We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't dream of a better spot!!”
Review of Damai Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Krui
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Damai Bungalows
Ranked #7 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Krui
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Where do I start. 10 days at Damai was not enough. Without a doubt Jas and Ayu have the best surf camp I've ever been to. Right in front of the best left hander in the region, we had unreal surf nearly everyday (in off season!). Jas and surf guide Dedi have unreal knowledge of the region, they've sussed the whole coast and as such we had endless peaks and barrels to ourselves on multiple days. Speaking of Dedi, what a legend to have in the surf. Always in the right position for photos of us, and always with a smile on his face.

Their 5 star staff are courteous and accommodating. Food is delicious, try the chicken wraps. Unreal value too, this is what surf camps should be about. These guys have got it nailed. Will be back next year! Cheers gang!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sonnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2017

Just spent over a week at Damai during the off season and scored quality waves everyday. Damai Bungalows are sitting right in front of the point at Ujong Bucor and they definitely have the best location on the beach. Waking up every morning to an epic breakfast overlooking this perfect left hander is the best way to start the day.

Ayu and Jason are absolute legends and make you feel at home straight away, helping you out with anything you need and a good idea of where to go and what to do in the area. It's easy to see why so many people come to Damai, or the krui beach area in general and decide to come back every year, the place is perfect.

Not that you will be spending much time in your room, but they are great as well. Comfortable, clean and mosquito free. I'd recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MitchBland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

With three delicious cooked meals a day, laundry service, internet and pay TV its like going back home to live with the parents except its Ayu and Jas and they're both legends. The staff there are awesome too, always friendly and more then happy to accommodate. Having the surf out the front is a bonus too! I highly recommend this place to anyone thinking of having an awesome time!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016

From the long left hand reef break straight out the front to the all inclusive food, Damai has got it nailed when it comes to surf camps in South Sumatra. Jason & Ayu do a great job in organising everything you need for a surfing holiday. It is a long long drive from the nearest airport (Lampung) but Jas will have a good car and driver waiting when your plane lands. Jason has years of local knowledge about the surf breaks and just about everything else around Krui. He will organise a bike or car for all your side trips to the other surf breaks or even a cultural tour if you need a break from the waves. The Bintangs are always icey cold and the food awesome. Ayu will organise anything you need from the kitchen and will even get stuff like local sim cards etc etc from Krui, nothing is any trouble for Jason & Ayu. As a repeat visitor to Bali, Sumbawa and Lombok (and to Damai) I rate this surf camp the best I have been to.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gregfromwollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Fantastic food , staff , location , and hosts provide the ultimate stay in the South Sumatra area with stunning views of the afternoon sunsets relaxing and casual atmosphere and the coldest beers around. Paradise

Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
Thank Rolf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krui hotels
14,2 km away
Krui Surf Camp
Krui Surf Camp
#11 of 20 in Krui
2 reviews
0,1 km away
Sumatra Surf Resort
0 km away
Krui Mutun Walur Surf Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
No photo provided
Horja Losmen
#1 of 3 in Krui
2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Damai Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai Bungalows

Address: Tanjung Setia, Pesisir Selatan, Krui 34874, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > Lampung > Krui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Krui
Price Range: R257 - R411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide simple,clean accommodation to just 12 guests at a time, wave side at Tanjung Setia, Krui, west Lampung. included in the nightly price are 3 great meals a day. our common pavilion overlooks the waves & sunsets directly in front of us. drinks & snacks are provided from our bar & our 2nd story viewing deck is great to relax or to take photo's from. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing