We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Ice Tour is Incredible”
Review of Hielo y Aventura

Hielo y Aventura
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Concessionary company of Glaciers national parks, certified by a quality standard ISO 9001:2008. We develops excursions to walk over Perito Moreno glacier, and navigate in front of its southern wall. Minitrekking: 10 hours tour, including transportation from Calafate, one hour visit to panoramic view point, 20 minutes navigation, and 1:40 hour trek on the ice. Physical effort: Medium high Big Ice: 12 hours tour, including transportation form Calafate, half an hour visit to the panoramic view point, 20 minutes navigation, 3:30 hours trekking on the ice. Physical effort: High. Safari Nautico: one hour navigation in front of the southern face of Perito Moreno Glacier. It does not include transportation. It can be purchased in the park, the day of the tour.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We were on the fence about the Big Ice Tour after seeing the cost but it was totally worth it. Diego and Nicolette were fantastic guides. We were physically challenged but the information on the website was accurate and prepared us well. I had done ice trekking in New Zealand years ago and wondered how this would compare. It was its own unique experience with jaw-dropping beauty that I will remember forever. We even got to go underneath the glacier for awhile, it was amazing!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Erin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2 690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"big ice"
in 211 reviews
"mini trek"
in 91 reviews
"the bus"
in 120 reviews
"hiking boots"
in 24 reviews
"ice trekking"
in 34 reviews
"boat ride"
in 56 reviews
"main guide"
in 11 reviews
"the perito moreno glacier"
in 54 reviews
"national park"
in 50 reviews
"base camp"
in 7 reviews
"age limit"
in 15 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 30 reviews
"glacier water"
in 19 reviews
"tennis shoes"
in 7 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 28 reviews
"lunch break"
in 7 reviews
"up hill"
in 7 reviews
Filter

43 - 47 of 2 690 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

As another reviewer wrote, H y A runs like a well-oiled machine. They take a LOT of people to the glacier every day. These guys know what they are doing.

Hotel pick up was on time. Their transport bus is huge. Smaller buses pick up others and converge to transfer them to the main bus at different stops in El Calafate.

Guides explain sights and procedures in Spanish and English. At the glacier, they help you into harnesses and crampons, divide you into smallish groups, and off you go. Each small group has two guides.

The sights atop the glacier are breathtaking. This is a strwnius and long day of walking. Just getting to the ice is about an hour walk on paths in some hilly terrain. Then you spend about 3-3.5 hours with heavy crampons lashed to your feet, hiking on the ice. And of course you have to walk back an hour to the boat once you leave the ice. All of that said, this is an incredible excursion for those who are fit (be able to hike five hours on hilly terrain).

The guides, of which there were many, were all super helpful and nice...this is a well staffed outfit.

All in all, a truly unforgettable day!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank WendySFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We had completed the W Trek in Patagonia and decided to extend a couple of days into Argenitina to experience this - so glad we did. The max age for doing this activity is 64yrs old, which is a shame for those fit and active 65yrs olds as you so miss out! The pick up from hotel was prompt, the journey to the glacier is good with running commentary in Spanish and English about the area and surrounds (its only an hour from El Calafate). Once you are kitted out in the crampons and had the technique explained you are off - its pretty straight forward, but I was nicely surprised that we got to walk further than I anticipated. Our guide, Carlos, was excellent, like so many others spoke excellent English, and made sure we all saw the crevices/understood the intricacies of a moving glacier. ITs a shame that only a couple of days before the "bridge" had collapsed, that would have been amazing to see - but we still saw quite a few very large sections crash into the water. The viewing platform that you are taken to after the walk is really well planned for fabulous up close views. This is an awesome thing to do.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Moo499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We took the ice mini trekking, it was amazing. We thought it was going to be a short walk but not at all, you are about two hours walking in the glaciers with special outfit. Violet and Walter were our guides , both great, not only they were funny but they were always checking that we were safe. We really enjoyed our tour. It’s an all day tour as you first go to the pasarelas were you can see a lot of desprendimientos and afterwards go on a boat next to the glaciers. The boat leaves you in a refugio were you trek to the second place with your tour guide, the trek is also so beautiful. The second place is the area were they put you your grampones to walk on ice. At the end they give you whisky with glacier ice and some chocolates. We also had the luxury to get into a natural glacier cave which was out of this world!.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank MariaJTorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Our group did the Safari Nautico which is the boat ride to the face of the glacier. The boat is comfortable and provides a pleasant ride. The trip lasts an hour with about a 15 minute ride in each direction.You get to spend about 30 minutes cruising and drifting in front of the glacier. There is plenty of time to get all the pictures you could possibly want and to put the camera down and soak in the beauty of God's creation. If the boat is full outside space will be at a premium so station yourself in a seat near one of the doorways leading outside.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Pruguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hielo y Aventura also viewed

El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Hielo y Aventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing