We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
221
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yogurt italian couple healthy breakfast short walk down the road place to stay amazing family costa rica great hosts beautiful hotel friendly hotel lots of fresh fruit large bed amazing owners family stay refreshing pool rooms are great loved our stay
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2018

This is the second time we stayed at the Mavi Surf. Barbara and Max are the most
wonderful people. They helped us with the Rental car and anything we needed.The Hotel is great, rooms are very nice and clean. Staff is very friendly. Mavi Surf is in walking
distance to the downtown area, Shops restaurants . For Surfers ease walk to the great
Waves. We will be back because we love the place . Aufwiedersehen Barbara and Max.

Room tip: rooms are all great.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ursula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R, Owner at MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2018

Ursula (& Peter!)!
It is great hearing back from you!
We want thank you very very much for taking the time to review MAVI on TripAdvisor, for the excellent rating, and the very nice words!
Your organic herbal teas have been faithful companions during our family vacation into the North of the Country: thank you very very much for the kind thought!
Before coming back "home", we drove through San Jose' and the girls had the opportunity to do some "good old shopping" (also thanks to your generosity!).
We are now "back to usual" after a couple of weeks characterized by heavy rains, and the season is slowly but surely starting to pick up.
With no obligation at all on your side, whenever you have the occasion to jump back around Dominical,you know you have a place where you are super super welcome.
All the very best from all of us to all of you (including Heidi and Peter jr., that we had the pleasure to know through your lovely words: very lucky kids, having such beautiful parents!).
Arrivederci Ursula and Peter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

If anyone travels to Dominical you must stay at the Mavi Surf. Cleanest, neatest little Hotel I have ever stayed at. The owners are very friendly and their staff very willing to share Costa Rican experiences and places to see, I must say, especially Daniella, who admits she loves to talk. Such a fun loving gal. Very homey and friendly atmosphere. The fresh fruit and mini banana, cinnamon pancakes were too die for. A great restful experience.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimiliano P, Owner at MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Good afternoon Gerald!
it is really great to hear back from you!
We all (well, ... maybe Daniela first) want to thank you all very much for taking the time to review our place on TripAdvisor, for the excellent rating, and for the very nice words.
With no obligation at all on your side, if and whenever you have the occasion to jump back into the Soth Pacific of Costa Rica, you know you have a place where you are super welcome!
All the very best, and
Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

This place does not look like it needs another Perfect score review :D! We stayed a week and had an absolutely the best time ever! Barbara and Max are the kindest and warmest people you will meet and their girls are precious. It was clean, close to town, close to beach, pool was amazing! Oh, breakfast, something to really look forward to in the morning! This is a place you will be so glad you stayed at ... and I bet you will keep going back! Full of love and adventure!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Colorsoflove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R, Owner at MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Thank you very very much for the excellent review and the very nice words!
Maybe you are right to say that the place "in itself" does not seem to need another perfect review (although ... you never know!), but - I can assure - these reviews are of paramount importance for the Team (and I do not mean just Barbara and Max) that works at MAVI every day: it is for us another way to thank the members for their commitment and professionalism.
Therefore, ... thank you very very much again for taking the time to review MAVI on Tripadvisor!
It was our honor and pleasure having you here, and it is our honor and pleasure reading that you enjoyed the place and the stay.
With no obligation at all on your side, whenever you have the occasion to jump back into the South Pacific of Costa Rica, you know you have a place where you are super super welcome!
All the very best and
Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

My wife and I stayed at the Mavi for our honeymoon. We were attending Dominical Surf Camp and this was one of the options for lodging. We are really glad we chose the Mavi! The owners Max and Barbara were great hosts. They live there on the property and pay close attention to every detail. The property is extremely well kept and very safe. The property is a short walk to the beach and everything in Dominical. Max and Barbara were around if we needed anything but also laid low so we could have our private time. We really enjoyed getting to know them during our week long stay. We enjoyed many discussions about Costa Rica, the locals, and surfing. They also had great suggestions on things to do and places to eat. We would definitely stay there again! The pictures of the property are great but they do not do it justice... go see for yourself. It's the best place to stay!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimiliano P, Owner at MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Good afternoon beautiful just-wed couple!
It is a real honor and pleasure hearing back from you!
We want to thank you very much for the excellent review and the very kind words!
And we also want to thank Debbie at Dominical Surf Camp for bringing in such beautiful guests!
With no obligation at all on your side, you know you have a place in the South Pacific of Costa Rica where you will always be super welcome!
All the best for all of your professional and personal Projects!
Pura VIda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

MAVI Surf Hotel is a great spot for a family stay in Dominical. The Italian couple is very friendly and helpful. We got a lot of advice on restaurants, activities en surf schools in the neighbourhood. The rooms are very clean and the swimming pool looks really nice. This hotel is a true gem in Dominical.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank 680martijna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimiliano P, Owner at MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Good afternoon to the whole wonderful family!
We want to thank you very much for taking the time to review MAVI on T.A., for the excellent rating, and for the very nice words.
It was a real pleasure having your family here, and it is a real pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the place and the stay.
With no obligation at all on your side, whenever you have the occasion to jump back into the South Pacific of Costa Rica, you know you have a place where you are super-welcome!
All the very best and
Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews