We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service, lovely rooms, solid buffet breakfast, internet is reasonable”
Review of Majeka House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Majeka House
Ranked #3 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Overall this moderately costing hotel is quite perfect. it is quiet, has lovely rooms, very hlepful friendly service and good but not exceptional food. The buffet breakfast is very good with eggs made to order, good service and a great selction. the inside-outside dinign is great. there is a small guym nice pool and great relaxing areas. This is a quality place. The internet is good but not expceptional but they will help fix any problems ina most prompt manner.

Room Tip: if difficulty with stairs ask for first floor flats.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Dear barry p,

Thank you very much for leaving us such a lovely review about your stay at Majeka House.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere we create, as well as our breakfast offering.

We have made note of your other comments and are glad that our team was able to assist.

Kind regards

Karine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
There are newer reviews for Majeka House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2017

very good boutique hotel in a quiet neighbourhood. Always friendly staff and very good service. Restaurant has good quality but only little choice. Small but very good wine list. Rook neighbours can sometimes be noisy

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ralphe904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear ralphe904,

Thank you very much for your review about Majeka House.

We have made a note about your comments on the menu choices and the kitchen is working on more options.

Hoping to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Karine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

All staff were wonderful, we couldn't fault anything about our stay. The room was large beautiful and quiet and breakfasts were excellent. We didn't have dinner in the restaurant, we took taxis to town each evening.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear Anne M,

Thank you so much for the wonderful comment about your stay at Majeka House.

We hope to welcome you back and have you dine at Makaron the next time!

Kind regards

Karine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Majeka house is a GEM; from the whimsical design aesthetic of the lobby and bar, to the attentive and interesting staff. The spa services are great and affordable and the book selection in the bar was a lovely treat. The room was immaculately appointed. A shame about the drought though - as I couldn't use the bathtub, which had a view into the room.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank canadianabroad47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Dear canadianabroad47,

Thank you so much for leaving us such a positive review about your stay with us.

The entire team is delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and services and hope that we will be able to welcome you back as soon as the drought is over so you can enjoy a bath with a view!

Kind regards

Karine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Beautiful property and a nice welcome but it quickly went down in our estimation - some good points as follows:

* Floyd was courteous and charming at all times - a lovely man
* The girls in the dining room were so pleasant and gave good service
* Very nice gardens and pool area
* Very trendy no attractive furniture all over the hotel
* Our room was a good size with all the amenities you would expect
* The breakfast was excellent - lots of choice and great coffee

Bad points:

- The wifi was terrible - slow and unobtainable at times. Every time you left an area you had to log in again. When we complained, we were told that that was due to the fact that they didn't want too much data being used when you were not actually on your device? Another excuse on departure was that it was like that in South Africa!
- The hotel public pathways and doorways to rooms and general outside maintenance was in need of attention.
- The paper was coming way from the ceiling in our room
- The seal on the bottom of the shower door was coming away and when I told them at reception, it had been removed totally when I next went to my room - consequently when we showered, water spelled onto the bathroom floor.
- The toilet brush was really dirty and should be thrown away
- We had to carry our own suitcases up to our room on arrival - no offer for them to be taken up - unbelievable! We could have asked but it was supposed to be a 5 star hotel and you should not have to ask!
- For anyone who wants transport to stellenbosch, get the hotel to phone for a taxi - although when we ordered our taxi, we were provided with a private hire car as according to Wonder, there were no taxis in stellenbosch! If you google, you will see that there are. We had to pay Rand 150 for one way in - what a rip off. We got an Uber cab home at a cost of Rand 57!!
- We ate in the restaurant the first night and it was so bright in there and felt like a canteen - no atmosphere. The food was okay but I felt it was overly pretentious and my husband had a very bad stomach upset overnight and the only thing he ate differently to me for the previous 24 hours was the Springbok, so had to put it down to that!
-When we checked out we paid by cash and had to remind the girl on reception to give us our change!

Overall, we feel that it is definitely style over substance and the vibe we had whilst staying for three nights was not good.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lizzie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Dear Lizzie P,

Thank you very much for your review.

We have made note of all your comments and will make sure that our team is informed of the fault that you found whilst staying with us.

Kind regards

Karine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
3.3 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
7.5 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1 871 reviews
5.5 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 17 in Stellenbosch
632 reviews
3.4 km away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
623 reviews
8.7 km away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#1 of 113 in Stellenbosch
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majeka House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majeka House

Address: 26 Houtkapper Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: R2 286 - R5 381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Majeka House 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner-managed and blissfully private, Majeka House is an ideal base from which to explore the historical town of Stellenbosch with its interesting shops, galleries, museums, and alfresco café culture. Numerous famous vineyards and award-winning restaurants, dotted along the Stellenbosch wine route, are within striking distance. This prime location combines with luxurious accommodation, thoughtful service, a sophisticated bar and restaurant, a professionally run spa and spacious grounds to create what is undoubtedly one of the most stylish boltholes in the Cape Winelands.After extensive renovations and a designer makeover in 2011, Majeka House now boasts 22 rooms and sophisticated yet witty interiors. There are two new luxury mountain suites above the main hotel with large mountain-view balconies, and three new junior garden suites overlooking a shared, exclusive-use pool area. And, while the entire hotel is ‘parent friendly’, there’s also a fully self- contained villa – set apart from the main hotel and with a large private pool and garden – that is designed specifically with families in mind.The new suites were all conceptualised and decorated by interior design wunderkind Etienne Hanekom, who is also responsible for the award-winning interiors of Makaron Restaurant, the lobby and bar. They capture a sense of drama with boldcolours, rich textures and eye-catching custom-designed wallpapers but are also comfortable, inviting spaces for complete rest and relaxation.All contain thoughtful extras, such as comfy Crocs instead of hotel slippers, a Lavazza espresso machine, Wi-Fi internet and a DVD player with a wide choice of movies. The spacious and cleverly designed en suite bathrooms are fragrant with local toiletries made with indigenous plant extracts.In Makaron Restaurant, a stylish, contemporary interior using a clever mix of repurposed and recycled furniture complemented by modern statement pieces has been created. The result is a visually stimulating space that offers extreme comfort and encourages complete immersion in the dining experience. The overall effect is an understated feeling of luxury.Airy and light, the restaurant overlooks lush gardens and leads onto a sheltered terrace for alfresco dining. It is in this stimulating setting that resident chef Tanja Kruger presents her menu of fresh, modern cuisine grounded in the French classics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Majeka House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majeka House Hotel Stellenbosch
Majeka Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing