We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful View”
other travellers have booked this property
View From the villa -  Walk to the Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View From the villa -  Walk to the Beach
Full Kitchen w/Ocean View COVERED PATIO & POOL
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
View From the villa -  Walk to the Beach
Full Kitchen w/Ocean View
COVERED PATIO & POOL
View From Living Room
)ne of two Master bedrooms w/bath and walk-in closet -safe
One of two master bathrooms (one w/shower and one w/shower & tub
Dining Area Internet connectivity
Entrance with plenty of parking - Orignal Model
Take your choice, pool, ocean or waterfall swimming hole - all very close
Local swimming hole just a five minute hike away
Untouched photo of sunset at Playa Dominicalito just below villa
Location photo lookin gup from ocean
Local fruit stand - one of many, fish market close by
Dominical is a noted surfing destination just 3 Km away
Playa Dominicalito right below the villa - best place to learn to surf
Tree Island near Punta Domincal - Hike out ther eat low tide
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LaTravele...
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
Reviewed 31 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Canto del Mar #19 the week before Christmas. I have to say, the pictures don't really even do justice to how cute this place is. The views were spectacular. The unit does not have a dip pool, but to be honest I'm glad it didn't so we weren't tempted to stay in all the time. Instead we got out and experienced everything the area had to offer and it was fabulous. And we walked to the waterfall which was very cool. The unit itself was nice and had two bedrooms with queen bed and bathroom which was perfect for two couples. It was the nicest of the places we stayed while in Costa Rica for sure.
My best bit of advice is don't be shy about letting Dave and his assistant handle booking activities and a rental car for you should you need one. They were great about it and hooked us up with some fabulous activities. We ended up renting a car on our own and I wish we hadn't. By the way, avoid Vamos Rental Car! They gave us a car with a messed up front in which caused dangerous wear to the tires that we didn't notice at first. It was easily handled by us taking it to a place and having the tires swapped around so we could drive back to San Jose, but nevertheless it was a time waster and dangerous. Considering we don't speak Spanish, it could have been a lot worse! But my point is, had we let Dave arrange for our rental car I feel confident that with his pull we would have had a new car immediately instead of us wasting our time trying to chase down help from a car rental place that pulled a vanishing act when we needed them!
I would definitely rent from Dave again, He is the best!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMF3448
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible View”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed in Canto del Mar #28 for 4 nights this Spring. First let me say the views from this condo are amazing. It sits right up on top and you have full view of all of the dominicalito beach. We had a car - so the location is also very convenient to the beach, supermarket, bank, restaurants, and attractions. The layout is also very nice for a family of 4 with a separate bedroom for the kids and a washer/dryer. This condo has a pool which entertained the kids (8 and 10) for hours. We also loved the fact that we saw lots of wildlife right near us including - a sloth, spider monkeys, iguanas, and toucans. Dave and Deb West were great and all of their recommendations were spot on. I only have two drawbacks - first the property was on "river water" while we were there. Dave supplied us with bottled water - but be prepared it does take some getting used to (vs. using tap water). Second, this unit looked a little tired vs some of the others from the outside, but the furniture, kitchen, beds and linens were all perfectly fine. We enjoyed our visit very much and would like to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanaTico
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to Stay”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We were a group of eight including three couples and the adult children of one of the couples. We rented two units at Canto del Mar for three days just before Christmas and had a wonderful time. Having the two units was perfect in that we were in close proximity but still had enough privacy. The units we rented were #19 and #30. While all of the views are stunning #19 had a better view of the sunset as it was slightly obscured by trees at #30. These trees however were very often full of monkeys so a bit of a tradeoff. #30 had a small pool which was great well enjoying adult beverages in the evening. #19 did not have a pool and was therefore a little less expensive.
There were a couple of minor negatives… there was a problem with the well for part of the time we were there so they were drawing water from a stream which meant we had to purchase drinking water – no big deal. The televisions did not receive any channels in either unit. This meant nothing to us other than the night of the championship Futbol game which we ended up having to watch on a small computer screen with streaming video. There was no BBQ when we arrived but Dave brought us one within an hour of our arrival. Internet was not working in #19 but within a couple of hours Dave rectified that by providing a couple of those magic sticks.
The positives are too many to list. The place is beautiful, the location is outstanding and the service we received from Dave West was perfect. The value we received was incomparable to staying in a hotel and we also saved a lot of money by preparing most of our own meals. The nearby waterfall with the Tarzan swing was like something out of an ITC brochure and the variety of beaches and activities in the area is second to none. We find the Manuel Antonio area much to build up and touristic for our liking but it is convenient that Quepos is only 30 minutes away to get supplies at more reasonable prices and greater selection than the small stores in Dominical and Uvita. Dominicalito is also very convenient for anyone coming from and/or going to the Cartago area as we were.
Overall we have a fantastic time on our short stay and would recommend this property whole heartedly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location and Views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
31petersf...
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Great!!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

The place looks just like the pictures posted. We were greeted by Dave and he made our stay as comfortable as could be providing an extra bed for our son. We loved the ocean breezes and beautiful views from the hpouse to the ocean, Without children it is easy walk to the beach but we had a rental car which made it easy for the daily shopping. We loved the private pool as well. We went to Manuel Antonio as a daytrip but loved the backyard of the house even better!Thanks Dave for offering such a lovely home for rent.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earnie37
Midlothian
1 review
“Exceptional View”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We did not want to leave this place. The view as spectacular and the breeze coming in off the ocean was wonderful. I miss being there already. Dave and Deb West are the nicest people you could ever want to meet . They went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed.

Also, the beds were comfortable, showers were hot and air conditioner worked great.

Thanks Dave and Deb!

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing