We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”

La Casa de Las Botellas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

We have visited this house made of plastic bottles. Nice and interesting place. We did not go inside. There were some people, but we probably was there at wrong time.

Thank Jolanta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredo Alberto S, Propietario at La Casa de Las Botellas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Please tell us why you think you were at the wrong time so we can improve the attention to visitors. Alfredo y Familia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"plastic bottles"
in 4 reviews
"landfill"
in 3 reviews
"recycled"
in 3 reviews
"material"
in 3 reviews
"pesos"
in 2 reviews
"falls"
in 2 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017

The tour was conducted in Spanish, which I do not speak well, but that took nothing away from just how incredible the work here is. From what I understood, after losing his job in 2001 due to a recession, the owner began collecting discarded items to recycle to earn enough money to feed his family. He eventually went on to build small, and then big houses, with drainage systems, beds, chairs, brushes, toys, cloths, bags etc etc made entirely from recycled bottles and cartons (and car tyre table!).

He's not only helping to recycle thousands of otherwise landfill-destined items but ensuring the poorest people across the country are introduced to the techniques so they can build themselves shelter as well.

The tour lasts less than an hour and although i didn't understand most of it I was still mesmerised at the creativity, simplicity and workmanship.

Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredo Alberto S, Propietario at La Casa de Las Botellas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017
Google Translation

Mucha gracias por su visita y el comentario realizado, desde ya lo estaremos esperando para una nueva visita, ya que siempre estamos inovando nuestra propuesta será Hasta la próxima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

This is definitely worth a visit if you are in town. The creator invented a system to make walls and create livable homes out of material that is usually discarded. He then goes out to poorer localities and teaches people how to create similar homes. We were given a tour (in Spanish) by the son of the founder. We were very impressed and grateful we had made the stop to see this non-tourist "one of a kind" place.

1  Thank marciadiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredo Alberto S, Propietario at La Casa de Las Botellas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario y su visita es muy grato saber que salio satisfecho de como cerca nuestro trabajo saludos Alfredo y Familia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

This man in my book deserves a nobel prize. He came up worth an idea for his own daughter to give her-her dream of a doll house and it turned into the ability to provide so many in the world a home. Humbled by the ability to meet him, and hear his story...one idea can spark a fire among the world...today i was blessed to be warmed by that fire!

Thank CindiRN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 October 2016
Google Translation

Gracias por la visita de ustedes y por el comentario un gran abrazo será Hasta la próxima. ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

This house of recycled materials is conveniently located near the Falls. Trust me, this is awesome. It's Pinterest on steroids. All the ways the owner reuses every-day materials is amazing. Definitely worth a visit!

Thank aaronerdmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Casa de Las Botellas also viewed

Puerto Iguazu, Province of Misiones
Puerto Iguazu, Province of Misiones
 
Puerto Iguazu, Province of Misiones
Puerto Iguazu, Province of Misiones
 

Been to La Casa de Las Botellas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing