We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
R 3 904
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Kim E
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Shocking cleanliness, bad service.
Review of Majeka House
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Feb 2024
I booked Majeka House for my husbands birthday. We arrived and found approximately 30-40 mosquitoes in our room. We were then offered another room which smelt of strong moth balls. The next morning our breakfast was served cold to us while we sat next to two dead cockroaches on the floor. We asked staff to remove them, when we checked up if they had been removed the staff members told us that there were no cockroaches found, however we went to check and they had in fact been removed, so we were made to feel like liars. It's not often I leave a bad review but our whole experience was absolutely shocking. I have since emailed the hotel three times to ask for a refund for our stay, and have not had a single reply. Absolutely unacceptable when I am paying close on R4000 for a five start hotel, we had to leave early and cancel our spa reservation with them because we wanted to get out. Not good enough.
Date of stay: February 2024
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
R 4 857
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 344
  • Algotels
3.3 km from Majeka House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    R 2 610
  • Algotels
3.3 km from Majeka House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    R 1 914
  • Algotels
3.3 km from Majeka House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    R 5 390
  • Hotels.com
7.7 km from Majeka House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outside Sign
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    R 743
  • Agoda.com
    R 626
  • Hotels.com
    R 750
3.3 km from Majeka House
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    R 4 669
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 382
5.5 km from Majeka House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 12 812
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
4.5 km from Majeka House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 200
  • Trip.com
    R 2 798
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 126
8.3 km from Majeka House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    R 1 583
  • Algotels
10.8 km from Majeka House
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    R 3 400
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 413
15.3 km from Majeka House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Stellenbosch
Reviews (814)
Filter reviews
814 results
Traveller rating
615
134
32
14
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
615
134
32
14
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews attention to detail private pool cape town mountain view spa lloyd luxury uber stylish stellenbosh tranquil establishment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 814 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2024

Small secluded lodge in a nice area of Stellenbosch. Creative an colorful interior, yet it has seen its best times. Especially the pool area would welcome a renewal. The room was nice. The bathroom flooring in the toilet and shower area does not meet sanitary expectations as the are wooden planks

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Day

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the decor, interior and room. We constantly maintain and upgrade areas that we feel need improvement, like the shower floors where we replace damaged sections.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2024

It was ok overall, but ultimately not worth the money. My main gripe was really with how they handled a complaint of ours. During our stay the weather was hot which meant it was very uncomfortable sleeping at night without the air conditioning - on our final night the aircon started dripping water. We flagged this to reception but were told that the hotel was fully booked so our options were to try and sleep with a loud dripping noise or no aircon. Needles to say it was not a great night's sleep. I understand these things happen, but I don't see how a hotel can justify charging full price in a situation like this. We had already paid full in advance, but I felt a partial refund was warranted for the final night. I explained this, but could tell they didn't care. No sign of management willing to engage on the matter (just excuses as to why they weren't availableto speak to me) - ultimately it was clear they didn't care.

At the end of the day it was relatively expensive to stay here. Staff are relatively polite, but the hotel is in need of modernising.

There are a lot of hotels and guesthouses in the area, shop around and look for better value.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank brendana687
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Day

Thank you for your review, we value all feedback from our guests.

We are sorry to hear that the aircon unit was not operating at full capacity, unfortunately mechanical units break without warning and as mentioned it was not possible to move you to another room because of the hotel being fully booked. We would have gladly moved you if we were able to as we do not want our guests to have a bad sleeping experience. With regards to management not being available to speak to you personally I will address this matter with the management team to ensure all guests need are attended to. Thank you for pointing out that our staff are polite as we strive to give the best service possible.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2023

We had a lovely stay at Majeka House, we loved our room with our private pool(a little to cold to go in :-) but made use of the heated pool at the main area of the hotel. The staff were so helpful offered to order Uber and wine-tasting during our stay. The food was fantastic, bar was lovely and cosy with a blazing fire. Only 10 minutes into the centre of Stellenbosch. Look forward to staying with you again in the future.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2023

What a disgusting hotel. I arrived in a room that had severe mould damage and smell. LOOK at my PHOTOS below—thick dust under the bed. The pool was not warm, and the jacuzzi was STILL out of order. Very
Run down hotel with staff that never apologised once when approached about the severe mould and water damage. My
6 month old and wife had to try find a place after arriving late to this terrible room that they clearly thought was ok for a 5 star guest house. Who in their right mind has the audacity to expect people to sleep in a room like this. Not normal behaviour

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Excursion32272612849
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2023

Good Day.

Thank you for your review, we value each and every review.

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the state of the room that you were allocated and apologize for the experience and inconvenience. We can assure you that this is not the way we want to portray the property to our guests, and I have investigated the sate of the room personally with our maintenance team. We have experienced heavy rain in the last week and this has subsequently added to the water damage inside the walls and this room specifically was affected heavily. The dust under the bed was discussed with our housekeeping team and they were instructed to make sure that this does not happen again.
We are currently fixing the jacuzzi, that has a leak underneath the floorboard, which resulted in the repair company having to lift it out completely to find the fault. The inside heated pool will unfortunately loose heat when we have longer loadshedding periods, which was the case. We currently have inverter batteries for back up power but they cannot reheat the pool in time when the loadshedding stages reach 4 hours or more on a regular basis. We inform our guest accordingly before this happens if we get notified in time.

I hope that we can welcome you back to Majeka House in the near future to showcase what the property is known for and should look like.

Kind Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2023

We had a very average stay at Majeka House in April this year while attending a 50th function of a friend of ours. They had no generator in place to accommodate guests with loadshedding and so as a result we had darkness on leaving in the evening and waking up in the morning, no tea or coffee was possible in our rooms, hairdrying for an event impossible and a very average breakfast as they could not make coffee or hot food. For the price of this hotel I would have expected a far better experience. WE woke in the morning to pouring rain and there were leaks all over the hotel, so clearly not well maintained at all. I don't think we will be staying there again in a hurry.

Room tip: Dont go while SA in loadshedding....
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank angielander1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews