We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful location, great to relax and unwind”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Candidasa, Karangasem, Bali

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
duomiduom...
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Far below expectations”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Terrible experience. Villa Chandra nearly ruined our trip because my husband and son got so sick (see below) we had to check out early, and lost $600. It is not luxury nor romantic as advertised given its rustic conditions and the owners' total disregard for privacy. Poor value for money, unsafe for children, and worst of all, an owner who did not care for the safety nor privacy of our family. There are so many great villas in Bali--Villa Chandra is not one of them.

This place is not luxurious as the ad would have you believe--Villa Chandra is more like a rustic, cheap ecolodge in an overgrown garden, with critters (huge spiders, lizards, cockroaches, red ants) EVERYWHERE . A/C in one room only (the unattractive downstairs room) and common dining/living area uninviting, hot and generally dirty. We felt like we were camping.

IF YOU HAVE ANY SORT OF HAY FEVER, POLLEN, OR TREE ALLERGIES, DO NOT STAY HERE. My husband and baby had such bad respiratory problems that we had to leave early. We hoped to get just a night or two of our 10-nights stay back. The owner returned none of our money. He did help us obtain medicine, but this--the strongest steroidal treatment--did not work.

When I approached him to share my critique of the place upon checking out, he slammed the door in my face while I was carrying my six-month-old son.

IF YOU HAVE SMALL KIDS, DO NOT STAY HERE. There are 5 to 15-foot drops without railings in the bedrooms, swimming pool area, along the stairs and the dining/living area. We couldn't take our eyes of our kids for a second. The baby bed provided was made of bamboo, which my toddler easily took apart. Beyond that, huge spiders in the beds, red ants in the bathrooms, a hornets nest over the pool. We worried for our kids safety when they played and slept.

IF YOU WANT PRIVACY, DO NOT STAY HERE. The owner Mark, who stays next door, enters the grounds whenever he wishes (usually wearing only a sarong). We booked this remote location to get away from people but instead had Mark and his partner Petra coming in and out of the property all day long, from breakfast to late at night.

Many more problems beyond this that I won't get into. All in all, a really horrible experience, unfortunately for us. We were thrilled to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area of Bali is nice and off the beaten track.
Liked least: The villa was horrible.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2015
We were at a complete loss as to how to deal with these guests who were supposedly seasoned travelers (writes travel reviews for the damned New York Times!!)and live in Cambodia (not very different from Bali?) but came to us with some serious pre-existing health issues and no medicines or travel health insurance for the husband or small children/infants. With allergies to flowers (!?) and fruit we tried but were unable to find them specific medicine they then demanded repayment of their money making it clear we would regret it if we didn't cough up.

I am also seriously allergic to blackmail and consequently advised this guest to not let the door hit her as she was leaving and I was also not willing to make a loss on a booking that we could have made to many other happy guests just because they were unable or unwilling to bring medicines for a pre-existing condition that had nothing to do with Villa Chandra, Bali or us.

Please let this be a lesson to all our future guests: make sure you buy a decent travel insurance covering all medical bills and any cancellation costs you may have. Volcanoes, typhoons and flowers happen!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg654
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Peaceful location, great to relax and unwind”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Great views and location away from the hussle and bussle of touristy Bali, but still close enough to walk to town (Jasri), beach (rocky), chocolate factory.
Beautiful villa and surrounding gardens.
Lovely staff, special mention to Alit (not sure of spelling) for his friendliness.
Bit secluded for taxis, if you want them. The private drivers are expensive in comparison to what you could organise.
Good food, they have a menu but you can get anything you ask for.
Loved the upstairs open-air bedroom.
Very peaceful and a great place to relax and unwind.
Wish we had stayed longer

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: peaceful, view
Liked least: not 100% small child friendly,
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
What a lovely and kind review, thank you so very much. I will make sure to tell Alit (name correctly spelled)that you complimented him - he will at first be very embarrassed but then secretly very pleased. AS are we all. Hope to see you all again. Om Swastiastu from all the staff, Petra and Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing