We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Very interesting

When you think about a bottle made house, the first thing that comes to your mind is that is a... read more

Reviewed 26 July 2018
GiulianoFilippini
,
Vina del Mar, Chile
via mobile
Very cool to visit

We stopped on the way to the airport - well worth the visit. We speak English, and the guide spoke... read more

Reviewed 18 June 2018
brentling
,
NZ
Read all 306 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Puerto Iguazu
from US$105,00
More Info
from US$690,00
More Info
from US$142,06
More Info
from US$92,23
More Info
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
98
105
70
22
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
105
70
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plastic bottles recycled materials landfill project discarded pesos falls
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2017

The tour was conducted in Spanish, which I do not speak well, but that took nothing away from just how incredible the work here is. From what I understood, after losing his job in 2001 due to a recession, the owner began collecting discarded items to recycle to earn enough money to feed his family. He eventually went on to build small, and then big houses, with drainage systems, beds, chairs, brushes, toys, cloths, bags etc etc made entirely from recycled bottles and cartons (and car tyre table!).

He's not only helping to recycle thousands of otherwise landfill-destined items but ensuring the poorest people across the country are introduced to the techniques so they can build themselves shelter as well.

The tour lasts less than an hour and although i didn't understand most of it I was still mesmerised at the creativity, simplicity and workmanship.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredo Alberto S, Propietario at La Casa de Las Botellas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017
Google Translation

Mucha gracias por su visita y el comentario realizado, desde ya lo estaremos esperando para una nueva visita, ya que siempre estamos inovando nuestra propuesta será Hasta la próxima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

This is definitely worth a visit if you are in town. The creator invented a system to make walls and create livable homes out of material that is usually discarded. He then goes out to poorer localities and teaches people how to create similar homes. We were given a tour (in Spanish) by the son of the founder. We were very impressed and grateful we had made the stop to see this non-tourist "one of a kind" place.

Date of experience: April 2017
2  Thank marciadiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredo Alberto S, Propietario at La Casa de Las Botellas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario y su visita es muy grato saber que salio satisfecho de como cerca nuestro trabajo saludos Alfredo y Familia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

This man in my book deserves a nobel prize. He came up worth an idea for his own daughter to give her-her dream of a doll house and it turned into the ability to provide so many in the world a home. Humbled by the ability to meet him, and hear his story...one idea can spark a fire among the world...today i was blessed to be warmed by that fire!

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank CindiRN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 October 2016
Google Translation

Gracias por la visita de ustedes y por el comentario un gran abrazo será Hasta la próxima. ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

This house of recycled materials is conveniently located near the Falls. Trust me, this is awesome. It's Pinterest on steroids. All the ways the owner reuses every-day materials is amazing. Definitely worth a visit!

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank aaronerdmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

We were really wowed by the creativity & ingenuity this family has put into the home, decor & crafts made almost entirely of bottles & other plastic materials that would otherwise end up in a landfill. We didn't know what to expect of the house of bottles, but were so glad we made the effort to get there. The family is so friendly/welcoming & they have great enthusiasm/passion for this amazing project. We came away with great ideas for projects in our own home & garden using plastic materials. The entry price is not cheap, but is well worth it in our opinion. We learned a lot & are supporting a great endeavor. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank lodochica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredo Alberto S, Propietario at La Casa de Las Botellas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2016
Google Translation

Gracias por dejar su comentario, es de gran valor para nosotros, el ingreso es destinado al mantenimiento del proyecto, mano de obra de los colaboradores, y parte de los gastos que se generan de los seminarios talleres "gratuitos" tratando de voluntarios que generen un efecto multiplicador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews