We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“want to know about Colonial times? Get in!”

Museo Historico Provincial Marques de Sobre Monte
Ranked #19 of 122 things to do in Cordoba
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cordoba’s first Spanish governor lived and worked in this spacious colonial house, which is filled with furniture, rifles, saddles, military uniforms and other 18th-century artifacts.
Reviewed 23 April 2018

With a large house and a business house, it shows the details of colonial life. objects, customs and an atmosphere that transports in time are the elements of this visit to another time.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Anibal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
Filter

1 - 5 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2017

Easily reached from Plaza San Martin this small old house gives an interesting glimpse into the life of an important family in the 1700s . Simply furnished, we could see the family quarters, the entertaining rooms and the slaves' living area - what a tiny kitchen! We had not expected such an interesting hour and thoroughly recommend a visit. Tickets only cost $15 pesos each and the room descriptions in English were enlightening.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank davidandsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We were walking in the center of Córdoba and saw the house that is beautifully kept. The guides were lounging in the hall, I doubt they speak languages, we paid our entrance fee and walked round the house, we are Argentine and know a bit of the history, the house show how the original owners lived with antique furniture and clothes. We had the luxury of someone playing the organ for us as we walked in the building. The organ is very old.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank yvonnecorbett_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016

This museum was nothing special, but an okay way to spend a couple of hours. Most of the rooms are decorated as they would have been in colonial times, with accompanying info. There are also a couple of rooms with items like weapons, silver, crockery and even musical instruments. The info has English translations but they are appalling - actually we got a lot of enjoyment from reading them, they are quite funny! Should really be updated though. It was free to go in on the day we went as it was the 25th of May (a national holiday). May be free on weekends too but I'm not entirely sure!

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Thelastdodo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This place gives you a good idea of the style of the time (300 years ago).Was oine of the first permanent buildfigs in colonial Cordoba. Small number of interesting exhibits. Few visitors. Small entrance charge. Near the centre of town, i reckon it is worth half an hour of your time..

Date of experience: April 2013
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museo Historico Provincial Marques de Sobre Monte also viewed

 
Cordoba, Province of Cordoba
 

Been to Museo Historico Provincial Marques de Sobre Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing