We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite and relaxing”
Review of Villas Rio Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villas Rio Mar
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Nice and clean villas surrounded by nature and wildlife. Wake up early morning walk in the garden area to find numerous birds. Breakfast was OK. Being in coffee country, I expected better coffee.
Nice desserts.

Room Tip: Try to get room on backside of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thank you so much for your nice comment, we really appreciate it. We hope you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

We so enjoyed our stay here. It was very clean and restful. The cicadas were musical. The food was great. The grounds are beautiful. The staff was warm and welcoming. This was the last place we discovered in our two month in CR, and we wished we had allocated more time in this area because of the serenity.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Barb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Thank you so much for your beautiful comment. For us was a pleasure to had had you here. Thanks for visit us, we hope see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Great place to stay on Pacific where it is gorgeous yet quiet and soothing. Very accommodating staff, great restaurant and very clean. It was a very good experience staying there. I would plan to stay there again and would recommend it to others. Only surprise was all dining is done in outside restaurant where it is always humid, unless you get room service. Also have nice bar and restaurant setup.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank GLPenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Many thanks for this great comment. It was a pleasure that you could enjoy with us. We hope see you soon. Thank you so much for visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Wow! Where to begin....We were greeted by Jose at the front desk who's service was superb! My family and I were greeted with such happiness. We were given this delicious ice cold smoothie drink upon our arrival which was much appreciated after a long 4 hour drive from San Jose. Landscape was gorgeous and well maintained. My 5 & 9 year old occupied there time looking at the iguanas, birds,little lizards, pool and a cute little play ground for kids. While planning our stay Jose was so helpful and knowledgeable about different activities and places to visit for our family. Nice to see great customer service from everyone that worked there. Oh I didn't get the name of the lady who attended the restaurant and bar but her pina colada's were awesome! Plus always had a smile on her face and very attentive.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank SorayaTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Thank you so much for your beautiful comment. How great that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a big pleasure to had you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Great hotel find close to Dominical center. Comfortable rooms and excellent amenities
Pool and restaurant were nice as were the grounds
Excellent value in a great location
Included breakfast was a nice touch as well

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jrmcape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEsquivel, Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Many thanks for take your time and comment us. We really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
6,5 km away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 14 in Dominical
427 reviews
1,4 km away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
4 km away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,7 km away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#12 of 14 in Dominical
101 reviews
1,1 km away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 14 in Dominical
200 reviews
5,2 km away
Albergue Alma de Hatillo
Albergue Alma de Hatillo
#7 of 14 in Dominical
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Rio Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Rio Mar

Address: 800 m north from the Dominical entrance along the Baru river, Dominical 185-8000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dominical
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
Price Range: R1 214 - R2 618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Rio Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominical ***Eco-Hotel Resort near Uvita & Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Relax in true nature while enjoying a wide range of amenities! Villas Rio Mar is an internationally recognized 3 Star Eco hotel located in a stunning natural setting; an easy 10 minute walk from the fun and the beach of Dominical. Whether traveling as a couple or with family, Villas Rio Mar offers a wide range of amenities guaranteed to make your holiday worry-free and enjoyable. Our hotel includes 52 rooms and can also host medium-sized groups. Our spacious tropical gardens provide privacy and include many beautiful plants, flowers, and birds, which one can observe from outdoor patio areas located in front of the rooms. One of the best restaurants in the area, El Rancho, is located at Villas Rio Mar. The area offers a wide array of leisure and adventure activities including beautiful beaches, four National Parks, and many other nature & wildlife reserves. A wide range of amenities: spacious tropical gardens, jungle trails, large swimming pool with pool bar, quality restaurant & bar (breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, drinks), international sports programming, room service, billiard table, darts, foosball, kids’ play area, mini golf, outside gym, tennis court, tour & transport services, massage, nail studio, and other body treatments. 4 room types to choose from: 48 of the 52 rooms have an outdoor patio area with garden views, rooms with AC & TV available, family-sized rooms available (limited), rooms with kitchenette available, mini-fridge and ceiling fans in every room Great price for an excellent service: professional staff, free wi-fi throughout the hotel, complimentary parking, free rental car drop-off (airport & Villas Rio Mar), group discounts available, seasonal discounts; May>Dec. 15th, book now & pay later! Beautiful, easily accessible, with lots to do: - Stunning natural beauty, gorgeous beaches, and nearby tropical jungle teeming with exotic wildlife - Many beaches, national parks, and adventure tours - Easily accessible from SJO International Airport via newly paved roads (<3 hours) - 10 min. walk to Dominical - 15 min. walk to the beach - Relaxing natural setting - Private and secure Meetings & Events: conference room & event planning services for businesses, weddings & private events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villas Rio Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Rio Mar Hotel Dominical
Hotel Rio Mar
Rio Mar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing