We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Majeka House
Nearby Hotels
US$172
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
US$113
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spier Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$138
US$128
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Werf Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$164
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devon Valley Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$152
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stellenbosch Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$112
US$106
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Eendracht Hotel(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beautiful South Guest House(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (618)
Filter reviews
618 results
Traveller rating
476
102
23
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
476
102
23
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmakaron restaurantindoor poolpremier roomsemi private poolmacaroonsgreat spaspa treatmentssteam roomattention to detailboutique hotelinterior designmountain viewcape towna real treatwine countrytop classsouth africa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 618 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2017

A good hotel with very helpful and friendly staff. Excellent large bedroom with some interesting features - particularly the painted ceiling (a la Da Vinci). And a silent air con ! All very well maintained.
First night we ate in the bar. A mediocre salad followed by a very good crème caramel.
For breakfast there was plenty of choice but disappointed with the rubbery omelette.
We were looking forward to dinner in the Makaron restaurant. We had been advised to book a table when we made the Hotel booking back in January, and were also sent a sample menu which looked very good.
I can only describe the meal as dreadful. There was not a single thing which we enjoyed. The waiter did not seem to care that we did not enjoy the meal and nor did the receptionist when we complained during our check out the following morning. Maybe the chef did not turn up for the Friday night we ate there.
I have regretted the fact that we actually paid for this meal ever since.
I have written a separate review of the Makaron.
The Hotel itself is good, in a nice location, but a little out of town so best to have your own transport to access some of the restaurants in Stellenbosch.

Room Tip: 208 nice ground floor room but no views
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear Peter D,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed Majeka House and of course very disappointed that your experience at Makaron or any other part of our food and beverage offering did not meet with your expectation.

Both the restaurant manager and the receptionist reported your impression to us and we have take your comments up with our kitchen team.

Kind regards

Karine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Majeka House is very nicely decorated with a lot of quirky details. This hotel probably wouldn’t suit everyone but I loved it!

Although slightly away from the town centre, it is the ideal base to explore the shops, galleries, museums of Stellenbosch as well as all the vineyards and restaurants of the surrounding countryside.

We ate in the restaurant - Makaron - one of the top restaurants in Africa. Wow! The staff are on hand, delightful, friendly and want to help you with everything. After dinner, be sure to go into the bar which has a lovely ambience and a great cocktail list!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear Gemma H,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Majeka House and shared your experience on this forum.

The restaurant team is particularly pleased to have satisfied your palate and met with your service expectations.

We hope to welcome you very soon back at Majeka House.

Kind regards

Karine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Truly exceptional boutique hotel in a quiet neighborhood. Beautiful and very comfortable rooms, incredibly friendly staff members and exceptional service. I highly recommend the establishment whether for business or for pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jnopol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear Jnopol,

The entire team joins me to thank you for taking the time to leave us such a fantastic review about your experience at Majeka House.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and surely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Karine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

It was very nice. Top. Everybody ( the hole staff) was very friendly for us.
It is a place to come relax
Nice Food in the restaurant.
High quality and good wines.
Rooms also very good .
Ons is blij om daar te wees.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ronny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Dear Ronny J,

We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Majeka House.

The entire team joins me to thank you for leaving us such a rewarding review about your time with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Karine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Overall this moderately costing hotel is quite perfect. it is quiet, has lovely rooms, very hlepful friendly service and good but not exceptional food. The buffet breakfast is very good with eggs made to order, good service and a great selction. the inside-outside dinign is great. there is a small guym nice pool and great relaxing areas. This is a quality place. The internet is good but not expceptional but they will help fix any problems ina most prompt manner.

Room Tip: if difficulty with stairs ask for first floor flats.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Dear barry p,

Thank you very much for leaving us such a lovely review about your stay at Majeka House.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere we create, as well as our breakfast offering.

We have made note of your other comments and are glad that our team was able to assist.

Kind regards

Karine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews