We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
ZenHotels.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 8 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
261
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
261
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews short walk to the beach amazing owners two daughters grounds are lovely every morning perfect place to stay location is great our trip to costa rica rental car max barbara hosts kitchenette surfers paradise toucans
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2021

The family that runs Mavi Surf Hotel is adorable. Barbara and Max and their girls are so warm and welcoming - they are integral to the experience. We stayed at Mavi for a week as a group of friends to go to surf camp and we loved it without measure. It was immaculate, beautiful, well-kept, perfect pool, very nice beds, nice linens, great location, fantastic breakfasts... we felt so at home and relaxed. Max was always ready with a beer post -surfing, but it is not a party scene. I want to bring my family (with older teens) back here for sure to enjoy this place, the surfing, and the sweet town of Dominical.

Room tip: All the rooms are great.
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelfamks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimiliano Peri, Owner at MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2021

Good afternoon Ladies and ... GentleLadies!!!
It is really an honor and a pleasure reading from you!
As it was an honor and a pleasure having you all here for your SurfCamp in Costa Rica!
We want to thank you very much for taking the time to review MAVI on TripAdvisor, for the excellent rating and for the very kind words.
With no obligation at all on your side, if and whenever any of you can organize to jump back again in Dominical (with or without families) we will be super glad to welcome you here again!
All and only the very best from all of us to all of you and your families!
Pura Vida and
... see you "soon"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2021

The hotel MAVI is immaculate and the owners, Barbara and Max, have carved out a little piece of paradise on the out-skirts o Dominical. The rooms are comfortable with AC and a tiny kitchenette with a Fridge to keep your beers cold ! The breakfasts are delicious and the service is impeccable.

The owners are very friendly, caring and accommodating making your stay here a very pleasant one. The hotel is a few minutes walk to the beach and town.

This place is amazing !!!

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rosalie82015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimiliano Peri, Owner at MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2021

Good afternoon Rosalieee!!! (and Alex),
It is great to hear from you!
We hope that the continuation of your trip has been as lean and hassle free as possible (and that bureaucracies in San Jose have been limited to what strictly necessary ... we apologize again for the inconvenience!).
It was really our honor and pleasure having you here (and be part of Alex "one in a kind" birthday).
We want to thank you very much for taking the time to review MAVI on TripAdvisor, for the excellent rating, and for the very kind words.
With no obligation at all on your side, if within one of your incursions into the Land of Solo Bueno you have some spare time to visit the South Pacific, you know you have a place where you are super-super welcome!
And ... in case other Hotels take the time to read TripAdvisor reviews, ... these guests are amazing!!!
All and only the very best from all of us to both of you!
(P.S.: For Alex: waves are getting bigger and a huge swell is foreseen for the 21st!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2021

We stayed at the Mavi Surf Hotel for 10 nights and could not have been more happy with our stay. The hotel itself is SPOTLESS and well designed, with each room having plenty of space both inside and outside on the private balcony overlooking the pool. The grounds are lovely, the included breakfast fantastic (especially the home made pancakes!). The hotel is owned and run by the kindest, most helpful Italian family. Barbara and Max and two daughters became like family. Can't wait to visit them again! Conveniently located a block from the beach and far enough from town to not hear the bar noise, but close enough to walk where you need to go. Go stay there!

Room tip: All rooms are exactly the same and all great!
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank horsegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimiliano Peri, Owner at MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2021

Good afternoon Great Couple!
And thank you very much for taking the time to review MAVI on TripAdvisor, for the excellent rating, and for the very kind words!
(And thanks Costa Rica Dive and Surf for the suggestion!)
It was our honor and pleasure having you here and (with no obligation at all on your side) we hope we will have the occasion to welcome you back at your best convenience!
All and only the very best from all of us to all of you!
Take care!
(P.S.: Scott, today I went to the Point; it was hhhuuuge and I caught one wave that ... she seemed TWO!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2021

This is an absolute first rate hotel. Barbara and Max and their daughters make you feel like you are honoured members of their family. Penny, their cat, is an affectionate addition. Lovely air conditioned rooms and a spotless pool offer respite from the heat of the day. Breakfasts are delicious and healthy and the local coffee is to die for. Barbara helped arrange tours of the local area and all her recommendations were dead on. The surfing is fantastic and if you are a beginner, lessons are definitely worth it. You are a short walk to the beach. Had an incredible time. I can't say enough about this place! If you have the opportunity, then go! You won't regret it.
(Note: We were there in March 2020 just before the pandemic broke out so feedback on Covid related items are not applicable.)

Room tip: All rooms are great.
Date of stay: April 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RealFoodForAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimiliano Peri, Owner at MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2021

Good afternoon Anthony!
And thank you very much for taking the time to review MAVI on TripAdvisor, for the excellent rating and for the very nice words.
But - even much more than this - thank you very very much for the beautiful guests that you have been in such bizarre moments for us (just before the pandemic, our Italian families were already sending us clear warning signals!), and that you have continued to be with "plain" mail follow up ... just to touch base and check how we were and are doing (these meant a huge lot to us!).
It was our honor and pleasure having you all here!
... we cannot say enough about these families of guests!
(with no obligation at all on your side) if you have the opportunity, then come down! We will for sure enjoy it! (and we hope you too!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2021

My fiance and I stayed a week at the Mavi Surf Hotel and it was a wonderful experience. Max, Barbara, and their two lovely daughters made us feel as if we were staying with family rather than a hotel. They are thoughtful and kind people and our conversations were some of the highlights of our trip. Their cat Penny would even come up to our deck and visit us in the evenings!

Our room was perfect. After surfing in the morning or walking around town in the heat, is was so nice to go back to the room and cool off in the AC or take a nap on the hammock in the shade. The entire hotel including the open-air dining area and the pool is kept extremely clean.

Lastly, the breakfast that is included in your stay is one of the best parts of the hotel. It is fresh, healthy and so filling. Most mornings we couldn't even finish all the food that they brought out for us. I will be dreaming of the bowl of fruit they would bring us every morning for months!

Max and Barbara, thank you so much for the hospitality. We had a wonderful time and will always think of you when we remember our trip to Costa Rica!

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginamariestraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimiliano Peri, Owner at MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2021

Ginaaa!!! (and David!)
How are you beautiful people?!
It is great to read from you.
We want to firstly thank you very very much for taking the time to review MAVI on T.A., for the excellent rating, and for the very kind words.
It was our honor and pleasure having you here, and ... you are right ... you were with our family, not the Hotel!
(well, this said, ... Penny should not bother guests by their rooms and ... she should know)
We want to sincerely wish you all and only the very best for your future Projects: ... remember not to forget to "bring something new at the table" each and every day (... it is not easy, but long term it tends to pay).
If and whenever you may have the opportunity to jump back into the South Pacific of Costa Rica, you already know you have a place where you can feel "at home". Otherwise, for sure on our side, we will be glad and honored to be in your memories!
All the very best from all of us
Massimiliano, Barbara, Margherita, Viola, and ... Pennelope!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews