We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spier Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$111
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Zalze Lodge(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stellenbosch Hotel(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Werf Hotel(Stellenbosch)
US$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Eendracht Hotel(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bonne Esperance(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (626)
Filter reviews
627 results
Traveller rating
485
102
23
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
485
102
23
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmakaron restaurantindoor poolpremier roomsemi private poolmacaroonsgreat spaspa treatmentsinterior designsteam roomattention to detailboutique hotelmountain viewcape townwine countryworld classtop classbeautiful garden
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 627 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2017

very good boutique hotel in a quiet neighbourhood. Always friendly staff and very good service. Restaurant has good quality but only little choice. Small but very good wine list. Rook neighbours can sometimes be noisy

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ralphe904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear ralphe904,

Thank you very much for your review about Majeka House.

We have made a note about your comments on the menu choices and the kitchen is working on more options.

Hoping to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Karine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

All staff were wonderful, we couldn't fault anything about our stay. The room was large beautiful and quiet and breakfasts were excellent. We didn't have dinner in the restaurant, we took taxis to town each evening.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear Anne M,

Thank you so much for the wonderful comment about your stay at Majeka House.

We hope to welcome you back and have you dine at Makaron the next time!

Kind regards

Karine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Majeka house is a GEM; from the whimsical design aesthetic of the lobby and bar, to the attentive and interesting staff. The spa services are great and affordable and the book selection in the bar was a lovely treat. The room was immaculately appointed. A shame about the drought though - as I couldn't use the bathtub, which had a view into the room.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank canadianabroad47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Dear canadianabroad47,

Thank you so much for leaving us such a positive review about your stay with us.

The entire team is delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and services and hope that we will be able to welcome you back as soon as the drought is over so you can enjoy a bath with a view!

Kind regards

Karine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Beautiful property and a nice welcome but it quickly went down in our estimation - some good points as follows:

* Floyd was courteous and charming at all times - a lovely man
* The girls in the dining room were so pleasant and gave good service
* Very nice gardens and pool area
* Very trendy no attractive furniture all over the hotel
* Our room was a good size with all the amenities you would expect
* The breakfast was excellent - lots of choice and great coffee

Bad points:

- The wifi was terrible - slow and unobtainable at times. Every time you left an area you had to log in again. When we complained, we were told that that was due to the fact that they didn't want too much data being used when you were not actually on your device? Another excuse on departure was that it was like that in South Africa!
- The hotel public pathways and doorways to rooms and general outside maintenance was in need of attention.
- The paper was coming way from the ceiling in our room
- The seal on the bottom of the shower door was coming away and when I told them at reception, it had been removed totally when I next went to my room - consequently when we showered, water spelled onto the bathroom floor.
- The toilet brush was really dirty and should be thrown away
- We had to carry our own suitcases up to our room on arrival - no offer for them to be taken up - unbelievable! We could have asked but it was supposed to be a 5 star hotel and you should not have to ask!
- For anyone who wants transport to stellenbosch, get the hotel to phone for a taxi - although when we ordered our taxi, we were provided with a private hire car as according to Wonder, there were no taxis in stellenbosch! If you google, you will see that there are. We had to pay Rand 150 for one way in - what a rip off. We got an Uber cab home at a cost of Rand 57!!
- We ate in the restaurant the first night and it was so bright in there and felt like a canteen - no atmosphere. The food was okay but I felt it was overly pretentious and my husband had a very bad stomach upset overnight and the only thing he ate differently to me for the previous 24 hours was the Springbok, so had to put it down to that!
-When we checked out we paid by cash and had to remind the girl on reception to give us our change!

Overall, we feel that it is definitely style over substance and the vibe we had whilst staying for three nights was not good.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lizzie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Dear Lizzie P,

Thank you very much for your review.

We have made note of all your comments and will make sure that our team is informed of the fault that you found whilst staying with us.

Kind regards

Karine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Majeka is a truly exceptional establishment with incredibly friendly staff memebers and exceptional service. I highly recommend the establishment whether for business or for pleasure. I look forward to revisiting Majeka on my next stay in Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nchaupek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Dear nchaupek,

Thank you very much for leaving us such a positive review about your experience at Majeka House.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and particularly our team's service delivery.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Stellenbosch soon!

Kind regards

Karine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews