We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing place--with a few flaws”
Villa Casa Bonita welcomes you!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Casa Bonita welcomes you!
Surrounded by nature and jungle (Watch for monkeys!) Time to relax
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Villa Casa Bonita welcomes you!
Surrounded by nature and jungle (Watch for monkeys!)
Time to relax
'Our' beach by the house
Sun sets over the ocean
Preparing for the big day
Wedding at the villa
Discover artwork throughout the house
Waterfall view from the inside
Feel the ocean breeze on the balcony
Watch a fishing trawler go by
Live outside on the veranda
Fully equipped kitchen
Master bedroom suite
Master bathroom with waterfall view
Wake up in the jungle
Jungle bedroom suite
Ocean bedroom suite
Wake up to the ocean view
Evening mood
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
solardiet...
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“so disappointed”
Reviewed 27 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I've never written a negative review, and hesitated before even writing this one. What I will say before I review is that the owners were notified of the issues with the house and I truly believe that will address and fix all of them. They were unaware of the issues as they don't live in Costa Rica and they offered me a full refund for my inconvenience. Don't let my review stop you from renting this house as it has a great deal of potential and truly is beautiful, it just needs a lot of work.
This was my 5th trip to Costa Rica and I wanted my parents to come along and experience this beautiful country. I don't like touristy places so we chose Dominical which I love. After hours and hours of looking at houses and reviews, we chose Casa Bonita based on size, location and price.
We are a family of 4 with two small boys (7,3) and invited my parents and a local Costa Rican native friend with us to this large house.
The house truly is huge! large living and kitchen area, two large main level bedrooms: a master with an attached large bathroom and king bed, and a 'kid' room with 3 full beds and a crib. Upstairs are two large bedrooms with decks, a king bed, a queen bed and both with full bathrooms.
On arrival, Romulo the caretaker met us and brought us to the house. Upon entering the musty smell overwhelmed me. We arrived in the evening and though the view was breathtaking, the house was dark. He had just recently turned on the AC in the bedrooms, but the musty smell in the rooms was concerning. After he left, I toured the home and became increasingly disappointed. The upstairs bathroom sinks had not been cleaned well, one with toothpaste spatter on the walls. One shower head was broken and there was mold growing in the showers. Downstairs kid room had two areas in the ceiling where the water had leaked in causing water marks and smell. The master had an active leak in the ceiling dripping near the sliding door. The kitchen was filthy, the microwave was broken, sink not cleaned, dishwasher with mold and the ceiling dripping onto the coffee mugs.
There is beautiful tile throughout the home, but the grout was very dirty. The living room and run down furniture with a musty smell and water dripping on one of the sofas. All the sliding glass doors throughout the house did not slide well and were wobbly. The grill outside was broken and only half the burners worked. Half the light bulbs were burned out and the fans on the porch were not working. The wifi was out in the house and the battery to the TV remote was dead.
Now, we notified Romulo immediately that night and he promised to return the next morning with a crew to fix everything. We also notified the owners who were very unhappy and contacted Romulo as well. To his credit, he did arrive early the next morning and fixed everything within his power.
This house truly is beautiful and has a ton of potential, but they need to power wash it inside and out, fix the leaks in the roof, check for mold and replace some furniture. I believe that they will address the problems and this house will be a great rental!
On the positive side, there is a nice pool and the location is close to town and the beach. The walk to the beach is down a dirt road and across a busy street. It was fine for my kids and I, but too much for my older parents.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: see review above
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2017
We have delighted in being able to share this gorgeous tropical villa with guests for 6 years now, with consistently excellent reviews. Apart from this one, we have received 4-star ratings only twice, and the rest have all been 5 stars. Although we don’t feel the reviewer’s 2-star rating is justified in light of all our other uniformly excellent reviews, on visiting Casa Bonita ourselves this year, we did find that the maintenance and cleanliness of the house had slipped from our usual high standards. This led to a staff change, and Casa Bonita is now under new management. The comfort and safety of our guests is always our primary concern, so as this guest mentioned, we provided a full refund, and thank her for her feedback.

We are delighted to say that under the new Managers/Concierges, a bilingual married couple, Casa Bonita now looks, and is, better than ever! It’s with great pleasure that we welcome you to newly restored Casa Bonita!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redrob45
oregon
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing place--with a few flaws”
Reviewed 14 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The good:

1) Beautiful, masterfully-executed home design with massive pillars, thatch-look roof, two-story waterfall, wrap-around veranda overlooking the pool and ocean connected to house by four double-sliding doors, large-beamed tray ceilings lined with bamboo stalks thru out the entire house, two-story entry, glass block showers with fanciful, high-end faucet handles and curved clear glass overlooking waterfall, abundant ceiling-mounted fans and recessed can lights and other high-end light fixtures, quirky touches and Costa Rican art in every room, and roomy, comfortable design (with one exception—see below).
2) Great location (with one minor caveat—see below). Within sound and sight of ocean surf. Walkable distance to gorgeous beaches. Visiting toucans in the trees! Access road rough but passable.
3) Fabulous (for us) 3’deep infinity-edge pool with stone-tiled bench running the length of the edge and small waterfall cascading into the pool.
4) And last, but certainly not least, cheerful, energetic, helpful and talented concierge Romulo, who provided us some of the best meals we had in Costa Rica. Honest advice and help with bookings, too.

The bad:
1) No central air and no sea breeze. If not actually directly in front of a floor fan (thank goodness for floor fans!) we were gently sweating. This may not be a problem earlier in the year. We visited mid to late April, and the rainy season was just about to begin (although we only had two short rains—and those were at night). The A/C in our upstairs bedroom, even when left running day and night was barely able to keep the room comfortable. The king-sized bed in our room was VERY firm. We are in our sixties—so this may not bother younger people.
2) We were not aware that the “five minute walk to the beach” included crossing the Carretera Pacifica (Pacific Highway). Although only two lanes and not terribly busy, it is still host to traffic traveling 80 kph, including large trucks. Not dreadful—but a surprise.
3) Maintenance was spotty: Of the nine switches in our room, four did not work or perhaps were not connected to anything. Lightbulbs were missing, some fans did not work, some fixtures were broken. The waterfall looked sadly neglected with dead leaves, dirt and mildew. The steps down to the pool and all the patios off the bedrooms were unswept and littered with bird poop and ants. These are minor, mostly cosmetic things. The one thing that we thought was serious was the lack of screens on the four double sliding doors to the veranda. Due to the lack of A/C, the only way to cool the house down was to leave these doors wide open. Which is how I returned home with many mosquito bites—which could conceivably lead to a bout of Zika.
4) The pool was gorgeous and spotless the day we arrived, but somewhere about half way thru the stay, something must have broken, because in spite of Romulo’s diligent daily efforts, it gradually became a little greener and murkier each day. We still enjoyed it tremendously—but it was a little icky.

So, all-in-all, a wonderful place, but with flaws, at least for the time of year we visited. I would rent again—but not at the same time of year.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2016
We do apologize for the maintenance issues, and have addressed them with our Concierge to ensure they are corrected immediately. In addition, the A/C and pool, both of which required repairs, have since been fixed. However, neither the Concierge nor we were informed by the guest during their stay of any problems other than the pool (since resolved), so unfortunately, we were unaware of them until this review. We would certainly have fixed the problems immediately, particularly with respect to the A/C, which would certainly have been preferable to running the A/C continuously day and night, while leaving the house doors open (according to the review). One of the reasons we employ a Concierge – free of charge to guests – is to ensure any issues like these are addressed immediately, because we are dedicated to ensuring a wonderful vacation experience for our guests. We will certainly look into adding screens to the house doors, and do regret the guest’s unnecessary discomfort.

One other point to mention is that indeed, it is necessary to cross the Carretera Pacifica, which in Dominical is just a 2-lane street, on the 5-minute walk to the beach. However, this is true for all private rental properties in Dominical, because the Carretera lies inside the Martimize Zone, the first 200 meters from the water line, in which private property ownership is not permitted. Casa Bonita is right at the edge of the Maritime Zone, as close to the water as it is possible to own private property.

Nevertheless, we are very glad the guests overall had a wonderful time. We do greatly enjoy welcoming guests to this beautiful and unique tropical villa, with it’s wonderful location, nestled in the jungle with the mountains behind and gorgeous beaches close enough to always enjoy the sight and sound of the surf from the villa, or to walk to in just a few minutes. Like us, our Concierge delights in providing guests a wonderful vacation and helping to make treasured, life-long memories. As they say in Costa Rica, “Pura vida!”
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible value and views”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed a few days by ourselves and had friends in for one week. to say the design of this property is whimsical, is to do the property a disservice. The jungle motif was fun and informal. The view and infinity pool provided relaxation and luxury that we never anticipated. Also, 3 master suites made the house perfect for several couples. The nearby availability of tours, resturants and such was spectacular. The concierge, Ramulo, was spot on. Since we are experienced with Costa Rica and speak Spanish, we underutilized his abilities, but he could make or break a trip, for sure. We are considering making this an annual trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Porch sitting and pool
Liked least: I liked everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bairbre26...
Ocean View, New Jersey
2 reviews
“The one and only Casa Bonita”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Words cannot describe this beautiful home on the side of a mountain. The scenery is incredible, from jungle views to beach views. The property manager, Romulo, went over and above to ensure we were comfortable. The house is clean and well maintained. It is very comfortable. Our experience in Costa Rica and at Casa Bonita is one we will never forget. We cannot wait to return not alone to Costa Rica but also to this beautiful home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJ505
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding rental”
Reviewed 6 March 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our extended family rented Casa Bonita over the new years week and were thoroughly impressed with the property itself as well as the availability and receptiveness of both the owners in the US and on-site property managers in Costa Rica.

Booking the property was relatively simple; while the process of wiring funds was more work than paying through flipkey, the substantial savings by eliminating the flipkey fee's makes this more than worthwhile. Additionally, the $500 deposit was promptly returned after our stay.

Getting to the property was simple; it is located a few hundred feet off of the main coastal highway. The house is fortunately situated on a hill, eliminating highway noise and providing an excellent ocean view and breeze. The house has an inviting open layout on the main floor with many doors and windows to enhance the ocean breeze. Bedrooms are both on the main floor and upstairs, with the garage and laundry on the ground level. Everything was clean and well maintained. The kitchen was very well stocked with every appliance you could want. The pool was serviced several times during our stay and always clean.

Dominical town and beach is a ten minute walk or two minute drive away with easy beach parking and several small but well stocked grocery stores.

We have no significant complaints about the property and would absolutely stay there again if we are in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing