We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
649 results
Traveller rating
499
108
24
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
499
108
24
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews makaron restaurant indoor pool premier room semi private pool macaroons great spa spa treatments interior design attention to detail boutique hotel mountain view cape town a real treat wine country world class top class beautiful garden
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 649 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2017

An ideal place for your trip around Stellenbosch. the dinner in the Restaurant was outstanding, also the breakfast. The rooms were large and clean, but a little bit to cold in winter. The style-mixture in the hotel is "quite complex" (i.e. a variation of modern, classic, landhouse, art-deco) but that is okay

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Berlin-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Berlin-JP,

Thank you very much for all the compliments you left us on your stay at Majeka House.

The service and kitchen team are particularly pleased that you enjoyed the experience at Makaron.

Our decoration is really about the old new again, and we are glad that in the end you enjoyed it!

Many kind regards

Karine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Went for a family wedding and was very impressed. Staff were fantastic, so friendly and helpful. Especially Wonder. It is a small boutique hotel, and my party had 3 rooms, all were differently styled which i thought was cool.
The breakfast was also amazing, so much choice, would put a big 5* hotel to shame with how it was presented and the quality
If your planning a stay at the wine route ... then this is a great place to stay

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank darrenhjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear darrenhjb,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on this forum with such positive comments.

We loved having your family wedding at Majeka House and hope to welcome you all back very soon!

The kitchen and service team are particularly pleased with your comments on the breakfast display.

Kind regards

Karine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

A truly boutique hotel which has a high quality feel about it with all the appropriate finishes. The rooms are very well appointed. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud. The food was delicious and the bar was beautifully decorated. Sadly we were only there for the night and didn't have time to enjoy the full facilities like the spacious indoor pool, but were nonetheless impressed. Worth staying at if you decide to take in Stellebosch, Franschoek and surrounds.

Room Tip: Try get a room away from the main building
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Richard D,

Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback on your experience at Majeka House.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and longer during a future Winelands visit.

kind regards

Karine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Rate 4 stars. Expected more of the hotel. It's quite old and needs a revamp and an outside pool. Reception smells of chemicals from the pool area. Very poor wifi service. No wifi in hotel area only in rooms but very slow

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank genevievechasec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Genevieve,

We are very sorry to read that you felt we did not meet with your expectations.

Just to rectify, we will be celebrating our 10th anniversary next November and renovated the entire hotel in 2011. Every year we close for 1 month to revamp an area of the hotel.

We do have 3 outdoor pools which are private to other rooms, and our indoor pool is actually the only used at the moment due to the terrible drought that the Western Cape is experiencing.

Our WIFI does not work in the M Lounge, because of the concrete beam, but is in normal working condition in all other areas of the hotel - reception, restaurant or spa.

Kind regards

Karine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Excelent experience.
Wonderfull kitchen with small plates to try and assort with local wines and amazing spa.
Great massage to relax your muscles after winetasting.
Looking forward to come here again in the next future.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank danielthedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear danielthedoc,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and definitely look forward to welcoming you back again in the next future.

Many kind regards

Karine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews