve ever had. It was a beautiful place with endless amounts of nature, hikes and “calm” surrounding it. The rooms were beautifully and tastefully decorated. The porch overlooking the waterfall stream was my favorite part of the room! (Oh and the bed was extremely comfortable too).

The best part for me was the food: they fully customized the food to my needs (And that's no simple task: I don’t eat meat, dairy, potatoes, white flour, sugar, bananas, among other things). The daily creations that came out of that kitchen were incredible. It was the first time in years that I could actually eat the meals that were being served at my ‘hotel’. On the days that I left early in the omring, they packed me breakfast (fruit) in a container to take with me, which was really great. Every dinner was like an art show, between the presentation of the food, and the flavors, it was the best thing to come home to after a long day out and about!
Overall, it was an amazing place where you can reflect, disconnect (there’s no WiFi), force yourself to just be you, and be in nature. There is so much to see in the area and on the grounds of the villas. There are short hikes up to the top of the waterfall where you have an unbelievable bird's eye view of the nearby river and the entire valley. I went up there a few times to just sit and be alone. There’s also a scenic hike/path down to the bottom of the waterfall, with a few decks on the way down. I had my 1 our massage on one of those decks, over the waterfall. And it was maybe the best hour I’ve had in a LONG time :).

Most of the staff did not speak English, so I found it hard to communicate when I wanted to know what was in my food - or if I needed something (which was actually rare that I needed anything). But nevertheless, the staff were extremely pleasant and tried to do whatever they could to please me, despite not understanding me. (And once I was able to get cell service in town, I downloaded Google Translate, which made it MUCH easier :) ).
I really enjoyed the intimate vibe at Waterfall VIllas (it was just me and another woman during the week I was there). It was extremely quiet, which is something you should know going into it - but I for one enjoyed that experience. It was peaceful, inspirational and beautiful.

Fatah, the owner, was very helpful in setting up my day excursions to neighboring places and National Parks. She gave great suggestions and made sure to arrange those logistics for me. I appreciated that Fatah herself, or her assistant made sure to be there at dinner time to check-in with us, discuss the logistics for the plan the next day, help translate, and just sit and chat. It was really a rare experience. One that I absolutely hope to have again.

Thank you to Fatah, her assistant, the two wonderful cooks, the security guards and the rest of the staff for making my trip such a pleasant and unforgettable experience.
Hope to see you soon! Pura VIda!

Regards,
Tehila

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank TehilaReuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

We came to The Villas late February to get married. Staff of the hotel, manager (Chris), and the owner, Fateh, were more than accommodating and helpful with anything we needed: calling taxis, food choices, changes to the schedule, etc. The wedding itself was organised very well and all of our wishes were taken into account and executed perfectly.
The place is located in jungles but it is only ~10 minutes drive to Dominical - you get benefits of both wild and civilized life. Renting a car is recommended as taxis there are overpriced IMHO.
Rooms were excellent - with a view of a little river, the sound of which overlaps with sounds of waterfalls located on the property.
Overall, an amazing experience and I would highly recommend Waterfall Villas to anyone whether it is a wedding, yoga retreat, or anything else they have to offer.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Aramil_Amast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

We arrived around 4 pm after driving from the airport in San Jose'. Chris, the manager, greeted us with a smoothie and took our bags to the room. We had the Jade Suite with a hot tub on the balcony. The whole area was filled with the sound of the waterfalls, frogs and various creatures. We were in the jungle but only minutes from town.
We signed up for the Wild About Wildlife and it was spectacular. This included all meals. Ours were prepared a little differently because of our dietary restrictions (beyond vegan). Whoever said you can get the same meal in Dominical is wrong. These meals are higher quality and more thought goes into them.
We will be returning to Waterfalls Villas many times. The people we met were wonderful and open minded, and the owner, Fateh, was fabulous and made every effort to meet our needs and those of the other patrons.

Two things to be aware of: some of the rooms are close enough so folks in the other room can be heard. Also, I would recommend renting a car. You will have the chance to explore on your own, especially if you don't buy a package with activities included.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank italiangirl2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

My new husband and I loved this place! It is quiet, surrounded by thick greenery and a creek (? runoff from waterfall? - not sure what to call it). Chris, the manager, was an amazing resource for helping us get taxis (which we needed to get anywhere since we didn't rent a car), and whatever else we wanted. He was fast, funny, and accommodating. The meals we had were delicious and healthy - we loved the fresh juices too. And considering that it is right in the middle of a tropical rainforest, I was pleasantly surprised about the mosquito/other annoying bug level - I was safe as long as I used a bug repelling sunscreen. The room was clean and bright, and the air conditioner felt like magic after a long day in the sun. FYI - we had to pay about $200 each way to get there via personal driver, which makes sense because it's very far away from the San Jose airport.

Room tip: The honeymoon suite is bigger and has an enormous bathtub, but we actually preferred the Goddess suite because it was brighter.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisamulligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

I stayed at the Waterfall Villas for a week at the end of my 3 week trip to Costa Rica. It was an amazing experience for my mind, body and soul. The property is very beautiful and serene and is set in the rain forest with a small private waterfall. The rooms are rustic luxurious with fine touches and impeccable details. You can stay at the property and use it as just a hotel or you can do a wellness package. I highly recommend doing a wellness package with meals included and some treatments. I did a juice cleanse and vegan food the rest of the time. The food was beautifully presented and delicious! I didn’t even miss meat or eggs and that was my staple diet before I arrived. I also did the divine straightening treatment, soul retrieval and reiki and daily Yoga. All great in their own way. Fateh the owner is amazing and very hands on during your visit and so is her staff. They are very accommodating and make you feel like you are staying at someone’s house vs a hotel. I would definitely recommend a car during your stay because besides relaxing at the property, there is not much else to do. In the area the waterfalls are amazing and there are 3 beaches anywhere from 3-20 miles. I highly recommend this property on your next stay to Dominical. It was just what I needed to jumpstart my healthy lifestyle plan.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank sj9400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews