We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beyond expectations...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bird's Eye View of Sea Breeze.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bird's Eye View of Sea Breeze.
Sea Breeze Main House, Pool, and Villa. Solar on Carport and Gardens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Bird's Eye View of Sea Breeze.
Sea Breeze Main House, Pool, and Villa.
Solar on Carport and Gardens
Enter Sea Breeze!
Enjoy the 15 meter infinity pool
Pacific view from infinity pool.
View north to Manuel Antonio National Park
New patio pavilion!
Comfortable poolside dining
Have an espresso by the pool
Very well appointed kitchen
2 futon sleepers for extra guests
Master Bedroom ocean view
Master bath.
Jaccuzzi tub
Awesome View from Villa
Handcrafted bamboo and hardwood furniture
Comfy king bed
Villa sitting area
Villa bath
Villa bath
First floor studio
Queen bed
Self contained apartment
View from the pool
Got bananas?
Life is good!!
Siesta time!
Sea Breeze Casa and Nature Reserve
Cooling off!
Hike in the Nature Reserve
Sea Breeze Casa and Nature Reserve
Sloth and baby
Sunset at Sea Breeze
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
catiegale...
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Make sure you get a 4X4.....NOT JUST AN ALL-WHEEL DRIVE”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A sticker on our rental- car said "best 4X4 made vehicle". Actually, our car was an All-Wheel Drive. Make sure you get a 4X4 NOT JUST AN ALL-WHEEL DRIVE, so you don't get stuck in the driveway. Getting in and out of the driveway were very stressful for our family and we all stayed quiet with bated breath to see if we would make it for every trip. Mike only got stuck when the road was a bit slick after it rained.
My husband arrived late at night because his plane was delayed. Bea met him in her ATV to guide him to the home at midnight. This was very appreciated. Bea also graciously picked me up with my four children a day earlier and graciously drove us to the home. I feel that she and Bob go above and beyond to accommodate with arrivals and departures. They are truly eager to help.
The home is absolutely stunning and made with the most luxurious detail. We felt so grateful and privileged to enjoy it. The pool is the nicest one I have ever swum in. We were greeted by monkeys, parakeets, toucans and the resident dogs every morning. My husband wasn't the biggest fan of the dogs as they would bark at us until we either let them in or fed them It is their home after all. I loved the dogs as did my children! We were happy to let them inside. Some were a bit dirty though. The dog-factor depends on personal taste. My daughter loved the horses next to the home and went down to feed them apples each day. One day, Bea gave her and my husband a ride back up the hill. Huge Thank YOU!!!!
There is no air-conditioning in the living room or kitchen which is a bit surprising. The air-conditioning in the downstairs bedroom/apartment was also not working. Well, it was, but it was dripping and we didn't want to ruin the walls, so we left it off. We mentioned this on our first day, but it was left unfixed. I told my husband to fix it, but he has chronic pain and wasn't up for it. So, we had two children share a bed and two children share a futon in the one bedroom that did have air-conditioning. This was a bit crowded. Then, we stayed in the other house (Master Suite). It felt a bit unsafe being in a house away from the children. I read that the house was laid out for 10 people to sleep, but it is not quite that straight-forward. I felt better that we had four kids that were all together in one room and that they had each other. This was a comfort. We were only a few steps away from them in the other house, but not within hearing distance. This was a bit disconcerting; although, after being there for a night it felt safe. I would still get up several times a night to check on them though.
Dominical itself is a lot of hype. It is not a pretty beach (no white sand...no blue water) and not swimmable due to the RipTides. The lifeguard was yelling for us to get out of the water. A friend had to get out because the crocodiles were using the ocean to change rivers due to mating season. Ditto for Baleen National Park. There is quite a bit of Photoshoppiing when it comes to Costa Rican Beaches. We saw a poster of Whale's Tail in a Restaurant...whoa. Not what we saw. We liked Manuel Antonio for swimming and boogie-boarding - nice beach , pretty view and filled with monkeys. But I digress.
The house is very remotely located and Dominical is not much. As Bea told me when she picked us up in Dominical, the house is good to get away from people and she added "I don't like people" ... I am sure she meant this in a candid way, but it gave me a strange vibe that kind of stuck for the time we were together. Although, her love and passion for her rescued animals and her dear husband are more than palpable.
Overall, the two homes are just gorgeous and it was very nice to have our own space (as opposed to being in a hotel). Also, the ocean-view is very pretty. The grounds are landscaped to the max. If you are a gardener, you will absolutely be floored by the plants, flowers and trees. I recommend star-gazing at night, watching the sunset in the evening and getting up early to watch the incredibly intriguing monkeys.
The biggest lesson for me was to be careful of what you read on TripAdvisor. Use other sources as well. I mean this in reference to the town of Dominical and the beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Watching the toucans and monkeys and parakeets from the amazing infinity pool.
Liked least: There is no air-conditioning in the main living quarters and one of the bedrooms.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2016
This review was unexpected and we feel there are a few points that should be addressed. We were very sorry to hear that Mike and Catie had so many issues with their vacation. We welcome input from our guests. It helps us make Sea Breeze better. It is important to Bea and I that all our guests leave Sea Breeze with good memories!

The driveway to Sea Breeze is steep in places and we let people know before we accept a booking that a 4x4 is required. We mention this several times before a guest's arrival. We offered to help them exchange the all-wheel drive car for a 4x4 the next morning. The rental companies are very good about exchanging cars when needed. For whatever reason, they kept the all-wheel drive and had problems for the whole stay. We loaned them our car one day, which we have never done for anyone before.

All 3 master suites have A/C. All of the A/C units were serviced one month before Mike and Catie's arrival. When they told us the unit in the lower level was dripping, we had an employee clean out the drain line. We didn't hear of any further problems until we read the review.We serviced all the A/C units again and every one is working perfectly.

Catie badly misquoted Bea when she said Bea doesn't like people. That couldn't be further from the truth.We have enjoyed hosting Sea Breeze Casa for 10 years and love meeting people from all over the world. We have formed friendships with many guests over the years and continue to stay in touch.
Bea has spent 18 years taking in rescue dogs,horses, and any animal in need. Bea did say that she sometimes finds it easier to relate to animals than humans and I have to agree. That is much different than not liking people. What you see is what you get with animals. People can be unpredictable.
Everyone here does their best to give visitors to Sea Breeze a great experience.

To our future Sea Breeze guests we have some exciting news to share. The property will be closed in Sept/Oct for some new additions. There will be a new covered, dining pavilion on the pool patio that will feature a built-in BBQ and bar. We will also add an outdoor shower and expanded gardens.
Sea Breeze is going Solar! 54 solar panels will provide clean energy to power the houses and pool! Pura Vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C
Winsted, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beyond expectations...”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

A friend and I spent five days in March, 2016 at Sea Breeze. Bob and Bea made us feel welcome and at home from the moment we arrived. As they showed us around the property, our first impression was "wow!" The two guest houses (one for each of us, making us feel like royalty) are well furnished, have all the amenities one could wish for, and are comfortable and spotless. The property would be suitable for a much larger party than the two of us! All rooms have a view of the mountains, the Pacific Ocean in the distance and the beautifully landscaped grounds. Bob and Bea were genuinely warm, friendly and helpful. ( I would especially heed their advice to rent an all wheel drive vehicle for the somewhat daunting drive up the mountain to the house. But after one trip up and down it became routine.) We enjoyed visiting with the resident dogs, horses and turtles and watching the toucans and other beautiful birds and monkeys. The infinity pool is the best pool ever and if you never left the pool and patio area you would still have an unforgettable vacation. We were fortunate to be invited to tour a wildlife reserve in the Osa Peninsula which is operated by a friend of Bea and Bob. Bea also took us on an ATV ride through the woods, accompanied by many of her 14 dogs. When we had to return home, we felt as if we were saying goodbye to dear friends as well as gracious hosts.
The little town of Dominical is charming and funky--well worth a visit. And beautiful Manuel Antonio National Park is an easy 30 minute drive.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shawn w
1 review
“A Very Special 10 days in Dominical”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Wow.

We recently returned from a 10 day trip to the Dominical area, our first time in CR. We had 5 adults, 4 kids (ages 8-12). We left thinking that we literally picked the perfect rental in all of Costa Rica for our family. The benefits of the rental itself are well documented in previous reviews. Great home, plenty of sleeping options and ability to either be together or get some alone time, even with large group. The new villa suite was great for my wife and I to have privacy, but still very close to main home to keep an eye on the kids. The pool is ridiculously beautiful. Amazing views, monkeys, toucans, hummingbirds, butterflies, and more. Impeccably maintained grounds with lots of flowering plants that give the whole property these wonderful fragrances that vary based on the wind.

But for us what made this a very special vacation was Bob and Bea themselves and the "character" of the property. This is not a cookie-cutter vacation property. This is a unique and special farmstead that just happens to also be an amazing vacation rental in one of the most beautiful settings you can imagine. After we followed Bob up to the property in our rental cars (more on this later) we were greeted by Bea's pack of rescue pups. We do a lot of rescue work back home so this was great for us. All different sizes and shapes and each with their own personality. One dog Tara basically lived with us for the time we were there and the rest of the dogs would come and visit at various times. Very cool. Within the first hour we were there Bea had our kids on the back of a 4 wheeler with her dogs running behind driving down to the horse stable to feed their 8 horses (again rescues), then came back to see the monkeys. Again all in first hour. On our last day we went with Bea and Christopher (one of the local workers on the farm) and took a four wheeler trip down the mountain to a few swimming holes with a bunch of dogs tagging along. You ain't getting that at an all-inclusive resort.

OK some tips on the rental and the area. As stated 4WD is a must. And prepare to be a little overwhelmed on the first drive to the property. But trust me it gets much easier and is just part of the adventure. Suggestion on activities like beaches - get up and get out early. It gets very warm once you get off the mountain and we found it best to get the activities done early and come back in the afternoon to hang by the pool.

Overall amazing experience - 5 stars!

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonMag...
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Property!”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Sea Breeze Casa! There is a fabulous ocean view as well as of the mountains and valley. We enjoyed many beautiful sunsets from the pool and patio overlooking the ocean. We enjoyed the capuchin monkeys that came twice a day and the toucans that would sing in a nearby tree. Colorful parakeets ate fruit from the palm tree right by our pool. We loved the ATV ride that Bob took us on down into the valley and through streams on their property. My daughter and I enjoyed hikes on their property and found a waterfall on one hike fairly close to the house. Bob and Bea are so friendly and are wonderful hosts. Bob had our tired fixed when we got a flat in our rental car. He also removed a door my edlerly mother had difficulty opening. My father proclaimed their pool the best he's ever swam in. It was quite large and we enjoyed the pool lights on at night. We really enjoyed having one of their dogs, Tara, visit. She was ADORABLE!
Our favorite beach was Ventanas. It has caves through the mountain that go out to the Pacific and a fresh water river that ends on the beach. It has a breathtaking view from the water of the beach lined with palm trees with the mountains behind. There is some food available to buy and an outdoor shower with an outhouse.
My daughter and I hiked 2.5 miles to Nauyaca Falls which are a must see. You can also horseback ride to the falls. We parked and hiked in for $8 a person. Best to go in the morning so the horseback guides are at the falls. They put up a rope in the falls so you can climb up and jump from the falls. The guides also make a spectacular jump just before they leave. We did some swimming and had a picnic lunch.
We cooked some fabulous Mahi mahi that we bought at a local fish market. They catch it fresh everyday! We also enjoyed eating out a 4 local restaurants. All were fairly priced and had fabulous food. Tortilla Flats is in the town of Dominical and recommended by Bob. La Parcela had fabulous ocean views on both sides of the restaurant. Jolly Rogers is a wonderful place at the top of a mountain offering ocean views and a cool breeze. It is known for its fabulous wings with specialty sauces. And PorQueNo which requires a reservation. We went at 5pm and enjoyed the sunset with a glass of wine down at the water. The beach by the restaurant had some of the most spectacular sunsets we saw.
I am in awe and respect Bea's efforts for all of the animals she rescues.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Capuchin visits and the toucans! and POOL!!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pure Bliss!”
Reviewed 29 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived to Sea Breeze Casa we had to pinch ourselves to realize we were not in a dream! After seeing the beautiful setting, views and home we saw toucans in the trees! We immensely enjoyed the pool and the dogs! Bob and Bea were excellent hosts, full of informative advice and genuinely kind!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing