We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whale watching vacation”
Review of Villas Rio Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villas Rio Mar
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Very nice place to stay with family and friends. They have a nice restaurant with good food. The pool was excellent topportunity relax in after the whale watching tour. The staff was very friendly and spoke English. The price was very good. I was afraid when I booked the hotel at the low price that I would be disappointed but the hotel was great! Can't wait to come back again!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you so much for comment us,we really appreciate. For us was a pleasure to had you here. Thanks for visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2017

Nice rooms, with good bathroom. Very good restaurant with delicious food. Very kind and friendly people. Helling you with all your questions.
Next time we will really go back to spend Some more time in thuis hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bianca Jeroen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you so much for comment us, we really appreciate.
We will be waiting for you. Thanks for visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

I wish we had stayed here longer! Our room was a cabana with a porch with a fridge and sink. I appreciated that each cabana door is oriented away from the other cabanas and has views of nature. The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom really large and modern. There is a tv and free wifi. The staff was extremely helpful in arranging tours and transportation. The restaurant and bar staff members were also friendly and the food was excellent - especially the tomato soup and seafood soup. The pool is very large and clean. The walk to town takes about 10 - 12 minutes along a road next to a river. There isn't too much traffic and we felt safe.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Dear Janet, thank you so much for take your time and comment us, we really appreciate. For us was a pleasure to had you here. We hope you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We stayed here for about 6 days. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Jose is exceptionally cheerful and helpful. Everyone was very attentive. The rooms were clean, the pool was fun! There is an amazing Maracuya (passion fruit) mouse and coffee flan that we loved!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank teleturns2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you so much for your beautiful comment. Was a pleasure to had you here. Many thanks for visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

We enjoyed our stay at this fabulous hotel! All though we had a small accident (stitches on the head of our son), the owner (Victor) offered his fantastic support by driving us in his car to the hospital and doing the full translation. Great help!!!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ekoenraads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thank you so much for your great comment, we really appreciate. Hope you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
6,5 km away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
427 reviews
1,4 km away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
4 km away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,7 km away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#12 of 14 in Dominical
101 reviews
1,1 km away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 14 in Dominical
200 reviews
5,2 km away
Albergue Alma de Hatillo
Albergue Alma de Hatillo
#7 of 14 in Dominical
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Rio Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Rio Mar

Address: 800 m north from the Dominical entrance along the Baru river, Dominical 185-8000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dominical
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
Price Range: R1 149 - R2 613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Rio Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominical ***Eco-Hotel Resort near Uvita & Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Relax in true nature while enjoying a wide range of amenities! Villas Rio Mar is an internationally recognized 3 Star Eco hotel located in a stunning natural setting; an easy 10 minute walk from the fun and the beach of Dominical. Whether traveling as a couple or with family, Villas Rio Mar offers a wide range of amenities guaranteed to make your holiday worry-free and enjoyable. Our hotel includes 52 rooms and can also host medium-sized groups. Our spacious tropical gardens provide privacy and include many beautiful plants, flowers, and birds, which one can observe from outdoor patio areas located in front of the rooms. One of the best restaurants in the area, El Rancho, is located at Villas Rio Mar. The area offers a wide array of leisure and adventure activities including beautiful beaches, four National Parks, and many other nature & wildlife reserves. A wide range of amenities: spacious tropical gardens, jungle trails, large swimming pool with pool bar, quality restaurant & bar (breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, drinks), international sports programming, room service, billiard table, darts, foosball, kids’ play area, mini golf, outside gym, tennis court, tour & transport services, massage, nail studio, and other body treatments. 4 room types to choose from: 48 of the 52 rooms have an outdoor patio area with garden views, rooms with AC & TV available, family-sized rooms available (limited), rooms with kitchenette available, mini-fridge and ceiling fans in every room Great price for an excellent service: professional staff, free wi-fi throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, free rental car drop-off (airport & Villas Rio Mar), group discounts available, seasonal discounts; May>Dec. 15th, book now & pay later! Beautiful, easily accessible, with lots to do: - Stunning natural beauty, gorgeous beaches, and nearby tropical jungle teeming with exotic wildlife - Many beaches, national parks, and adventure tours - Easily accessible from SJO International Airport via newly paved roads (<3 hours) - 10 min. walk to Dominical - 15 min. walk to the beach - Relaxing natural setting - Private and secure Meetings & Events: conference room & event planning services for businesses, weddings & private events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villas Rio Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Rio Mar Hotel Dominical
Hotel Rio Mar
Rio Mar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing