We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fresh sushi”
Review of Sushi Bar

Sushi Bar
Ranked #26 of 151 Restaurants in El Calafate
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

After days of eating meat/ asado, we decided to try something different. The sushi and a sashimi were very fresh and the rice was very well made. Choices were understandably somewhat limited by the location but still a good variety of dishes were available. We are surprised to find such an authentic Japanese restaurant in el Calafate.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Only sushi place in El Calafate and it was heavenly.
In a country where beef is the staple and salads are not their forte you need a place like this to give your tummy a break.
We had individual rolls: (palta is avocado)
-langostino y palta
-calamar y palta
-salmon y palta
-pulpo y palta
They were fresh and fantastic. Service is slow but worth the wait.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank BPandFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

tl;dr - best, most authentic sushi in Calafate / Argentina / maybe even South America!

We’ve been travelling South America for more than 5 months now. Good Asian food is hard to come by, so we take the chance to eat in every Asian restaurant that’s well reviewed.

Many of these have had to cater to local taste buds as well (which is totally understandable), but sushi bar serves legit old school, down-to-earth great sushi and sashimi. No weird contemporary sauces, just good ole wasabi and soy sauce.

So if that’s what you crave, come visit Fuji and her husband (Sushi Chef) who came from Tokyo 10 years ago to deliver a slice of Asian goodness here in hiking heaven!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank roystontay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Lovely place, simple but great sushi, good service! We went back the next day...! Would highly recommend it!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Mayra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

We were really craving Asian food after traveling in South America for 2 months and decided to have our Asian fix here since the reviews were so good.

The restaurant is run by an elderly Japanese sushi chef and his Korean wife, so they speak Japanese, Korean and Spanish. The sashimi and sushi were simply excellent and comparable to those served in Japan. They've got a variety of sets, all of which are fairly priced for the quality of what you get. We especially loved anything with salmon in it (sashimi, rolls, maki, you name it).

This is a traditional sushi bar serving authentic sushi. It does not have any elements of South American fusion, with the sole exception that they can also include cream cheese in your sushi, though we opted for it without.

Based on the opening hours listed on their sign, they are open for lunch (12-3pm) and dinner (7-11pm) daily except on Tuesdays. We saw a number of people doing takeaways while we were there, but of course sushi is always best eaten on the spot.

We loved it so much we ate here three times! During the times we were there, there appeared to be other repeat customers as well. Absolutely fantastic authentic Japanese food, and we miss it already.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank sharhua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi Bar also viewed

El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing