We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable. Tasty. The view!”
Review of Stag

Stag
Reserve with OpenTable
Stag is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Enjoy one of the gastronomic destinations with the best panoramic view of Lake Nahuel Huapi and the mountains of Bariloche. The menu is varied and international. During the dinner service we surprise our guests with an Amuse-bouche that our Chef creates for our visitors every day. It highlights the delicacy of the flavors that are achieved in the preparation and presentation of regional dishes such as trout and Patagonian lamb. We recommend the Corn and camembert cheese creme brulée with tomato chutney and pochée eggs with mashed potatoes and Patagonian trout with carrot purée and smoked broccolis and Gigot de cordero con puré de zapallo al café y tomates confitados. You can not fail to taste our homemade pastas that are thought and combined in their flavors. We recommend trout and spinach ravioli cooked with pesto, butter and herbs. The atmosphere is cordial and the lounge on three levels allow you to enjoy in intimacy an incredible view on all the tables located on the panoramic windows.
Reviewed 27 May 2018

I loved it. Cozy, well kept, run by incredibly polite people... the view is probably the star here. Prices are affordable, and waiters make sure you're having a great meal. A must!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank smreumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto Pablo H, Propietario at Stag, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Dear smreumann

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a beautiful review about your experience at Stag
We are so happy to know that you enjoyed the beautiful view, our tasty food and the wonderful service.
We look forward to welcoming you back again one day.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

We had an incredible time at Stag. Gourmet food at decent prices. Outstanding service by Ignacio and her lovely (spanish?) assistant. We'll surely come back!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank jcd754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto Pablo H, Propietario at Stag, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Dear JC D

Thank you for your beautiful review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time at Stag.
We're so glad that you enjoyed the gourmet food and the outstanding service.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

We had an exceptional, affordable dinner at Stag that easily rivaled or bested other fine-dining restaurants during our trip to Argentina. If you're looking for amazing views of the lake, this is your place. If you're looking for delicious wine that doesn't come at too much of a mark-up, this is your place. And if you're looking for outstanding food, this is your place. We shared a lamb appetizer and trout and pork belly entrees. The chef's attention to detail did not go unnoticed. For example, the lamb was coupled with a sauce that included olive oil and diced tomatoes that both looked and tasted excellent. The trout was perfectly cooked and paired with olives and capers. And the pork belly came with some of the creamiest mashed potatoes I've ever had. Generous entree portions. Great service.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jenniferkR160EX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto Pablo H, Propietario at Stag, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear Jennifer

Thank you for your visit and for taking the time to write this excellent review.
We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your dinner at Stag.
We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

I can't start this review without making reference to the view. The view of the lake while you enjoy a wonderful dinner time worths the 8 km driving from downtown Bariloche to playa bonita. If on top you have full moon as we had, bingo, this is your place! The restaurant is within the charming hotel premises and as the hotel name announces is indeed a really charming place. The service is excellent and likewise the food and great Argentinian wine. I couldn't avoid the tentation of ordering poached egg flavored with truffles and local pasta with seafood. My wife had very tasty caramelized onion pie and lamb. Altogether the food was good with some minus for the little taste of the shrimps in the pasta and the lamb dish could have improved with a bit more juice, which was not enough for a well served portion.

The spectacular view and excellent service compensates these two black spots, which in any case should not prevent from giving a good rating to the place, just to encourage the owners to improve a bit to reach perfection.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Manuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto Pablo H, Propietario at Stag, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Manuel

Thank you so much for writing a great review about your experience at Stag.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the wonderful view at night and the romantic spirit of our restaurant.
We really appreciate your comments about the food and service.
We hope you come back and visit us again the next time you are in Bariloche.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Can’t say enough good things about this place. We arrived on New Years Eve mid day without plans for the evening. It was suggested that we join for the pre fixed dinner that evening and although it was expensive, we decided to join. Dinner was well worth the expense - an amazing multi course meal with each course beautiful to the eyes as well as the palate.

We ended up returning on one of the following days and ordered off the menu. Much less expensive, but the food was still amazing. We tried the fondue and our daughter had fish. Everything was perfectly prepared.

Definitely take the time to make a reservation and eat here. As an added bonus, the views are spectacular.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank sisterpv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto Pablo H, Propietario at Stag, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Dear Sisterpv

Thank you for taking some of you precious time to write a review about Stag.
We appreciate your lovely feedback. I am delighted you had such a great time and I have shared you kind comments with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stag also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Stag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing