We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Damai Bungalows
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
El Camino(Krui)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
79
11
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
11
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth sumatraleft handersurf tripside tripsdriver waitingsim cardscultural tourall inclusive foodawesome foodlong drivenearest airportreef breakmake you feel at homeoff seasonthese guyssurf guideevery morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Situated at the front of a world class left. This is arguably the best joint on the point. Jason, Ayu & crew are ever the consummate hosts. Always safe & secure nothing is ever a drama. The food ever plentiful and delicious. My third year back & next can't come soon enough!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Just got back from a 2 week guys surf trip to Damais. Jason and Ayu were both fantastic hosts and created the right vibe for what we were looking for. Being able to watch state of origin was a bonus. Food was fantastic - very fresh, tasty and heaps of it. The surf pumped the whole time. Very challenging and Jason was able to recommend different spots to cater for everyone's capabilities.Had the time of our lives. Thanks very much.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottdinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Where to even start?
This was our first trip to Sumatra and what an amazing experience it was, if you want to immerse yourself in the Indo culture or just Surf Surf Surf this is the place!! You just cannot prepare yourself for the holiday you will have at Damai, you will be blown away from the minute you arrive. The trip from the Airport to Damai is long but the scenery is breathtaking and the drivers will do whatever they can to make the drive more comfortable and there are plenty of Indo Marts around for a snack. There is not a lot of English spoken around Krui, although everyone will want to say Hi and try out the English they do know and you'll dish out High Fives till your hands are sore, Jas and Ayu speak both Indo and English and are always happy to help, although learning a few Indo words makes a world of difference.
As for Damai, I can only repeat what has been said before, Food - Brilliant, Accommodation - Brilliant, Staff - Brilliant and the Beer - Ice Cold. At Damai you are not just another guest you are welcomed in as a friend and addressed by your name, the staff greet you every time you cross paths and will sit down and chat with you over dinner and drinks. Damai also offers wifi to guests so that you can be as connected with the rest of the world as you want to be. The Rooms are safe and secure with locking drawers for passports etc. The showers are simple but absolutely awesome especially during the hot days right before a nap, the second storey on the main building is a great place for an afternoon snooze. The holidays at Damai are 100% whatever you want them to be, Jas and Ayu will call everyone they can to make things happen you only have to ask. Out of the 6 of us that went only one is a Surfer but there is absolutely no shortage of things to do for non-surfers. I would recommend a trip to the Coffee Plantations in Liwa, and a trip over to Banana Island to jump of the Old Jetty and enjoy Coconuts straight from the tree. A trip into Krui is also interesting there is a fair bit to see around the town and the food is really good. Just don't forget to change your money before you get to Sumatra, Krui has not yet been taken over by Mainstream Tourism so everything is in cash and there are no ATM's. For the Surfers Jas knows whats what and will point in the right direction for good waves.

Damai is that One in a Million and if you get the chance at stay at Damai I strongly suggest you take it, you will never forget this holiday, this is True Indonesia.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SnSH-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This place is filth (as in excellent) Comfort, serenity, five star as in all respects. Accommodation, food, services and value for dollar. South Sumatra is not for the mainstream tourist population. There's very little there in the way of facilities that are thrown into your face like in Bali. No taxis. No cafes. No ATMs!! Sometimes, not even electricity. But Jason & Chook's place overlooking the point, well, you couldn't ask for anything better. I never felt out of place and always welcome. Amazing place to surf, explore or simply chill. Damn it! I'm envious of their lifestyle....

Magz (Antoni - June 2014)

Room Tip: Book in advance Possum.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antoni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

As a solo traveller I checked out many different options for my surf trip this year. I did stay at Damai bungalows last year so I did know what to expect. Many surf destinations in Indo are out pricing themselves for the average worker. The reason I chose Damai bungalows as my surf trip again this year was not only the frieght train left hander straight out the front, but also the old school vibe that Jason & Ayu have created. It doesnt take long for them to make you feel welcome, as if you belong. You help yourself to the fridge and get your own beer, write it in the book yourself. The honesty system your got to love it. There's not much trust in the world these days. The people that a place like this attracts are the down to earth type of people. No egos here. With it being only my second trip here I have still meet some awesome people. Return travellers just like myself.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews