We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This place is Pura Vida!”
other traveller has booked this property
This could be you!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This could be you!
No, it's not photo-shopped, enhanced, zoomed or anything Now this is what you call open air living
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
This could be you!
No, it's not photo-shopped, enhanced, zoomed or anything
Now this is what you call open air living
From the living room
Fully equipped kitchen
Breezes and views from everywhere
Casual kitchen dining
Dining for six, watch out for hummingbirds and butterflies passing through
Precious hardwood bar
Master suite #1 with exotic hardwood ceiling
Nicely appointed master suite #2
See and listen to the beauty around you from the showers
Custom carved limestone sink/countertop in bath #1
Custom coral countertop/shower in master bath #2
View towards the west
Hammock view
Tarzan the sloth hanging 8' over the deck
Fluffy and Stuffy sharing at FT
Sunrise from your bedroom or living room
Tropical sunsets from pool
Sunset reflection
You have arrived in paradise!
Tarzan the sloth
Fiery billed aracari
Deck for more viewing of whales, dolphins, water and wildlife
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
alc606
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“This place is Pura Vida!”
Reviewed 14 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I don't even know where to begin. The other reviews are spot on. If I could give Flying Toucans more than 5 stars, I would. Once you go, you will understand. This was our first week long house rental and let me just say the bar has been set very, very high. In fact, the reason we chose to go to Costa Rica was largely because of Flying Toucans.

We spent 10 nights at Flying Toucans to celebrate our five year anniversary at the end of November to the beginning of December. We knew this was the shoulder season (wet to dry season) and it was unseasonably rainy for that time of year. Even in the rain, the property is beautiful and the animals still come. (There was also a closet with some rainy day activities - just one example of how the owners have thought of everything but more on that later). The benefit of the shoulder season was less crowds and more time to get to know the locals.

First, the property is stunning! It is all about that view. The pictures were amazing but don't do it justice. When we first saw it, it took our breath away and dissolved all stress almost immediately. (I seriously probably photographed the place almost 1000 times). You get sunrise and sunset views and a beautiful breeze which makes sitting outside very comfortable. We couldn't tear ourselves away from the house and didn't end up doing the excursions we thought we'd do. The privacy is great and you can't see another house. Of course, it is tropical and there are some bugs but overall, like the other reviews, there were less insects than we expected (and this was a selling point for me). Most of the nights, bug spray and the fans with strategic lighting were enough to keep the outdoor living room comfortable.

The inside of the house was also just as nice and well thought out. The house was spotless and is maintained very well (this isn't just "some rental property" but is taken care of as if the owners lived there full time). After lots of traveling, we notice the little things and everything was perfect. The kitchen is well stocked with almost anything you need to cook in which we did several nights. You don't need to pack much with the washer and dryer in the house which work very well. There are two nice sized bedrooms upstairs. The AC in the bedrooms was very nice and worked very well. We also found that it was fairly comfortable even in the afternoons with the fan. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the linens were nice and soft. There are also no typical "hotel towels" (you know the ones that feel like sandpaper and barely cover a child or actually dry you) - plenty of soft large towels. Loved the open door and/or window in the shower too! The design also lets you wake up to the sunrise (although most of the time we were up by 5:15 to go watch downstairs).

We also saw an abundance of wildlife at the house - including the white-faced monkeys, toucans, aracaris and several other birds, a coati and the sloth even made a brief appearance. Be sure to pick up papaya and bananas for the bird feeder - the Toucans love it! Get your camera/binoculars and sit back and watch!

However, it is not just a great property but you are working with great people. The owners (John and Mary) are very friendly and also responsive. Since this was our first house rental, I spoke at length with John before booking and had many questions. Their love and care of their house and the area shows. Their property managers (Daryl and Donna) are fantastic. They are close and available, but not on-site and respect your privacy which was very important to us. Daryl is just a salt of the earth kind of guy. He is very knowledgeable, seems to know everyone and has excellent recommendations. I strongly recommend that guests take advantage of his wealth of knowledge while there. Everyone went above and beyond to make sure our anniversary stay was perfect.

We also found that the other guest's comments were helpful so here is our two cents. First, download a map of Costa Rica area offline to use in Google maps (this makes it work without wifi or data; it isn't foolproof but helped us navigate the area 90% of the time which you will appreciate this once you realize there aren't really addresses down there but rather it is "500 meters from the BCR (the bank)"). We loved the Baker Bean and had most breakfasts there. It was a nice change from the typical rice/beans. We also enjoyed lunch (pizza) and dinner (with the caveat of avoid the glass of the house white wine). We had a huge and tasty seafood platter at Lagosta Feliz. We also enjoyed dinner at Sabor Espanol which also had one of the better but still reasonable wine selections in the area (although somewhat hard to find (see Google tip) and on a bumpy road). We'd pass on breakfast at Sibu (empanadas had a lot of fillers instead of meat; less personable service) and dinner at Azul (overpriced and under delivered) (see Tripadvisor for more detailed reviews to come). We didn't make it more down to Ojochal more for dinner but there are a few other restaurants down there. Also be sure to hit the fruit stand near the house and the local farmers markets. While there are grocery stores nearby to get staples, it is best to get them more locally (ask Daryl for details). When you buy local, it is pretty cheap, but they get you on the "gringo" items. While you wouldn't need a 4x4 to get to the house, I highly recommend getting a 4x4 SUV - it is needed to explore some areas and we found it helpful when driving in the rain particularly since driving in CR is an adventure in its own right.

The question isn't "if" we will be back, but when. I cannot recommend Flying Toucans enough (and I'd say I'm not an easy critic). Seriously.... stop looking at other places and contact them before it is booked! Pura vida!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2017
Thanks Ashley and Sean. We enjoyed working with you to make your anniversary special. Come back soon!
J+M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snowmanlu...
North Carolina Mountains, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lots of Privacy and an Outstanding View!”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

If you're looking for privacy and abundant wildlife, look no further! The view here is second to none and you will not need to visit any other wildlife sanctuary or park. Lots of privacy but still close to lots of activities and great restaurants!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The view!
Liked least: Having to go outside the bedroom to reach the kitchen.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2016
Thanks Jim and Becky for spending your first anniversary with us. We are delighted you enjoyed yourself so much. Take care, John and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moncoer
Barrie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Luxury retreat in the jungle”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed here as two couples for a week. The house is truly unique and beautiful. The infinity pool is a visual centrepiece to the spectacular view of the whales tail. The gardens and grounds are well maintained We appreciated the wildlife including monkeys, toucans , a sloth , and many other birds. Insects not a real issue and nocturnal geckos were unobtrusive. Fantastic restaurants within easy reach. The property manager is easily accessible if needed and the owner follows up with a phone call if any concerns are expressed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pools, views, greenery
Liked least: Unfortunately truck noise from nearby coastal highway is quite noticeable , especially at night.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2016
Thank you, since you are in our home, you are our guests so we want to treat you as we would want to be treated. Your satisfaction makes us very happy. Come back down from Canada and stay with us again next winter!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacashal
Audubon, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Photos and Description of this property are UNDERSTATED!”
Reviewed 24 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

All that needs to be said about Flying Toucans is you will never want to leave. There is much to do and see in Costa Rica, from beautiful beaches, to tropical jungles and waterfalls and, of course, diverse and fascinating wildlife. But, let me assure you, it will be very hard to pull yourself away from John and Mary Reilly's spectacular home. My wife and I have done a fair amount of traveling from Europe to the Caribbean and many beautiful places in the U.S., but no place we have ever been made us feel the way we did when we were at F.T. for a week. The beauty of the property, the attention to detail in the construction of the home, the wildlife that you share the property with during your stay, the quiet and peacefulness that envelops you, morning, noon and night... there are no words that are adequate. Put some pineapple or banana out in the feeder and before long you will be entertained by a tribe of white-faced monkeys, or dazzled by the sheer beauty of Toucans in the trees surrounding the property.
The infinity pool looks amazing in the pictures, but it is beyond description when you are in it, listening to the wildlife sounds and looking out over the jungle and ocean, or just mesmerized by the silence and sheer gloriousness of your surroundings. The closes thing to heaven on earth we have ever seen! I could go on, but it has all been said in other reviews... Just, GO; I guarantee you will love it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to single one thing out.. I would say sitting in the pool and tuning out everything but your immediate surroundings.
Liked least: That we had to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2016
Wow Jan and Carol, so happy for you guys. Thanks for being part of our Flying Toucans' family. Come again soon!
J&M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori B
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Phenomenal Week in Dominical”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We loved our visit to The Flying Toucans. You can't beat this location for two reasons: convenience to Dominical, Utiva and Ojochal and all the beaches/activities in between; and the access to an amazing view and enjoyment of wildlife.

We spent half our time doing activities (horseback riding, kayaking, visiting towns and beaches and restaurants) and the other half hanging out at the house, swimming, reading, etc. We very much enjoyed our visits by howlers, capuchins, and toucans. They're all harmless and fun to watch, though on two days the capuchins (maybe about 15 of them) started climbing on the house and we spent about a half hour scaring them away. Overall, we found it amusing and have good stories to tell.

The house itself is really fun. We gave the master to our 19 and 20 year old daughter because it had a king-sized bed and they wouldn't have to be bumping into each other. My husband and I took the other bedroom which had a queen and was completely fine. The kitchen is fun to cook in, though the coffee maker is horrible--it takes at least 45 minutes to brew a pot (maybe they'll get a new one). There was no corkscrew so we bought one and left it. The pool and patio/living area are really nice. We spent a chunk of everyday in the pool.

We were told that the gardener would come mid-week to straighten up around the outside, but he didn't get there. By the end of the week, it was looking a little messy from the all the giant leaves the monkeys had dropped.

Overall, the house was very clean, comfortable, and a pleasure to stay in. I was sad to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and pool
Liked least: coffee maker
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2016
Thanks Lori, So glad you really enjoyed your vacation with us! Note, we have a stockroom on site with new back up appliances etc..,.just ask and we will replace/fix anything that day.:) (Actually in all our rental agreements the only paragraph in bold letters states that our guests agree to call us immediately if anything is NOT in perfect condition...so much for that) I am sure next guest asked and received. Also,( in agreement) we ask to prefer to keep pool/yard cleaned up during week, that is our policy, that's why many guests comment in reviews that FT is "immaculate". It's only when guests ask us NOT to come over that we can't keep it that way. For future guests please communicate with Daryl if anything is not in excellent condition and he will happily take care of it .
John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing