We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The More I Go, The more I Discover, The Better it is!!”
Review of La Carniceria

La Carniceria
Ranked #86 of 6 412 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Argentinian, Barbecue, Steakhouse, Grill
Neighbourhood: Palermo
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Palermo
Reviewed 21 September 2017

This place is so good, its one of those that you don't want the news out. But the owners are so cool, that you just have to tell the Gourmet Meat World.

Well since my first review of this place, back in March, which coincided with my first visit, I can only say WOW!!!!

Whats it been now? Close to 10 times? Yea...

I have gotten to know all the players there. Some of them know me as the meat Loving Cuban From Miami.. This place rocks!!

It's small, make sure you have reservations and get there on time! they won't wait for more than 10 minutes, there is a crowd outside waiting to get in, so arrive early!

Just about any meat you ask for is Fantastic, for those that like Smoked Meat, it's among the very best not only in the city, but in the Americas, and yes that includes the famous US places in Kansas, Texas, Chicago, etc..

Service is outstanding, you feel like family, but it's also very efficient. Gourmet creativity is 100 out of 10 points! The Mollejas, are crispy, just right sweet side, just perfect!

The provolone is also a must, not just your regular provoleta! Don't want to spoil it, so that is all I will say about that.

The Drinks there are laid back but sophisticated, hell the whole place is laid back, but with just the right touch of deliciousness, friendliness and efficiency.

Dessert? I haven't had it, haven't been able to get that far!! I hear it's great though.

Really guys, girls, don't miss this...

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 2lifeadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 79 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017

Had a great dinner here. 6 of us. Very small place, So make sure to make a reservation well ahead, like days ahead. This place is all about MEAT. So if you enjoy beef, pork, venison you will be in heaven. I had a HUGE rib-eye steak, and side vegetables, and all was delicious. Very nice wine selection too, that was not over the top expensive, very affordable. Best thing about this place other than amazing food, was the price point. Being a San Franciscan from the U.S., the prices for what you get here are off the hook. Be ready and be hungry! Quantity and quality here. It's a do-not-miss if you are in Buenos Aires and love great food.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cogster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

We went here on a recommendation from a friend. As others state, it's a small space, so nab a reservation ahead of time.

Service was stupendous. Both waiters servicing us spoke excellent English - not required for us, but very helpful nonetheless because we understand basic Spanish and phrases but we aren't fluent. Attentive but not overbearing, with good recommendations and suggestions.

The food was really good. Sweetbreads the best we've had - anywhere. Housemade chorizo could have had more spice but was still great (and served in a skillet with potatoes, eggs, and peas - kind of a riff on breakfast?). We elected for the bife de chorizo (ribeye) and smoked beef ribs. Both were good - and very different, which made sharing enjoyable. One of the ribs was a tad dry, but this is with a very critical eye. Portions are huge, which meant for the two of us we couldn't order any veggie sides (the mains themselves have very small veg with them - slightly more than just a garnish). Unlike most grills in Buenos Aires, the meat was not under-seasoned.

We had two desserts - leche asado (kind of a firm flan) and the quince bread pudding. Good, but not standouts. For future visits we may consider skipping and trying some of the vegetable sides.

Soda water served old-school with your own siphon. Nice cocktail list - a rarity in Buenos Aires. Good wine selection.

Prices are on the higher side for Buenos Aires; this would be considered "upmarket" though not "fine dining". More of a hipster place, with a well-executed menu, great ambience and decor, and superior service.

Portion sizes suggest more than 2 people can benefit from dining together, allowing more variety. Four people could easily split 3 or even 2 mains, along with some appetizers and sides. Be warned, more than 4 people and you'll almost certainly have extras seated at the 'ends' of a four-top rather than have more tables pushed together. The place really is quite small and they attempt to maximize seating. Understandable, but uncomfortable I'm sure.

We will be back.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tungstencoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

The best smoked beef that I ever ate .i recommend .the price is the same that we have in the expensively place in Brazil

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank doctrindade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

This is a place where the beef rules. And it does it magnificent! We had the Corte Parilla, a wonderful piece of meat. And the wine call El Bife 2015 which is a malbec that goes perfect with this meal. If you do not like meat, stay away. But if you love it, this is the place to be. Reservation necessary.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank msamson04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Carniceria also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to La Carniceria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing