We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$238
View Deal
Expedia.com
US$238
View Deal
Agoda.com
US$279
US$199
View Deal
SAVE US$80
Booking.comUS$279
eDreamsUS$279
TripadvisorUS$200
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (784)
Filter reviews
784 results
Traveller rating
604
129
28
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
604
129
28
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews makaron restaurant indoor pool semi private pool spa treatments attention to detail interior design boutique hotel steam room cape town wine country south africa main restaurant stellenbosch area sommelier luxury uber honeymoon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 784 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2021

We enjoyed 100% our staying at Majeka House. When we arrived the friendly staff (following all the Covid-19 protocols) welcomed us. We went to the lounge for coffee and a drink while we were waiting for our room to be ready. The room was amazing with a mountain view and was sparkling of cleanliness. The pool was the best thing in this hot day and then we had a really nice lunch, everything was fresh and tasteful. Beds are huge and sooo comfortable!!! Definitely we recommend Majeka House.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank intzogloueirini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2020

I absolutely enjoyed my stay at Majeka House. The staff were friendly, service was outstanding, rooms were beautiful and the food was divine. I enjoyed every minute of my experience. Room service was fantastic and I honestly felt at home. I would highly recommend this beautiful boutique hotel. It has so much charm and character and I just loved the Mountain View room which I got to experience. Will be back again soon.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nicolegentry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2020 via mobile

We had an amazing time at Majeka House. The room was spacious and comfy, staff is nice and competent, the food served at the restaurant and the bar was excellent - some of the best we have had since we moved to South Africa about 10 months ago. We also tried the spa and were very happy of the treatment we got. A lot of locals are coming to MH to support their business during the pandemic, this also tells about their relationship with their community.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank fredericsese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2020

We are at the end of August 2020 and still in lockdown in South Africa! I was absolutely delighted when I could finally book my staycation at Majeka House in Stellenbosch when we moved to Level 2 earlier this month.

It is hard to believe that this beautiful tranquil is in the center of Stellenbosch! With a bold, plush, highly individual style, this small luxury hotel with beautiful gardens and destination restaurant ake for a seductive escape. In fact, Condé Nast Johansens pits Majeka House as the 2017 Award Winner of the Best Design Hotel in the Luxury Hotels.

Dining at Majeka House’s Makaron Restaurant makes for the perfect date night venue. It was my 3rd time having dinner at Makaron, and it is still by far one of the best dining experience venues in the Wine Lands.

Due to COVID-19 hotels can no longer offer a buffet breakfast option to their guests. However, I absolutely loved the fact that Majeka House offered all their guest their own little breakfast buffet experience on their tables, which ensure that it was safe to enjoy this little luxury.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LorindaVoges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2020

We stayed at Majeka house for two nights in mid february 2020. Our travel agency booked a room for us for two nights in order to visit the wine area.
On arrival, the road was under construction and we could not access the hotel without the help of workers... The hotel got our email and phone number but nobody took time to give a phone call to warn us. It would have been a good idea to warn guests before they arrived, specially those who rent a car in order not to get asphalt on the car !!
The staff was friendly on arrival for check in. The room was not ready before the end of the afternoon.
The room was located on the ground floor. Design is not so bad but needs to be renewed... And PVC windows and doors are not really a good choice...
Bedding was good. Large bathroom but due to water restrictions in South Africa, towels and sheets are not renewed for two days : it is a little bit surprising since it was 37°C degrees outside during the week-end and we need to have shower several times a day because of the really hot weather... For a five star hotel, it is a management mistake I think...
Breakfast was really good. The breakfast buffet was really nice with lots of fresh products. You can order any eggs you like. The staff is really friendly and efficient.
We have dinner once at Majeka Kitchen : the food was really good also and the price list is really cheap for such quality in comparison with Europe.
The atmosphere in the hotel was a little bit strange.... nobody in the bar, only one or two families in the swimming pool aera...and the need of improvement works...
And the most unforgivable fact was power failures ! On the first night, one power failure during the night, why not. But on the second night, the power failure lasted so long than we needed to leave the hotel in the dark since it was the total black out at 5am. Since our flight was quite early in Cape Town international airport, we needed to leave early. We were alone, with Iphone lights, to cross the hotel, go across the lobby to reach the car. We just left the key on the front desk, nobody to help, no solution for reducing the inconvenience associated with the power failure...!! It's a shame !!!
Even if neighbourhood needs to be quiet, they need to use their generator for so long power failures. On the contrary, just close and do not receive guests if you can not give them the insurance of a real 5 stars service !
We will definitely not recommend Majeka house hotel. The only point of interest is Majeka kitchen...

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julienetsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2020

Dear julienetsteph,

First of all thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for fairly complimenting our staff welcome as well as our breakfast and diner offering.

Unfortunately we apologize for the road works debacle, we were not even informed ourselves, and when calling the municipality on that morning they could hardly tell us what was going on and how long it would last. Had we been aware of the road works we would definitely have informed our clients checking in. This lasted a day and a half and we found the worked extremely professional.

Regarding linen, it is clearly indicated that we will only change the linen if you leave them in the bath tub and not otherwise. You might be aware that our country has suffered water shortage for 2 consecutive years and that some drastic measures were taken in hotels to survive this. Some of these measures have been left in place to avoid getting back into this situation.

We are sorry about the fact that you suffered the lad shedding that this country has been experiencing for the past years. We have some municipal rules in our area and one of them is to respect others and therefore not using any generators from 10pm to 7am, we apply this rule. Looking at your reservation you did not inform us that you were leaving so early as normally we inform our security guard who is there to assist with luggage and fast check-out.

Wishing to stay very safe in such difficult times.

Kind regards

Karine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews